Hall of Fame ballot

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to one and all.

I wasn’t expecting to see snow this morning, but it looks like we got a light dusting in Sykesville (as opposed to a heavy dusting.) Just give me clear roads on Monday. That’s all I’m asking.

I didn’t find a first baseman under the tree. I’m not sure what I would have done with him, so maybe it’s for the best.

My Hall of Fame ballot arrived in the mail a few days ago. Finally, I have the power to get Kirk Rueter into Cooperstown.

Sorry, Bobby Higginson. You’ll have to wait your turn.

Roberto Alomar is a slam-dunk. He almost made it in his first year of eligibility, falling eight votes short. There’s no denying him this time.

I really hope the same is true for Bert Blyleven, who fell five votes short of election. He’s long overdue.

They’ve got my votes.

The ballot also includes the following:

Carlos Baerga
Jeff Bagwell
Harold Baines
Bret Boone
Kevin Brown
John Franco
Juan Gonzalez
Marquis Grissom
Lenny Harris
Charles Johnson
Barry Larkin
Al Leiter
Edgar Martinez
Tino Martinez
Don Mattingly
Fred McGriff
Mark McGwire
Jack Morris
Dale Murphy
John Olerud
Rafael Palmeiro
Dave Parker
Tim Raines
Benito Santiago
Lee Smith
B.J. Surhoff
Alan Trammell
Larry Walker

I’ll be curious to see how many voters support Rafael Palmeiro. He was a lock before the failed drug test.

blog comments powered by Disqus