Hall of Fame ballot includes nine former Orioles

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America has released its 2013 Hall of Fame ballot, and the group of newcomers includes former Orioles Jeff Conine, Steve Finley and Jose Mesa.

Other former Orioles on the ballot include Rafael Palmeiro, Tim Raines (Sr., not Jr.), Curt Schilling, Lee Smith, Sammy Sosa and David Wells.

Sosa, Roger Clemens and Barry Bonds are counted among 24 newcomers to the ballot. So is Craig Biggio, a member of the 3,000-hit club who has a much better chance of being inducted.

Palmeiro was named on only 12.6 percent of the ballots last year, well short of the necessary 75 percent for enshrinement. So much for being in the 500/3,000 club. One failed drug test erases that achievement in the eyes of the voters.

Players may remain on the ballot for up to 15 years provided they receive five percent of the vote in the previous year. The only first-year candidate in 2012 who received sufficient support to remain was outfielder Bernie Williams with 55 votes (9.6 percent).

Results will be announced Jan. 9.

Here’s the full ballot:

Sandy Alomar Jr.
Jeff Bagwell
Craig Biggio
Barry Bonds
Jeff Cirillo
Royce Clayton
Roger Clemens
Jeff Conine
Steve Finley
Julio Franco
Shawn Green
Roberto Hernandez
Ryan Klesko
Kenny Lofton
Edgar Martinez
Don Mattingly
Fred McGriff
Mark McGwire
Jose Mesa
Jack Morris
Dale Murphy
Rafael Palmeiro
Mike Piazza
Tim Raines
Reggie Sanders
Curt Schilling
Aaron Sele
Lee Smith
Sammy Sosa
Mike Stanton
Alan Trammell
Larry Walker
Todd Walker
David Wells
Rondell White
Bernie Williams
Woody Williams

Voters can choose up to 10 players.

I keep voting for Murphy and he keeps getting snubbed.

blog comments powered by Disqus