Showalter or Melvin on Nov. 13?

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America will begin announcing its 2012 award winners Nov. 12 with the American and National Leagues Rookies of the Year.

The Angels’ Mike Trout will run away with the honor, followed by the Athletics’ Yoenis Cespedes and the Rangers’ Yu Darvish. Not much drama attached to this one.

The AL and NL Managers of the Year will be revealed Nov. 13, followed by the Cy Young Award winners on Nov. 14 and Most Valuable Players on Nov. 15.

Ballots were submitted to the BBWAA before the start of the postseason.

Adam Jones figures to crack the Top 10 in AL MVP voting, with Trout or the Tigers’ Miguel Cabrera finishing in first place. Now that’s a heated debate.

Orioles fans are far more interested in the AL Manager of the Year balloting and whether Buck Showalter beats out the A’s Bob Melvin. Both are highly deserving of the honor.

The A’s won the AL West, which works in Melvin’s favor, though they spent only one day in first place - the last one. They also led the universe in walk-off victories.

Showalter guided the Orioles to their first winning record and playoff berth in 15 years. At last count, 32 different players made their Oriole debuts this season. He deserves a trophy just for memorizing all the names.

I didn’t have a vote in this category. I would have chosen Showalter and totally understood if Melvin edged him out. They both earned it.

A tie, perhaps?

All of the winners will be announced on MLB Network during hour-long shows beginning at 6 p.m.

blog comments powered by Disqus