A look at the Nats’ spring training roster

We’re now less than a week away from the official start of Nationals spring training. Six days from now, the home clubhouse at Space Coast Stadium will be swarming with pitchers and catchers, as Feb. 13 is the deadline for battery members to report to camp, with their first official workout scheduled for Feb. 15.

Position players will report by Feb. 18, the first full-team workout will be Feb. 20, and the first Grapefruit League game will be on Feb. 28 at Port St. Lucie against the Mets.

Here we go, folks.

New manager Matt Williams had said at the Winter Meetings in December that he wanted to have more bodies at spring training this year than at a typical camp (“60-plus players,” he said) because he wants the chance to see as many of his players in person as possible. That will allow him, he said, to learn their intricacies and get a feel for their baseball instincts.

As of right now, the Nats have 60 players scheduled to be a part of big league camp. That includes the guys who make up a full 40-man roster as well as 20 non-roster invitees.

Among those non-roster invitees are heralded Nats prospects (right-hander A.J. Cole, outfielder Brian Goodwin and infielder Matt Skole) and veterans who are hoping to impress in camp and win a roster spot (infielder Jamey Carroll, catcher Chris Snyder and reliever Manny Delcarmen among them).

The Nats currently have 30 pitchers (21 roster players and nine non-roster invitees) and 30 position players (19 roster players and 11 non-roster invitees) on their camp roster. That includes seven catchers, 12 players listed as infielders and 11 players listed as outfielders.

Update: I had previously emitted out right-hander Gabriel Alfaro from the list of players that will be at big league camp. He’s now been added to the list below.

Here’s how the full camp roster (as it is right now) shapes out:

Gabriel Alfaro (RHP) - non-roster invitee
Aaron Barrett (RHP)
Jerry Blevins (LHP)
Xavier Cedeno (LHP)
Tyler Clippard (RHP)
A.J. Cole (RHP) - non-roster invitee
Erik Davis (RHP)
Manny Delcarmen (RHP) - non-roster invitee
Ross Detwiler (LHP)
Doug Fister (RHP)
Christian Garcia (RHP)
Gio Gonzalez (LHP)
Clay Hensley (RHP) - non-roster invitee
Taylor Jordan (RHP)
Nathan Karns (RHP)
Ryan Mattheus (RHP)
Ross Ohlendorf (RHP)
Matt Purke (LHP)
Tanner Roark (RHP)
Tyler Robertson (LHP) - non-roster invitee
Danny Rosenbaum (LHP) - non-roster invitee
Sammy Solis (LHP)
Rafael Soriano (RHP)
Craig Stammen (RHP)
Daniel Stange (RHP) - non-roster invitee
Drew Storen (RHP)
Stephen Strasburg (RHP)
Blake Treinen (RHP) - non-roster invitee
Chris Young (RHP) - non-roster invitee
Jordan Zimmermann (RHP)

Koyie Hill - non-roster invitee
Jeff Howell - non-roster invitee
Brian Jeroloman - non-roster invitee
Sandy Leon
Wilson Ramos
Chris Snyder - non-roster invitee
Jhonatan Solano

Jamey Carroll - non-roster invitee
Ian Desmond
Danny Espinosa
Mike Fontenot - non-roster invitee
Josh Johnson - non-roster invitee
Adam LaRoche
Brock Peterson - non-roster invitee
Anthony Rendon
Will Rhymes - non-roster invitee
Matt Skole - non-roster invitee
Zach Walters
Ryan Zimmermann

Brian Goodwin - non-roster invitee
Scott Hairston
Bryce Harper
Jeff Kobernus
Nate McLouth
Tyler Moore
Eury Perez
Steven Souza
Denard Span
Michael Taylor
Jayson Werth

blog comments powered by Disqus