Mateo gets glove love with Fielding Bible award

Orioles shortstop Jorge Mateo wasn’t deemed worthy of being a finalist for a Rawlings Gold Glove in the American League, a snub that drew attention inside and outside of the organization. He dazzled and was denied.

If it stung Mateo, he was soothed yesterday with news that he’s receiving a Fielding Bible Award as the best defensive shortstop in the majors.

In either league. One shortstop is selected based on statistical analysis from sabermetrically inclined journalists and other personnel, and it’s Mateo.

The news release from Baseball Info Solutions included this passage on Mateo:

Jorge Mateo was instrumental to the Orioles resurgence, finishing a close third among shortstops with 14 Defensive Runs Saved and tied for second in Good Fielding Plays with 28. He led all shortstops by converting 72 percent of his double play opportunities. He’s the first Orioles shortstop to win the award.”

It dates back to 2006, in case you were wondering about Luis Aparicio, Mark Belanger and Cal Ripken Jr.

If you were wondering about Jackie Gutiérrez, please show yourself out the door.

J.J. Hardy didn’t win one. Adam Everett was the first, followed by Troy Tulowitzki in 2007, Jimmy Rollins in 2008, Jack Wilson in 2009, Tulowitzki in 2010-11, Brendan Ryan in 2012, Andrelton Simmons in 2013-18, Nick Ahmed in 2019, Javier Báez in 2020 and Carlos Correa in 2021.

Six shortstops received first-place votes this year. Mateo edged out the Marlins’ Miguel Rojas by two points to earn his first award.

Rookie Adley Rutschman was second among catchers behind the Yankees’ Jose Trevino. Austin Hays was third among left fielders, with Guardians’ rookie Steven Kwan the only unanimous winner. Ramón Urías was sixth among third basemen, with the award going to the Cardinals’ Nolan Arenado for the fifth time, the most for any player at the position. Cedric Mullins was 10th among center fielders, with the Guardians’ Myles Straw finishing first.

A panel of 15 baseball “experts” handled the voting, ranking the top 10 players at each defensive position, including a spot for multi-position players, on a scale from one to 10. A first-place vote counted as 10 points, second-place as nine, third as eight, etc.

None of the 2021 winners repeated this year.

The voting panel consisted of SIS chairman John Dewan and baseball stat pioneer Bill James, along with Emma Baccellieri (Sports Illustrated), Dan Casey (SIS), Chris Dial (sabermetrician), Alyson Footer (, Peter Gammons (The Athletic), Moses Massena (MLB Network), Eduardo Pérez (ESPN), Hal Richman (Strat-O-Matic), Travis Sawchik (The Score), Bobby Scales (SIS), Joe Sheehan (longtime writer), Mark Simon (SIS), and the SIS Video Scout staff.

Urías and Mullins are finalists for the Gold Glove Award. However, Mateo lost out to the Red Sox’s Xander Bogaerts, the Twins’ Carlos Correa and the Astros’ Jeremy Peña.

Peña’s seven outs above average lead the finalists. Mateo ranked first the league with 11.

But whatever.

The day before the World Series must be the awards dump.

Manager Brandon Hyde received The Sporting News honor in the American League. Rutschman and outfielder Anthony Santander are finalists for a Silver Slugger Award in the AL. Rutschman is a finalist for Outstanding Rookie in the AL in the Players Choice Awards, and Hall of Famer Brooks Robinson is a finalist for the Curt Flood Award.

Félix Bautista is a finalist for best entrance by a closer. Nick Vespi is a finalist for best hair.

OK, not really, but I’ll be checking for it later this morning.

Another look at a strong year on the Baltimore far...
Hyde chosen as The Sporting News AL Manager of the...

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to