Taking a closer look at the Orioles’ camp roster

The Orioles currently have 60 players on their spring training roster, with the intention of adding at least one more pitcher.

They’re still trying to finalize a deal with Korean right-hander Suk-min Yoon and are heavily involved in negotiations with A.J. Burnett and Bronson Arroyo.

Arroyo reportedly is willing to accept a two-year deal, which puts him in play for the Orioles. Meanwhile, there are doubts about whether Burnett actually wants to pitch in Baltimore despite the proximity to his Monkton home.

Stay tuned.

The camp roster includes 20 invites. Players on the 40-man roster aren’t technically “invited” to camp. They’re guaranteed a spot.

Troy Patton will report to the Ed Smith Stadium complex, but he’s temporarily off the 40-man because he’s serving a 25-game suspension.

The Orioles currently have 31 pitchers on the roster, including Evan Meek, whose signing to a minor league deal was made official earlier today. He’s wearing No. 47, if anyone cares.

Other invites include catchers Caleb Joseph and Brian Ward.

16 Wei-Yin Chen, LHP
17 Brian Matusz, LHP
25 Bud Norris, RHP
29 Tommy Hunter, RHP
30 Chris Tillman, RHP
31 Kevin Gausman, RHP
35 Brad Brach, RHP
40 Troy Patton, LHP
47 Evan Meek, RHP
49 Dylan Bundy, RHP
50 Miguel Gonzalez, RHP
52 Steve Johnson, RHP
53 Zach Britton, LHP
56 Darren O’Day, RHP
58 Ryan Webb, RHP
59 Edgmer Escalona, RHP
60 Josh Stinson,RHP
61 Kelvin De La Cruz, LHP
62 Liam Hendriks, RHP
65 Mike Belfiore, LHP
66 T.J. McFarland, LHP
70 Fabio Castillo, RHP
71 Brock Huntziner, RHP
73 Mike Wright, RHP
74 Eduardo Rodriguez, LHP
75 Tim Berry, LHP
76 Chris Jones, LHP
78 Nick Additon, LHP
79 Tim Alderson, RHP
80 Eddie Gamboa, RHP
91 Alfredo Aceves, RHP

32 Matt Wieters
45 Steve Clevenger
48 Johnny Monell
63 Caleb Joseph
64 Michael Ohlman
81 Brian Ward

2 J.J. Hardy
3 Ryan Flaherty
6 Jonathan Schoop
12 Alexi Casilla
13 Manny Machado
19 Chris Davis
24 Jemile Weeks
36 Alex Gonzalez
67 Michael Almanzar
68 Chris Marrero
69 Ivan De Jesus Jr.
72 Cord Phelps

10 Adam Jones
14 Nolan Reimold
18 David Lough
21 Nick Markakis
27 Delmon Young
28 Steve Pearce
34 Quintin Berry
38 Xavier Paul
41 Julio Borbon
51 Henry Urrutia
57 Francisco Peguero

blog comments powered by Disqus