DC Sports Hall of Fame to induct six luminaries, one title team on July 31

Washington, D.C. – Six individuals who have had distinctive careers in sports and one team that had an inspiring run to its first-ever championship are the 2022 honorees selected to the Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame. The formal induction ceremony will be conducted at Nationals Park on Sunday afternoon, July 31, prior to the Washington Nationals-St. Louis Cardinals game. First pitch is set for 1:35 p.m., with the ceremony scheduled for 12:30 p.m. Gates open at 12:00 p.m.

The 2022 DC Sports Hall of Fame class includes basketball great Len Elmore, the late basketball promoter and innovator Bob Geoghan, three-time world boxing champion Mark “Too Sharp” Johnson, Washington Nationals Managing Principal Owner and area philanthropist Mark Lerner, American mile record-holder and Olympian Alan Webb and South Lakes High School and University of Maryland basketball standout Christy Winters Scott. The 2021 NWSL champion Washington Spirit will be recognized as a Team of Distinction.

The members of the DC Sports Hall of Fame selection committee are chairman Bobby Goldwater, a Georgetown University Sports Industry Management master’s program faculty member and sports industry consultant; chairman emeritus and veteran D.C. public relations executive Charlie Brotman; former radio and TV reporter/producer Brenda J. Curtis-Heiken; journalist David Elfin; communications executive and adjunct instructor Meredith Geisler; television and radio personality Chick Hernandez; attorney Phil Hochberg; Washington Nationals Managing Principal Owner Mark Lerner; former Shirley Povich Center for Sports Journalism Director at the University of Maryland George Solomon; basketball executive and former coach Ed Tapscott; attorney Mark Tuohey; radio and television personality and former Washington pro football tight end Rick “Doc” Walker; baseball commentator and historian Phil Wood; and journalist and Merrill College visiting professor Joe Yasharoff.

“This distinguished group of honorees elevates the honor roll of the DC Sports Hall of Fame, especially with inductions of its first track athlete, one of the area’s greatest-ever boxers, three significant contributors to basketball and an impactful sports and community leader. Individually and together, they represent excellence in sports in the nation’s capital,” said Goldwater.

“The DC Sports Hall of Fame is grateful once again for the support of our collaborative host organization, the Washington Nationals, and the Lerner family to hold our induction ceremony at the ballpark on July 31,” Goldwater added. 

Individual nominees for inclusion must have gained prominence in the Washington area through their achievements in sports as an athlete, coach, owner, executive, member of the media, or contributor. A professional, collegiate, or high school team that has made a significant and positive impact in the Greater Washington community through outstanding achievement is eligible to be recognized as a Team of Distinction. 

The 2022 inductees:

LEN ELMORE: An All-American and All-ACC center at the University of Maryland where he remains the Terps’ all-time leading rebounder and only player with both 1,000 rebounds and 1,000 points, a 10-year pro in the ABA and NBA, respected attorney, TV analyst, and member of the Knight Commission for Intercollegiate Athletics.

BOB GEOGHAN: An influential force in the area’s basketball community for more than 40 years as the creator of the McDonald’s All-American Boys and Girls Games, Capital Classic High School All-Star Game, Washington Metropolitan Basketball Hall of Fame, and Nell and John Wooden Leadership in Coaching Award. The lifelong Washingtonian passed away earlier this year.

MARK “TOO SHARP” JOHNSON: The native Washingtonian is considered one of the area’s greatest-ever boxers as a three-time world champion, the first African American and second American to win a world flyweight title, and the youngest inductee into the International Boxing Hall of Fame in 2012.

MARK LERNER: A native Washingtonian who has had exceptional accomplishments in combining community engagement, philanthropic initiatives and business acumen as the managing principal owner of the Washington Nationals, as a partner in Monumental Sports & Entertainment, in many area civic and charitable leadership positions, and as a laureate inductee of the Washington Business Hall of Fame and Junior Achievement of Greater Washington.

ALAN WEBB: The Reston native and South Lakes High School standout is the fastest miler in American history and was the first high school runner to break the 4-minute barrier indoors, a Big Ten cross country and 1,500 meter champion at the University of Michigan, a three-time 1,500 meter national champion, and a 2004 United States Olympian.

CHRISTY WINTERS SCOTT: Widely considered to be the greatest-ever female basketball player at South Lakes High School, she led the Seahawks to a 29-0 record and the 1986 Virginia AAA state title as a senior and was named the consensus DC Metro Area All-Met player of the year. As a University of Maryland star, she finished among all-time leaders in most of the Terps’ statistical categories and first team All-ACC as a senior. She has been a highly regarded basketball commentator and a successful coach with championship seasons at her high school alma mater.

TEAM OF DISTINCTION – 2021 WASHINGTON SPIRIT: The Spirit captured the 2021 NWSL championship, the first in the team’s history, with an inspirational demonstration of perseverance and resilience to rise above all challenges and distractions. 

The names of all DC Sports Hall of Fame inductees are prominently displayed at Nationals Park, the site of the induction ceremony. Information about the DC Sports Hall of Fame, including the honor roll of all inductees, is available at dcsportshalloffame.com

As break ends, Nats try to shift focus back to fie...
Nationals take 10 players on final day of 2022 dra...

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://www.masnsports.com/