Opening odds and ends

Only 11 players from last year's Opening Day roster remain with the club tonight: Matt Albers, Jeremy Guthrie, Mark Hendrickson, Cesar Izturis, Jim Johnson, Adam Jones, Nick Markakis, Felix Pie, Brian Roberts, Luke Scott and Ty Wigginton. Miguel Tejada ended the 2009 season with a 21-game hitting streak with the Houston Astros. If Tejada gets a hit tonight, he'll become only the third player in major league history to have a streak of 20 or more games spread over two leagues, according to the Society for American Baseball Research. Tom Mansell hit in 21 straight between Detroit and St. Louis from June 25 to July 30, 1883 (just ask Peter Schmuck, who was on the beat that year). Edgar Renteria hit in 24 straight between Oct. 2, 2005 and May 9, 2006 for Boston and Atlanta. Brooks Robinson and Cal Ripken made the most Opening Day starts in club history with 20 apiece. Mark Belanger is second with 13. Paul Blair, Eddie Murray and Boog Powell made 12. Brady Anderson made 11 and Rick Dempsey 10. Robinson has the most Opening Day home runs with six, followed by Ripken with four, Gus Triandos, Frank Robinson and Murray with three, and Powell, Tejada, Sam Horn and Luis Matos with two. Horn decided to get them out of the way in a hurry.
Roberts stayed true to his word
Lineup reminders

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to