Rutledge not among them, but Nats announce 20 signings

The Nationals announced the signing of 20 players from their 2019 First-Year Player Draft, but their first three draft picks have yet to officially sign.

Top selection right-hander Jackson Rutledge, third baseman Drew Mendoza and left-hander Matt Cronin are yet unsigned, but it is still extremely early in the process.

Matt-Cronin-Arkansas-Sidebar.jpgMendoza and Cronin are still playing in the College World Series, so the Nationals will not negotiate until their seasons are complete. Ironically, Mendoza’s Florida State Seminoles face off against Cronin’s Arkansas Razorbacks in their first game June 15 in Omaha.

Among the notable signings in the first 11 rounds: right-hander Tyler Dyson, shortstop Jackson Cluff, right-hander Hunter McMahon, catcher Andrew Pratt and shortstop J.T. Arruda.

Nationals assistant general manager Kris Kline and cross-checker Jeff Zona were very impressed with Dyson, Cluff, McMahon and Pratt in last week’s wrap of the draft.

Other signings in the top 22 rounds include: outfielder Jake Randa, right-hander Davis Moore, shortstop Junior Martina, right-hander Amos Willingham, catcher Mason Doolittle, right-hander Tyler Yankowsky, shortstop Jack Dunn, outfielder Kevin Strohschein and catcher Allan Berrios.

blog comments powered by Disqus