Jones joining MLB Network studio team (note on Davis)

The Orioles didn’t qualify for the playoffs this year, but Adam Jones will get to experience more of the postseason.

Not the way that he did in 2012. Not as a center fielder.

Jones will serve as a guest studio analyst for MLB Network during the month of October, joining Raul Ibanez, Mark Teixeira, Mark DeRosa and longtime broadcaster Ken “Hawk” Harrelson.

Harrelson will be the first guest analyst on “MLB Tonight” with a two-night stint beginning Friday. Did anyone tell him that the White Sox weren’t playing?

Jones will make his debut during the League Division Series on Oct. 6-7. Teixeira will appear on Oct. 8-9, followed by DeRosa on Oct. 10-11.

Ibanez will work the League Championship Series on Oct. 15-16.

Jones just tweeted, “Guess I’ll have to get a haircut soon.”

Don’t forget the shaving cream pies.

This should be interesting.

Also, Orioles first baseman Chris Davis is a finalist in two categories in the Players Choice Awards.

Davis, Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera and Dodgers pitcher Clayton Kershaw are vying for Player of the Year. Davis, Cabrera and Angels outfielder Mike Trout are vying for the American League’s Outstanding Player.

The winners will be announced on MLB Network on Monday, Nov. 4, from 8-9 p.m.

Here are the finalists in each category:

American League:

Outstanding Player: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Chris Davis (Baltimore), Mike Trout (LA Angels)
Outstanding Pitcher: Yu Darvish (Texas), Aníbal Sánchez (Detroit), Max Scherzer (Detroit)
Outstanding Rookie: Chris Archer (Tampa Bay), José Iglesias (Detroit), Wil Myers (Tampa Bay)
Comeback Player: Scott Kazmir (Cleveland), Victor Martinez (Detroit), Mariano Rivera (NY Yankees)

National League:

Outstanding Player: Paul Goldschmidt (Arizona), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh), Yadier Molina (St. Louis)
Outstanding Pitcher: José Fernández (Miami), Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles), Francisco Liriano (Pittsburgh)
Outstanding Rookie: José Fernández (Miami), Shelby Miller (St. Louis), Yasiel Puig (Los Angeles)
Comeback Player: Marlon Byrd (Pittsburgh), Francisco Liriano (Pittsburgh), Troy Tulowitzki (Colorado)

Either League:

Player of Year: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Chris Davis (Baltimore), Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles)
Man of the Year: Carlos Beltran (St. Louis), Raúl Ibañez (Seattle), Mariano Rivera (NY Yankees)

blog comments powered by Disqus