Filling out my Hall of Fame ballot

I have to submit my Hall of Fame ballot by Saturday, so it’s probably a good idea to fill it out today before I forget.

I’ve been stalling because I can’t decide on Terry Mulholland. Lots of sleepless nights here.

But seriously ...

It’s Brad Radke and Tony Womack that keep me tossing and turning.

But seriously ...

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America allows for up to 10 players to receive votes. This year’s group consists of:

Jeff Bagwell
Jeromy Burnitz
Vinny Castilla
Juan Gonzalez
Brian Jordan
Barry Larkin
Javy Lopez
Edgar Martinez
Don Mattingly
Fred McGriff
Mark McGwire
Jack Morris
Bill Mueller
Terry Mulholland
Dale Murphy
Phil Nevin
Rafael Palmeiro
Brad Radke
Tim Raines
Tim Salmon
Ruben Sierra
Lee Smith
Alan Trammell
Larry Walker
Bernie Williams
Tony Womack
Eric Young Sr.

A player will no longer be eligible if he receives less than 5 percent of the votes on the ballots cast. He can remain on the ballot for a maximum of 15 years.

Palmeiro is actually the name that tortures me. Should that positive test for stanozolol in 2005 remove him from consideration despite his inclusion in the 3,000/500 club, whose membership is limited to Palmeiro, Hank Aaron, Willie Mays and Eddie Murray?

At least one prominent member of the national media is including Palmeiro on his ballot. I’m not sure if it comes with an asterisk.

I’ve noticed a strong push for Trammell this year. Not a peep about Nevin.

I’m predicting that Trammell finally makes it in his 11th year on the ballot.

I’d give Lopez a Gold Glove at first base, but he’s not getting my Hall of Fame vote.

I’m wondering why Smith, now in his 10th year on the ballot, has been excluded after retiring as the all-time saves leader (he now ranks third.) Same goes for Murphy, in his 14th year on the ballot: a two-time National League MVP, in back-to-back years, with 398 career home runs.

I’m open to suggestions.

blog comments powered by Disqus