Syracuse’s Walters honored as Batter of the Week in International League (plus Auburn roster)

Triple-A Syracuse shortstop Zach Walters has really gotten hot at the plate in the past nine games. Especially the most recent six games, where he has connected for 12 hits.

Walters has done so well that the International League announced today that Walters has been named Batter of the Week for the period from June 10-16.

Walters is the first member of the Chiefs to win a weekly award this season.

The week has also demonstrated Walters’ power - he hit three of his 14 homers since June 11.

The 14 homers is good enough to be tied for fourth place in the league this season. On Friday against Toledo, Walters slammed a pair of home runs, the first multi-homer game of his career.

Looking at the past five games, Walters is hitting .579 (11-for-19) with three doubles, three homers and seven RBIs.

The 23-year-old Walters is tops on the Chiefs with home runs, doubles (14), RBIs (32) and slugging percentage (.483).

He has made a nice rise the past year and a half. Walters began last season at high Single-A Potomac, before moving up to Double-A Harrisburg and then to Syracuse.

* Nationals director of player development Doug Harris told me that right-hander Lucas Giolito tossed 30 pitches off the mound this past weekend as he rehabs from Tommy John surgery.

The 18-year-old pitched in one game last season for the Gulf Coast Nationals. He is listed on the roster of the team’s Web site. The GCL Nationals open against the GCL Mets on June 21.

* The 2013 short-season Single-A Auburn Doubledays roster has been announced. The roster is highlighted by the inclusion of the 68th overall selection in the recent First-Year Player Draft, pitcher Jacob Johansen.

Gary Cathcart is again the manager. Auburn hosts Batavia tonight.

Here is the roster:


Joel Barrientos
Kevin Dicharry
L.J. Hollins
Jake Johansen
Jake Joyce
Reynaldo Lopez
Silvio Medina
Mike Mudron
David Napoli
Robert Orlan
Casey Selsor
Todd Simko
Niko Spezial
Michael Silvestri
Kylin Turnbull
Elliott Waterman


Austin Chubb
Erick Fernandez
Spencer Kieboom (DL)
Andruth Ramirez


Cody Dent
Wilmer Difo
Bryan Lippincott
David Masters
Jean Carlos Valdez
Deion Williams
James Yezzo


Isaac Ballou
Cody Gunter
Narciso Mesa
Jordan Poole
Wilman Rodriguez

blog comments powered by Disqus