Nats agree to terms with 22 first-year draft selections

The Nationals have agreed to terms with 22 players selected in the First-Year Player Draft, including second-round selection left-hander Tim Cate out of the University of Connecticut.

Nationals vice president of baseball operations and general manager Mike Rizzo and assistant general manager and vice president of scouting operations Kris Kline made the joint announcement Wednesday.

The Nats’ top overall selection in the first round - right-hander Mason Denaburg, the 27th overall selection - remains unsigned, as do the team’s third-round pick, right-hander Reid Schaller, and fourth-round selection, right-hander Jake Irvin.

Other top picks that signed with the Nats from the first 10 rounds include outfielder Gage Canning (fifth round), right-hander Andrew Karp (sixth round), catcher Tyler Copley (eighth round) and right-hander Tanner Driskill (ninth round).

Here is a list of the other signed players (round selected):

Right-hander Frank Bartow (11th)
Outfielder Cody Wilson (13th)
Left-hander Aaron Fletcher (14th)
Left-hander Carson Teel (16th)
Outfielder Jacob Rhinesmith (18th)
Catcher Onix Vega (20th)
Right-hander Ryan Tapani (21st)
Infielder Cole Daily (22nd)
Left-hander Chris Vann (25th)
Right-hander Colin Morse (26th)
Center fielder Pablo O’Connor (27th)
Infielder Blake Chisolm (28th)
Infielder Colton Pogue (29th)
Infielder Trey Vickers (30th)
Outfielder Jonathan Quintana (31st)
Right-hander Alec Maley (32nd)
Right-hander Bobby Milacki (38th)

blog comments powered by Disqus