Feliz top AL rookie

Rangers closer Neftali Feliz was named the American League’s Rookie of the year today in voting conducted by members of the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Feliz saved 40 games for the Rangers, a major league record for a rookie. He received 20 first place votes, seven second and one third for a total of 122 points.

Tigers outfielder Austin Jackson finished second, followed by Minnesota’s Danny Valencia.

Orioles left-hander Brian Matusz received three third-place votes to finish tied for fifth.

Feliz is the fifth closer to be honored. The first was Orioles right-hander Gregg Olson in 1989. (Yankees lefty Dave Righetti was a starter when he won the award in 1981.)

Here are the AL results:

Neftali Feliz, Texas Rangers 122
Austin Jackson, Detroit Tigers 98
Danny Valencia, Minnesota Twins 12
Wade Davis, Tampa Bay Rays 11
John Jaso, Tampa Bay Rays 3
Brennan Boesch, Detroit Tigers 3
Brian Matusz, Baltimore Orioles 3

Giants catcher Buster Posey received 20 first-place votes, nine second and two third to win the NL award.

Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants 129
Jason Hayward, Atlanta Braves 107
Jaime Garcia, St. Louis Cardinals 24
Gaby Sanchez, Florida Marlins 18
Neil Walker, Pittsburgh Pirates 3
Starlin Castro, Chicago Cubs 3
Ike Davis, New York Mets 2
Jose Tabata, Pittsburgh Pirates 1
Jonny Venters, Atlanta Braves 1

blog comments powered by Disqus