Chris Davis nominated for Hank Aaron Award

First baseman Chris Davis has been chosen as the Orioles’ representative for the Hank Aaron Award, which has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since its inception in 1999.

Fans may vote here for one player in each league up to 10 times a day through Thursday, Oct. 10. Winners will be announced during the World Series.

A panel of Hall of Famers, led by Aaron and including Johnny Bench, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Robin Yount and former Orioles Eddie Murray and Roberto Alomar, also will cast votes for the award.

Davis led the majors this season in home runs (53), RBIs (138) and extra-base hits (96), and finished second in slugging percentage (.634) and OPS (1.004). His 53 homers and 370 total bases set Orioles records, and his 138 RBIs were fourth-most in club history.

Davis also ranked among the AL leaders in runs scored (tied for second with 103) and doubles (tied for third with 42) and became the third player in MLB history to hit at least 50 home runs and 40 doubles in a season, joining Babe Ruth (1921) and Albert Belle (1995).

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Miguel Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012), Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011), Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

“It is a great honor that Major League Baseball recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each league with an award in my name,” Aaron said in a press release issued by MLB. “The game is full of so many talented players today that I am thankful my fellow Hall of Famers and the fans assist in selecting the much deserving winners.”

Here are the nominees for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award:

American League

Baltimore Orioles
Chris Davis

Boston Red Sox
David Ortiz

Chicago White Sox
Alexei Ramirez

Cleveland Indians
Jason Kipnis

Detroit Tigers
Miguel Cabrera

Houston Astros
Jason Castro

Kansas City Royals
Eric Hosmer

LA Angels of Anaheim
Mike Trout

Minnesota Twins
Joe Mauer

New York Yankees
Robinson Cano

Oakland Athletics
Josh Donaldson

Seattle Mariners
Kendrys Morales

Tampa Bay Rays
Evan Longoria

Texas Rangers
Adrian Beltre

Toronto Blue Jays
Edwin Encarnacion

National League

Arizona Diamondbacks
Paul Goldschmidt

Atlanta Braves
Freddie Freeman

Chicago Cubs
Nate Schierholtz

Cincinnati Reds
Jay Bruce

Colorado Rockies
Michael Cuddyer

Los Angeles Dodgers
Hanley Ramirez

Miami Marlins
Giancarlo Stanton

Milwaukee Brewers
Carlos Gomez

New York Mets
David Wright

Philadelphia Phillies
Domonic Brown

Pittsburgh Pirates
Andrew McCutchen

St. Louis Cardinals
Matt Carpenter

San Diego Padres
Will Venable

San Francisco Giants
Hunter Pence

Washington Nationals
Jayson Werth

blog comments powered by Disqus