Heading to Cooperstown

Not me. You couldn’t pry me out of Indianapolis with a crowbar.

Manager Whitey Herzog and umpire Doug Harvey have been elected to the Hall of Fame by the Veterans Committee.


Herzog, who led the Kansas City Royals to three straight American League West titles from 1976-78 before leading the St. Louis Cardinals to the 1982 World Series title and the 1985 and 1987 NL pennants, received 14 of 16 votes.

Harvey, who worked National League games for 31 seasons and was named to six All-Star crews, received 15 of 16 votes.

We have an Orioles connection here. Herzog played for them in 1961 and 1962.

And you didn’t think they’d have a prominent role at these meetings.

Former Orioles manager Davey Johnson didn’t receive the necessary number of votes.

Here are the results of the managers/umpires ballot, with 12 votes required for election: Doug Harvey (15 votes, 93.8%)
Whitey Herzog (14 votes, 87.5%)
Danny Murtaugh (eight votes, 50%)
Hank O’Day (eight votes, 50%)
Charlie Grimm (three votes, 18.8%)
Davey Johnson, Tom Kelly, Billy Martin, Gene Mauch and Steve O’Neill each received fewer than three votes.

The Veterans Committee consisted of Hall of Famers Jim Bunning, Tommy Lasorda, Eddie Murray, Phil Niekro, Tony Perez, Robin Roberts, Ryne Sandberg, Ozzie Smith, Billy Williams and Dick Williams; former executive Jim Frey; current executives Roland Hemond (Diamondbacks) and Bob Watson (Major League Baseball); and veteran writers Tim Kurkjian (ESPN), Jack O’Connell (BBWAA) and Tom Verducci (Sports Illustrated).

blog comments powered by Disqus