Kids in the Hall

I received my Hall of Fame ballot earlier today from the BBWAA, which must mean I'm eligible to vote for the first time. Newcomers to the ballot include former Orioles Roberto Alomar, David Segui, Pat Hentgen and Todd Zeile. Alomar most certainly deserves induction, though perhaps not on the first ballot. He won 10 Gold Gloves and was a career .300 hitter with 2,724 hits, 210 home runs and 474 stolen bases. He also was named MVP of the American League Championship Series in 1992 and the All-Star Game in 1998, and won two World Series with the Blue Jays. Other first-timers include Fred McGriff, Barry Larkin, Edgar Martinez and Andres Galarraga. Martinez already has sparked a heated debate among voters because he spent most of his career as a designated hitter. I'm undecided. Here's the entire ballot: Roberto Alomar, Kevin Appier, Harold Baines, Bert Blyleven, Ellis Burks, Andre Dawson, Andres Galarraga, Pat Hentgen, Mike Jackson, Eric Karros, Ray Lankford, Barry Larkin, Edgar Martinez, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker, Tim Raines, Shane Reynolds, David Segui, Lee Smith, Alan Trammell, Robin Ventura, Todd Zeile. I'll campaign heavily for Blyleven. It's a crime that he's been excluded for so long.

Not getting Miggy with it
Tiger and Edgar

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to