D.C. Sports Hall of Fame inductees to be honored before May 6 Phillies-Nationals game

The six newest members of the Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame will be honored prior to the Washington Nationals series finale against the Philadelphia Phillies on Sunday, May 6 at Nationals Park. This year, the legendary sports club will enshrine the following inductees:

* Glenn Brenner, Celebrated WUSA Sportscaster (inducted posthumously)
* Adrian Dantley, Former NBA All-Star and Basketball Hall of Famer
* Joe Gallagher, Former St. John’s College High School Head Basketball Coach and Athletic Director
* Darrell Green, Former Washington Redskins Cornerback and Pro Football Hall of Famer
*Sam Lacy, Sports Journalism Pioneer (inducted posthumously)
*Bessie Stockard, Former University of the District of Columbia Head Coach, Women’s Basketball and Volleyball

These honorees were selected based on their outstanding contributions to the world of sports, thereby bringing honor and recognition to the Nation’s Capital while furthering the high standards of athletics in the Greater Washington community. They will join a select group of Washington-area standout athletes and sports personalities, including Sammy Baugh, James Brown, Dominique Dawes, Josh Gibson, Walter Johnson, Sonny Jurgensen, Morgan Wootten and many others, already in the DC Sports Hall of Fame.

Each new inductee will receive a Washington Sports Hall of Fame plaque commemorating their induction during the pregame ceremony and their names will be added to the large Hall of Fame display at Nationals Park, located on the side of Garage B facing the field.

Brotman-Winter-Fried (a division of Sage Communications) Founder/CEO and Hall of Fame member Charlie Brotman and Comcast SportsNet’s Andy Ockershausen serve as co-chairmen of the DC Sports Hall of Fame.