Orioles complete sweep: Wieters, Jones and Hardy win Gold Gloves

Orioles catcher Matt Wieters has won his second consecutive Rawlings Gold Glove, with the announcement coming tonight on ESPN2.

Wieters beat out the Tigers’ Alex Avila, the Yankees’ Russell Martin and the White Sox’s A.J. Pierzynski.

Wieters led the American League in defensive games (134) and putouts (994), ranked second in runners caught stealing (32) and range factor per game (7.81), and was third in caught stealing percentage (38.6 percent). His 994 putouts were the third-most in AL history for a catcher and the most since Jorge Posada had 996 for the Yankees in 2001.

The career-high 10 errors, doubling his total in each of the three previous seasons, weren’t a deterrent. He also had five passed balls.

Avila, Martin and Pierzynski each committed six errors. Avila had a league-leading 10 passed balls and threw out 30 percent of the runners, Martin had nine passed balls and threw out 24 percent, and Pierzynski had eight passed balls and threw out 26 percent.

Wieters remains the only Orioles catcher to receive a Gold Glove.

Update: Center fielder Adam Jones won for the second time in his career. He also was honored in 2009.

Jones, who beat out Angels rookie Mike Trout and the Tigers’ Austin Jackson, led AL center fielders in games (162) and putouts (439), ranked second in range factor per game (2.75) and was third in assists (seven). He committed eight errors and posted a .982 fielding percentage.

The only other Orioles outfielders to win Gold Gloves were Paul Blair (1967 and 1969-1975) and Nick Markakis (2011). Markakis wasn’t a finalist this year.

This is the 18th year in which the Orioles have had multiple Gold Glove winners in the same season.

Will shortstop J.J. Hardy make it a clean sweep? If he’s denied, two out of three ain’t bad. Stay tuned.

Update II: The Orioles went 3-for-3 in Gold Glove voting, with Hardy winning for the first time in his career. He finished ahead of the Mariners’ Brendan Ryan and the Rangers’ Elvis Andrus. Ryan won the Fielding Bible Award over all major league shortstops.

Hardy led AL shortstops in games (158), fielding percentage (.922), assists (529), putouts (244), range factor per game (4.89), defensive wins above replacement (2.8) and total zone runs (21). He committed six errors in 779 chances, and his .992 fielding percentage is the highest mark by an AL shortstop since Mike Bordick’s .998 for the Orioles in 2002. The 529 assists were the most by an American League shortstop since Cal Ripken Jr. had 531 for the Orioles in 1989.

Hardy is the fourth Orioles shortstop to win a Gold Glove, joining Luis Aparicio (1964 and 1966), Mark Belanger (1969, 1971, 1973-1978) and Ripken (1991-1992).

The Orioles haven’t had three winners in the same season since first baseman Rafael Palmeiro, second baseman Roberto Alomar and pitcher Mike Mussina were honored in 1998. This is the ninth time in franchise history that they’ve had at least three players honored. It also happened in 1998, 1976, 1975, 1974, 1973, 1971, 1970 and 1969.

The Orioles have earned 64 Gold Gloves since the award’s inception in 1957 - coming from 16 different players - the second-most in the American League behind the Yankees (65). The Twins are the next-closest AL team with 42.

The Orioles were the only team to have three players honored this year. The Orioles and Yankees were the only teams with more than one selection.

blog comments powered by Disqus