Showalter receives third-place vote for AL Manager of the Year

In a bit of an upset, Cleveland’s Terry Francona beat out Boston’s John Farrell for American League Manager of the Year. The announcement came tonight on MLB Network.

Keep in mind that BBWAA ballots were submitted before the playoffs. The Red Sox’s World Series title wasn’t a factor.

Orioles manager Buck Showalter, a runner-up to Oakland’s Bob Melvin last year, received one third-place vote. He finished tied for seventh with Texas’ Ron Washington and Kansas City’s Ned Yost.

Asuka Iinuma Brown, a Seattle-based voter from the Jiji Press, picked Melvin first, Tampa Bay’s Joe Maddon second and Showalter third.

Francona received 16 first-place votes, compared to 12 for Farrell and two for Melvin. New York’s Joe Girardi was fourth, Maddon fifth and Detroit’s Jim Leyland sixth.

In a strange twist, Francona didn’t receive a first-place vote while winning two World Series with the Red Sox. The Indians won 92 games this year and qualified for the playoffs as a wild card.

Pittsburgh’s Clint Hurdle was named the National League Manager of the Year, with Los Angeles’ Don Mattingly placing second and Atlanta’s Fredi Gonzalez third.

blog comments powered by Disqus