More on the Silver Slugger Awards

We already know that Chris Davis is a slam-dunk to win his first Silver Slugger Award, with the results announced tonight at 6 p.m. on MLB Network.

Could the Orioles have multiple winners in the same season for only the fifth time since the award was created in 1980?

First baseman Eddie Murray and shortstop Cal Ripken Jr. won it in 1983 and 1984. Ripken and catcher Mickey Tettleton won it in 1989, and shortstop Miguel Tejada and third baseman Melvin Mora won it in 2004.

No Oriole has won a Silver Slugger since designated hitter Aubrey Huff in 2008.

Here’s the complete list:

1983: Eddie Murray (1B) and Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1984: Eddie Murray (1B) and Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1985: Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1986: Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1989: Cal Ripken Jr. (SS) and Mickey Tettleton (C)
1991: Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1993: Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1994: Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1996: Roberto Alomar (2B)
1998: Rafael Palmeiro (1B)
2004: Miguel Tejada (SS) and Melvin Mora (3B)
2005: Miguel Tejada (SS)
2008: Aubrey Huff (DH)

J.J. Hardy has a chance tonight. He led American League shortstops with 25 homers and 76 RBIs, and his .433 slugging percentage ranked second.

Oakland’s Jed Lowie provides the primary competition at shortstop. He ranked first in doubles (45), average (.290), on-base percentage (.344) and slugging percentage (.446), and second in homers (15) and RBIs (75).

Adam Jones led AL outfielders with 33 homers and 108 RBIs, and his 35 doubles and .493 slugging percentage ranked third. His .318 on-base percentage was 17th.

Matt Wieters’ 22 homers ranked first among AL catchers, and his 79 RBIs tied Kansas City’s Salvador Perez for first. But he ranked sixth in average (.235) and on-base percentage (.287), and fifth in slugging percentage (.417). Minnesota’s Joe Mauer is first in all three categories. Perez is second, third and third.

Don’t bother asking about Manny Machado. Some guy named Miguel Cabrera played third base in Detroit. I hear he’s pretty good.

blog comments powered by Disqus