Flaherty remains at second base, Valencia serving as DH (with Astros)

Ryan Flaherty gets another start at second base tonight against the Houston Astros, and Danny Valencia will serve as the designated hitter after delivering a pinch-hit, game-tying single Sunday afternoon against the Detroit Tigers at Camden Yards.

The rest of the lineup is predictable.

Still waiting for the Orioles to announce that catcher Taylor Teagarden has been activated from the disabled list. He’s no longer with Triple-A Norfolk. Official word will come before the first pitch.

For the Orioles
Nate McLouth LF
Manny Machado 3B
Nick Markakis RF
Adam Jones CF
Chris Davis 1B
Matt Wieters C
J.J. Hardy SS
Ryan Flaherty 2B
Danny Valencia DH

Chris Tillman RHP

For the Astros
Brandon Barnes CF
Jose Altuve 2B
Jason Castro C
J.D. Martinez LF
Carlos Pena DH
Chris Carter 1B
Jimmy Paredes RF
Matt Dominguez 3B
Marwin Gonzalez SS

Lucas Harrell RHP

Davis has posted a .754 slugging percentage through 57 games. According to STATS, the only American League left-handed batter since 1930 to post a higher slugging percentage through 57 games was Babe Ruth (.813 in 1930). Davis’ .754 mark is higher than Bill Dickey (.744 in 1936), Lou Gehrig (.737 in 1930) and Ted Williams (.735 in 1948).

The Orioles starters in this series are a combined 5-2 with a 3.17 ERA in 65 1/3 innings in 11 road starts in 2013. Tillman and Freddy Garcia are a combined 4-0 with a 2.75 ERA in 36 innings on the road, and the Orioles have won all six of the games they’ve started.

According to STATS, Tillman’s 2.11 ERA against the AL West is the second-lowest among active pitchers with at least five starts, trailing Matt Cain’s 1.93 ERA.

Machado is second in the majors in hits (80) behind Miguel Cabrera (83) and is tied with Cabrera and three others for the most multi-hit games in the majors (24). Machado leads the majors with 25 doubles.

The Orioles have at least two extra-base hits in 31 straight games, 11 more than the next longest streak of 2013 (20 by Cincinnati May 1-24). The next-longest active streak is Milwaukee’s 11.

blog comments powered by Disqus