Ian Desmond wins second straight Silver Slugger award (updated)

For the second straight season, Ian Desmond has been selected as the top offensive shortstop in the National League by managers and coaches.

Desmond won the 2013 Silver Slugger Award among NL shortstops after hitting .280 with a .331 on-base percentage, a .453 slugging percentage, 20 home runs and 80 RBIs this season.

Desmond beat out the Rockies’ Troy Tulowkitzki, the Dodgers’ Hanley Ramirez and the Brewers’ Jean Segura for the award.

Desmond led all National League shortstops in total bases and extra-base hits. He ranked second in the league among shortstops in home runs, RBIs, on-base percentage and slugging percentage.

“I play the game the way I do out of respect for the players who came before me,” Desmond said in a statement. “It’s an honor to be selected for the Silver Slugger and it is humbling to know that it is voted on by National League managers and coaches.”

Desmond also joins Derek Jeter (five), Hanley Ramirez (two) and Troy Tulowitzki (two) as the only current shortstops to win multiple Silver Sluggers.

Tulowitzki had 25 homers to Desmond’s 20 and had 82 RBIs to Desmond’s 80. Tulowitzki’s batting average was 32 points higher than Desmond’s, he had an on-base percentage that was 60 points better than Desmond’s, and his slugging percentage was 97 points superior to the Nats’ shortstop. Plus, Tulowitzki did all that in 32 fewer games.

But Desmond still takes home the hardware again this season.

Desmond is under contract through the 2015 season, which gives the Nats two more years of team control. At some point in the near future, however, the Nationals will have to seriously consider looking into a contract extension for a guy who has clearly established himself as one of the top young shortstops in the game over the last couple seasons.

Right fielder Jayson Werth and third baseman Ryan Zimmerman were also named finalists for Silver Slugger awards at their respective positions this season.

This is the seventh time a Nationals player has won a Silver Slugger award. Desmond’s two put him in with Alfonso Soriano (2006), Zimmerman (2009, 2010), Stephen Strasburg (2012) and Adam LaRoche (2012).

blog comments powered by Disqus