Starting lineups: Nats vs. Mets in West Palm Beach

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - It’s been an awfully quiet spring around here, but that’s starting to change. Jeremy Hellickson was in the clubhouse this morning trying on his No. 58 jersey (though the signing won’t become official until tomorrow). And the Nationals lineup for today’s game against the Mets has a whole lot of interesting things going on.

Adam-Eaton-run-spring-sidebar.jpgWe’ll begin with the most important development: Adam Eaton is making his Grapefruit League debut at last, nearly 11 months after tearing the ACL in his left knee. Eaton has been playing in minor league games the last couple weeks, but this will be a significant step up for him. The tentative plan: two at-bats and maybe three or four innings in left field.

Michael A. Taylor also returns to the lineup nearly two weeks after he came down with tightness in his right side. Taylor also had been playing in minor league games in recent days, so he’s ready to make the leap back into the real thing.

As for the rest of today’s lineup ... well, Bryce Harper is leading off. Tanner Roark is batting eighth. And Wilmer Difo is batting ninth. I’m not sure the Harper-leading-off thing has potential to stick. But the Cubs were known to bat their pitcher eighth, and Davey Martinez said this winter it’s something he would consider. So it’ll be interesting to see how it goes today and whether this has any legs.

Update: Matt Adams has been scratched from the lineup due to left leg cramps, a move the Nats called “strictly precautionary.” Chris Dominguez will now start at first base.

Where: FITTEAM Ballpark of the Palm Beaches
Gametime: 1:05 p.m. EST
TV: None
Radio: 106.7 FM,
Weather: Sunny, 78 degrees, wind 9 mph right field to left field

RF Bryce Harper
SS Trea Turner
LF Adam Eaton
C Miguel Montero
1B Matt Adams
CF Michael A. Taylor
1B Chris Dominguez
3B Matt Reynolds
RHP Tanner Roark
2B Wilmer Difo

CF Brandon Nimmo
RF Jay Bruce
1B Adrían González
3B Todd Frazier
2B Asdrúbal Cabrera
LF Wilmer Flores
DH Phillip Evans
C Jose Lobaton
SS Luis Guillorme

RHP A.J. Griffin

blog comments powered by Disqus