Jones nominated for Clemente award

Major League Baseball has announced the names of the 30 club nominees for the prestigious Roberto Clemente Award, and Orioles center fielder Adam Jones is included on the list.

The annual award recognizes a Major League Baseball player who best represents the game of baseball through positive contributions on and off the field, including sportsmanship and community involvement.

Clemente, a 15-time All-Star and Hall of Famer, died in a plane crash on New Year’s Eve 1972 while attempting to deliver supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua.

Beginning Tuesday on Roberto Clemente Day, fans may participate in the process of selecting the national Roberto Clemente Award recipient by visiting to vote for one of the 30 nominees. Voting ends on Sunday, Oct. 6 and participating fans will be automatically registered for a chance to win a trip to the 2013 World Series, where the award winner will be announced.

Here are the nominees:

Arizona Diamondbacks - Aaron Hill
Atlanta Braves - Tim Hudson
Baltimore Orioles - Adam Jones
Boston Red Sox - Craig Breslow
Chicago Cubs - Athony Rizzo
Chicago White Sox - Hector Santiago
Cincinnati Reds - Bronson Arroyo
Cleveland Indians - Justin Masterson
Colorado Rockies - Todd Helton
Detroit Tigers - Miguel Cabrera
Houston Astros - Jose Altuve
Kansas City Royals - Billy Butler
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim - Jered Weaver
Los Angeles Dodgers - Adrian Gonzalez
Miami Marlins - Logan Morrison
Milwaukee Brewers - Jonathan Lucroy
Minnesota Twins - Justin Morneau
New York Mets - David Wright
New York Yankees - David Robertson
Oakland Athletics - Sean Doolittle
Philadelphia Phillies - Chase Utley
Pittsburgh Pirates - Andrew McCutchen
St. Louis Cardinals - Carlos Beltran
San Diego Padres - Mark Kotsay
San Francisco Giants - Barry Zito
Seattle Mariners - Raul Ibañez
Tampa Bay Rays - David Price
Texas Rangers - Ian Kinsler
Toronto Blue Jays - J.P. Arencibia
Washington Nationals - Ryan Zimmerman

Jones also was chosen to represent the Orioles for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award, but he didn’t make the final cut. The six remaining nominees are Carlos Beltran, Adrian Gonzalez, Raul Ibanez, Mariano Rivera, Nick Swisher and Chase Utley.

blog comments powered by Disqus