Will the Nats be taking home any hardware?

Fans didn’t have a say in how the Rawlings Gold Glove Award voting turned out, but if you’d like, you can place your vote for what’s called the Platinum Glove Award.

The Platinum Glove was created in 2011, and allows fans to determine who they think is the top defensive player in each league, regardless of position. All nine Gold Glove winners in each league are eligible for the award, which is marketed as a “best of the best” type of deal.

Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina has won the award in the National League each of the last two years, and after winning his sixth straight Gold Glove last night, he’s again eligible for the Platinum Glove. Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre had also won the Platinum Glove two years in a row, but there will be a new winner in the American League this year. Orioles third baseman Manny Machado snagged the AL Gold Glove at third base in his first full big league season, bouncing Beltre from the list of Platinum Glove candidates.

There obviously aren’t any Nationals up for the Platinum Glove after Denard Span and Ian Desmond were both denied in the Gold Glove voting. But the Nats still have a chance to earn some hardware over the next couple weeks, as the rest of the end-of-season awards get announced.

Here’s the schedule of award announcements:

Nov. 4: Players Choice Awards (MLB Network)
Nov. 6: Silver Slugger Awards (MLB Network)
Nov. 11: Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award (MLB Network)
Nov. 11: Sporting News Executive of the Year Award
Nov. 12: Manager of the Year (MLB Network)
Nov. 13: Cy Young Awards (MLB Network)
Nov. 14: MVP Awards (MLB Network)

Last year, the Nationals had a Gold Glove winner (Adam LaRoche), three Silver Slugger winners (Stephen Strasburg, LaRoche and Desmond), Bryce Harper won NL Rookie of the Year, Davey Johnson won NL Manager of the Year, and Gio Gonzalez was a finalist for the NL Cy Young. General manager Mike Rizzo also came in second in the Sporting News Executive of the Year Award voting.

Plenty of heavy shipments were sent to Nationals Park with a “fragile” sticker slapped on ‘em.

Not surprisingly, the Nats’ possible list of award winners is a lot shorter this year.

Anthony Rendon doesn’t have any chance at the NL Rookie of the Year award, despite a solid first season in the bigs. Johnson won’t be going back-to-back with the Manager of the Year award. Gonzalez won’t be cracking the top three in the Cy Young voting.

But there are a few Nats who at least have a shot at picking up some awards in the coming days and weeks.

Jayson Werth seems to have a pretty good chance at the Silver Slugger for NL right fielders after hitting .318/.398/.532 with 25 homers and 82 RBIs in 129 games played.

Werth, who has yet to win a Silver Slugger in his career, figures to be challenged for the award by the Rockies’ Michael Cuddyer (.331/.389/.530 with 20 homers and 84 RBIs in 130 games), the Cardinals’ Carlos Beltran (.296/.339/.491 with 24 homers and 84 RBIs in 145 games), the Giants’ Hunter Pence (.283/.339/.483 with 27 homers and 99 RBIs in 162 games) and the Reds’ Jay Bruce (.262/.329/.478 with 30 homers and 109 RBIs in 160 games).

That should be a tight race.

Desmond has a shot to repeat as the Silver Slugger among NL shortstops, but likely will finish behind the Rockies’ Troy Tulowitzki, who hit .312/.391/.540 with 25 homers and 82 RBIs in just 126 games played. Desmond posted a line of .280/.331/.453 with 20 homers and 80 RBIs in 158 games.

Then there’s Jordan Zimmermann, who might be a finalist in the NL Cy Young category, but is all but guaranteed to fall short of the award.

Zimmermann tied for the league lead with 19 wins this season and posted a 3.25 ERA with 161 strikeouts and 40 walks in 213 1/3 innings. The hardware will end up going to the Dodgers’ Clayton Kershaw, however, after the left-hander went 16-9 with a ridiculous 1.83 ERA and had 232 strikeouts and 52 walks in 236 innings.

blog comments powered by Disqus