Davis named finalist for AL MVP

Orioles first baseman Chris Davis hit a home run with the Baseball Writers’ Association of America, too.

The BBWAA has named Davis as a finalist for the American League’s Most Valuable Player Award. The announcement came tonight on MLB Network.

Davis is joined by Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera and Angels outfielder Mike Trout. The winner will be revealed on Nov. 14 on MLB Network.

Cabrera topped Davis in two Players Choice Awards categories last night - AL Outstanding Player and Player of the Year. The BBWAA nomination brings more prestige.

Will it bring Davis the hardware?

Davis led the majors with 53 home runs, 138 RBIs and 370 total bases. He posted a .286/.370/.634 line with 42 doubles and a triple, and also was nominated for a Gold Glove.

Cabrera led the majors with a .348 average, .442 on-base percentage, .636 slugging percentage and 1.078 OPS. He added 26 doubles, a triple, 44 homers and 137 RBIs.

Trout batted .323/.432/.557 with 39 doubles, nine triples, 27 homers, 97 RBIs and 33 stolen bases. He led the majors with 110 walks.

Cabrera is deemed the favorite to repeat as AL MVP. He finished fourth in 2009, second in 2010 and fifth in 2011. He also was fifth in voting for NL MVP in 2005 and 2006 with the Florida Marlins.

Davis has never received votes for MVP. He did, however, make his first All-Star team this season and was a near-unanimous selection as Most Valuable Oriole.

The last Oriole to be named MVP was Cal Ripken Jr. in 1991.

Ballots were submitted before the end of the regular season. Production in the playoffs didn’t factor into the voting.

As expected, the Orioles were shut out in the other BBWAA award categories. Here are the finalists:

AL Rookie of the Year:
Chris Archer (Tampa Bay)
Jose Iglesias (Detroit)
Wil Myers (Tampa Bay)

NL Rookie of the Year:
Jose Fernandez (Miami)
Shelby Miller (St. Louis)
Yasiel Puig (Los Angeles)

AL Manager of the Year:
John Farrell (Boston)
Terry Francona (Cleveland)
Bob Melvin (Oakland)

NL Manager of the Year:
Fredi Gonzalez (Atlanta)
Clint Hurdle (Pittsburgh)
Don Mattingly (Los Angeles)

AL Cy Young Award:
Yu Darvish (Texas)
Hisashi Iwakuma (Seattle)
Max Scherzer (Detroit)

NL Cy Young Award:
Jose Fernandez (Miami)
Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles)
Adam Wainwright (St. Louis)

Paul Goldschmidt (Arizona)
Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh)
Yadier Molina (St. Louis)

The Rookies of the Year will be announced on Nov. 11, followed by the Managers of the Year on Nov. 12, Cy Young Awards on Nov. 13 and MVPs on Nov. 14.

blog comments powered by Disqus