Wieters fails to repeat as Fielding Bible winner

The 2012 Fielding Bible Award winners have been announced, and Orioles catcher Matt Wieters is excluded from the list after being selected last year.

Wieters lost out to the Cardinals’ Yadier Molina.

Here are the winners, chosen by a panel of 10 “experts,” including Peter Gammons, Bill James, Joe Posnanski, Doug Glanville and John Dewan:

First Base: Mark Teixeira, New York Yankees (first-time winner)
Second Base: Darwin Barney, Chicago Cubs (first-time winner)
Third Base: Adrian Beltre, Texas Rangers (fourth-time winner)
Shortstop: Brendan Ryan, Seattle Mariners (first-time winner)
Left Field: Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals (first-time winner)
Center Field: Michael Trout, Los Angeles Angels (first-time winner)
Right Field: Jason Heyward, Atlanta Braves (first-time winner)
Catcher: Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals (fifth-time winner)
Pitcher: Mark Buehrle, Miami Marlins (fourth-time winner)

Molina was chosen four straight years before Wieters ended his run last year. Wieters later won his first Gold Glove.

Wieters committed 10 errors this year, doubling his totals over his previous three seasons. He threw out 39 percent of runners attempting to steal, compared to 37 percent in 2011.

Molina threw out a major league-leading 46 percent of runners attempting to steal, compared to 25 percent last year, the lowest of his career.

blog comments powered by Disqus