Predicting the AL and NL postseason awards

The season is done. The ballots are in.

The Orioles’ Chris Davis and Adam Jones are going to appear on American League MVP ballots. The Nationals’ Jordan Zimmermann should make some National League Cy Young Award ballots and maybe his teammate, Jayson Werth, will get NL MVP votes as well.

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America will announce their awards in November, but here’s one perspective:

* NL Cy Young: Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers is the winner. How could anyone argue with the league’s best ERA (1.83) and most strikeouts (232) while pitching 236 1/3 innings, second-most to St. Louis’ Adam Wainwright, who has 19 wins and leads the NL with 241 1/3 innings?

* AL Cy Young: Detroit’s Max Scherzer will win, but Yu Darvish of Texas is a strong second. Scherzer dominated throughout and posted a 0.97 WHIP with 240 strikeouts, a 2.90 ERA and a 21-3 record. Darvish had 277 strikeouts, a 2.83 ERA and a 1.07 WHIP.

* NL MVP: The Cardinals’ Yadier Molina is one of the best defensive catchers in the game. He led a Cardinals pitching staff stocked with rookies and he hit .319 with a .359 on-base percentage while driving in 80 runs. He wins in a close race with Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen, who helped his team make the postseason by hitting .317 with a .404 on-base percentage, 21 home runs and 27 steals.

* AL MVP: I’m a voter for this, so I can’t release my ballot until the results are announced.

* NL Rookie of the Year: Jose Fernandez, Marlins. Injuries to Nathan Eovaldi and Henderson Alvarez led to Fernandez getting to the big leagues in April. Fernandez finished with 177 2/3 innings, with 187 strikeouts, a 2.19 ERA and a 0.98 WHIP. The Dodgers’ Yasiel Puig hit .319 with 19 home runs and gets credit for coming to the majors on June 3 and helping to turn the Dodgers’ season around.

* AL Rookie of the Year: Is it Detroit shortstop Jose Iglesias or Tampa Bay outfielder Wil Myers? Iglesias went from Boston to Detroit in a trade and solidified the Tigers’ infield defense while hitting .303. Myers led all rookies with a .482 slugging percentage. He also hit .295-13-53. The winner should be Iglesias.

* NL Manager of the Year: Fredi Gonzalez, Braves. They won the NL East in a cakewalk even though they had a ton of injuries and lost their No. 1 starter, Tim Hudson, to injury. Gonzalez also had to deal with slumps by Justin and B.J. Upton and injuries and/or slumps with Brian McCann, Jason Heyward, Evan Gattis and Dan Uggla. The Pirates’ Clint Hurdle will probably win the award over Gonzalez, and Don Mattingly should get strong consideration, given that he won the NL West after coming within a day or two of getting fired.

* AL Manager of the Year: John Farrell, Red Sox. He changed Boston’s culture, molded a team with new players and managed through a shaky bullpen that had three different closers to still win an AL East title. The Yankees’ Joe Girardi deserves consideration. Cleveland’s Terry Francona will likely win the award, but winning the AL East is a bigger accomplishment than going into October as a wild card team.