Werth leading off, Desmond sixth, Detwiler takes the hill

For the first time this season, the Nationals will have Ryan Zimmerman, Michael Morse, Adam LaRoche, Jayson Werth, Ian Desmond, Danny Espinosa and Bryce Harper in the same lineup.

This is more along the lines of what we were expecting back in spring.

Werth will hit leadoff for Davey Johnson today, while Desmond is back in the sixth spot in the order.

Ross Detwiler will get the ball today, as Johnson has elected to flip the lefty and Edwin Jackson in the rotation. Detwiler will pitch on normal rest because of yesterday’s off day, while Jackson will go tomorrow on six days rest.

Johnson makes that move in order to split up his left-handers. Detwiler and Gio Gonzalez had previously been pitching back-to-back.

For the Nats:

RF Jayson Werth
CF Bryce Harper
3B Ryan Zimmerman
LF Michael Morse
1B Adam LaRoche
SS Ian Desmond
2B Danny Espinosa
C Kurt Suzuki
P Ross Detwiler

For the Mets:

SS Ruben Tejada
CF Andres Torres
3B David Wright
RF Scott Hairston
1B Daniel Murphy
2B Ronny Cedeno
LF Jason Bay
C Kelly Shoppach
P Johan Santana

blog comments powered by Disqus