Chris Davis denied Silver Slugger Award

This hasn’t been a good week for first baseman Chris Davis.

After being excluded as a finalist for the American League’s Most Valuable Player award, Davis lost out tonight to the Tigers’ Miguel Cabrera for the Silver Slugger Award at first base.

The announcement came on MLB Network, with Davis and third baseman Manny Machado failing to garner enough votes from managers and coaches.

The Silver Slugger is presented annually to the best offensive player at each position in both the American League and National League. The Orioles also were shut out last season after having three winners in 2013 - Davis, shortstop J.J. Hardy and center fielder Adam Jones.

The trio ended a five-year drought for the Orioles, with Aubrey Huff winning the award in 2008 as the designated hitter.

davis-grand-slam-swing-gray-sidebar.jpgDavis batted .262/.361/.562 this season with 31 doubles, 47 home runs, 117 RBIs, 84 walks and 208 strikeouts in 160 games. His 47 home runs led the majors, his 117 RBIs ranked third and his .562 slugging percentage ranked seventh.

Davis received a Silver Slugger in 2013 after batting .286/.370/.634 and leading the majors with 53 home runs and 138 RBIs. He would have joined Eddie Murray as the only first basemen in club history to win the award twice. Rafael Palmeiro won it in 1998.

Murray, Cal Ripken Jr. (eight) and Miguel Tejada (two) are the only Orioles to win the award in multiple years.

Cabrera won his sixth Silver Slugger despite playing in only 119 games. He batted .338/.440/.534 with 28 doubles, 18 home runs and 76 RBIs. He led the majors in average and the league in on-base percentage.

Josh Donaldson was chosen at third base over Machado, who batted .286/.359/.502 with 30 doubles, 35 home runs, 86 RBIs and 102 runs scored. He was the only player in the majors to appear in every game.

Machado, also excluded from the list of finalists for AL MVP, notched the seventh 20/20 season (home runs and stolen bases) in club history and the second 30/20, along with current Orioles vice president of baseball operations Brady Anderson.

Donaldson, one of the finalists for MVP, batted .297/.371/.568 with 41 doubles, two triples, 41 home runs and 123 RBIs. He led the American League in RBIs and total bases (352) and the majors in runs scored (122).

Here’s the list of Orioles winners, which doesn’t need updating:

1983: Eddie Murray (1B) and Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1984: Eddie Murray (1B) and Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1985: Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1986: Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1989: Cal Ripken Jr. (SS) and Mickey Tettleton (C)
1991: Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1993: Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1994: Cal Ripken Jr. (SS)
1996: Roberto Alomar (2B)
1998: Rafael Palmeiro (1B)
2004: Miguel Tejada (SS) and Melvin Mora (3B)
2005: Miguel Tejada (SS)
2008: Aubrey Huff (DH)
2013: Chris Davis (1B), Adam Jones (OF), J.J. Hardy (SS)

blog comments powered by Disqus