How ex-Nats/Expos fared in Hall of Fame voting

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America released the results of the 2010 Hall of Fame voting this afternoon, with pitcher Bert Blyleven finally getting the call from Cooperstown in his 14th year on the ballot. Roberto Alomar was also voted into the Hall of Fame in his second year of eligibility.

There were seven players on the ballot with connections to the Nationals/Expos franchise. A player needs to be named on 75 percent of the ballots to be elected. Here’s how they fared, out of a possible 581 votes (436 were required for election).

Lee Smith: 263 votes (45.7%)
Tim Raines: 218 votes (37.5%)
Larry Walker: 118 votes (20.3%)
Marquis Grissom: 4 votes (0.7%)
Carlos Baerga: 0 votes (0.0%)
Lenny Harris: 0 votes (0.0%)
Kirk Reuter: 0 votes (0.0%)

Baerga is the first player on a Hall of Fame ballot who’s ever worn a Nationals uniform, and Grissom, who spent his formative years with the Expos, was the team’s first-base coach in 2009. Harris was the Nationals’ hitting coach from 2007-08. Grissom, Baerga, Harris and Reuter all failed to receive 5 percent of the vote, so they will be eliminated from future ballots.

So when will we see a player with Nationals connections go into the Hall? Well, Ivan Rodriguez will almost certainly be the first one, and Adam Dunn could be putting himself on a Hall of Fame trajectory. But neither of those players is likely to go in with a Nationals cap on their plaque. Ryan Zimmerman could well be the first to do so, though it’s far too early to call that a certainty.