Gonzalez finishes third in NL Cy Young voting (updated)

The Nationals won’t go 3-for-3 in the major end-of-season awards.

Bryce Harper won the National League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year and Davey Johnson won the NL Manager of the Year, but Gio Gonzalez came up short in his bid for the NL Cy Young Award.

That went to Mets starter R.A. Dickey, a 38-year-old knuckleballer who has taken the league by storm the last few years.

Dickey picked up 27 of 32 first-place votes and 209 points overall. Dodgers lefty Clayton Kershaw finished second, receiving two first-place votes and 96 points, and Gonzalez was only three points behind him, finishing with one first-place vote and 93 points.

Here’s a link with the full voting details.

Dickey went 20-6 this season with a 2.73 ERA in 233 2/3 innings. He led the league in strikeouts, innings pitched, complete games and shutouts.

He is the first knuckleballer to ever win a Cy Young. The Astros’ Joe Niekro finished second to Cubs righty Bruce Sutter in the 1979 NL Cy Young voting and the White Sox’s Wilbur Wood was second to Indians starter Gaylord Perry for the 1972 AL Cy Young.

Dickey was the only pitcher listed on every NL Cy Young ballot.

Gonzalez led the majors with 21 wins, had a 2.89 ERA and posted a league-best 9.35 strikeouts per nine innings.

The 27-year-old had a spectacular first season in D.C., but it wasn’t quite enough to take home pitching’s top honor.

Tampa Bay Rays lefty David Price won the AL Cy Young Award, his first.

blog comments powered by Disqus