McLouth batting ninth tonight (and notes)

After being lowered to eighth in the Orioles’ lineup yesterday and collecting two hits, including a home run, left fielder Nate McLouth will bat ninth tonight against the Indians at Progressive Field.

McLouth has been in the ninth spot in four games this year, though he’s only had five at-bats.

Michael Morse is making his second start for the Orioles, and his first as the designated hitter.

Nick Markakis is batting seventh, followed by J.J. Hardy and McLouth.

For the Orioles
Brian Roberts 2B
Manny Machado 3B
Chris Davis 1B
Adam Jones CF
Matt Wieters C
Michael Morse DH
Nick Markakis RF
J.J. Hardy SS
Nate McLouth LF

Chris Tillman RHP

For the Indians
Michael Bourn CF
Nick Swisher 1B
Jason Kipnis 2B
Carlos Santana DH
Michael Brantley LF
Asdrubal Cabrera SS
Jason Kubel RF
Yan Gomes C
Lonnie Chisenhall 3B

Ubaldo Jimenez RHP

Update: The Orioles made their roster moves official, announcing that they recalled infielders Ryan Flaherty and Jonathan Schoop, outfielder Henry Urrutia and pitcher Josh Stinson. They now have 32 players on the active roster.

Schoop will wear No. 6.

I wrote earlier about Tillman seeking his ninth road win. Since the start of the 2000 season, only two Orioles pitchers have recorded nine road wins or more in a single season: Daniel Cabrera (nine in 2004) and Rodrigo Lopez (nine in 2005).

Scott McGregor (1983) and Hall of Famer Jim Palmer (1973) share the club record with 14 road wins in a season.

Here are the pitching matchups for the series against the White Sox at Camden Yards:

Thursday: Scott Feldman (4-4, 4.18 ERA) vs. Jose Quintana (7-5, 3.69 ERA)
Friday: Wei-Yin Chen (7-7, 3.87 ERA) vs. John Danks (4-11, 4.35 ERA)
Saturday: Bud Norris (10-10, 4.01 ERA) vs. Hector Santiago (4-8, 3.43 ERA)
Sunday: Chris Tillman (tonight) vs. Andre Rienzo (1-1, 5.03 ERA).

That’s three straight left-handers facing the Orioles.

Reliever Troy Patton turns 28 today.

blog comments powered by Disqus