Latest Hall of Fame ballot released today

Five former Orioles return to the latest Hall of Fame Ballot, which has been released today by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Mike Mussina, Tim Raines, Curt Schilling, Lee Smith and Sammy Sosa are included among the 32 candidates for election.

Outfielder Ken Griffey Jr., a 13-time All-Star who ranks sixth on the all-time home run list with 630, and closer Trevor Hoffman, who ranks second to Mariano Rivera with 601 career saves and 856 games finished, are counted among 15 newcomers to the ballot.

mussina-sidebar.jpgOther newcomers include David Eckstein, Troy Glaus, Mike Lowell, Garret Anderson, Jim Edmonds, Luis Castillo, Billy Wagner, Mike Hampton, Brad Ausmus, Jason Kendall, Mike Sweeney, Mark Grudzielanek and Randy Winn.

Mark McGwire and Alan Trammell are on the ballot for the last time.

Candidates must be named on 75 percent of ballots cast by BBWAA members with 10 or more consecutive years of Major League Baseball coverage to gain election. Catcher Mike Piazza poled 69.9 percent of the electorate in 2015 and fell 28 votes shy of the required amount for election.

The only other players to be named on more than half the ballots were first baseman Jeff Bagwell (55.7) and Raines (55.0). Players may remain on the ballot provided they receive at least five percent of the vote for up to 10 years.

Results will be announced on Jan. 6 on MLB Network. The Hall of Fame induction ceremony takes place on July 24 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Raines is a reach as a former Oriole, but he did appear in four games in 2001 as a gimmick that allowed him to play in the same outfielder as his son, Tim Raines Jr., once rated among the organization’s top position prospects.

Here’s the complete ballot:

Garret Anderson, Brad Ausmus, Jeff Bagwell, Barry Bonds, Luis Castillo, Roger Clemens, David Eckstein, Jim Edmonds, Nomar Garciaparra, Troy Glaus, Ken Griffey Jr., Mark Grudzielanek, Mike Hampton, Trevor Hoffman, Jason Kendall, Jeff Kent, Mike Lowell, Edgar Martinez, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Mike Mussina, Mike Piazza, Tim Raines, Curt Schilling, Gary Sheffield, Lee Smith, Sammy Sosa, Mike Sweeney, Alan Trammell, Billy Wagner, Larry Walker, Randy Winn.

* Here’s the latest on Dylan Bundy being scratched from today’s Arizona Fall League start with stiffness in his right forearm.

Jason Garcia will start today for Peoria.

blog comments powered by Disqus