Manny Machado talks about his first major league ejection (Jones, Gonzalez comments also)

Manny Machado said he had been ejected one time before, in the minor leagues, but he could not remember exactly when.

His first big league ejection came tonight in the fifth inning of the Orioles' 7-3 win over Cleveland when he struck out and later was ejected by home plate umpire Will Little.

"Swung at a bad pitch and thought I fouled it off," Machado said. "Obviously, looking back on the replay I didn't. Something I said wrong to the umpire and I have to pay the consequences for it. Let my team down and it won't happen again."

He did say he felt his ejection was justified.

"I think so. At least on my part. We're just going to move on tomorrow."

The ejection ended the longest active streak of consecutive innings played in the majors at 1,206 innings. Machado had played every inning since his callup to the big leagues Aug. 9, 2012.

"When I heard about the streak I had going, obviously it's devastating," he said. "But I just called that on myself and something I have to pay the consequences for.

"I just thought I tipped that ball and that is where it (his frustration) came from. I don't hold grudges against anybody. Anybody that makes it bad call, it just happens.

"I was surprised but it was something that just happened and something I regret. I would have loved to be out there with my team. I wasn't and it comes with the consequences, but the upside of this is the team won. We did great and came out with a win. Tomorrow is a new day."

Miguel Gonzalez got the win tonight and made it through 6 2/3 innings allowing three runs when he was at 50 pitches the first two innings.

"Felt I was falling behind a little bit early, but then I settled down and worked with all the pitches I needed to. Changing speeds to the hitters was an important thing for me," Gonzalez said.

"I just tried to throw first-pitch strikes. That worked out and the fans actually helped me out. They were really into it and I really appreciate them being there until the end. The fans when I came out they were clapping and really excited and I really appreciate them doing that for me."

Adam Jones talked about the strange play in the fifth where he was ruled safe on a fielder's choice at second base when the throw pulled the fielder off the bag, but he left the bag and ran back to the dugout and then was ruled out.

"You saw what happened. Ninety-nine percent of the time you are out on that play. I left the bag. Honest mistake. It didn't cost us, didn't hurt us but I know there are a lot of good baserunners on Twitter now," he said.


blog comments powered by Disqus


Rocket Fuel