Orioles have six Gold Glove finalists (updated)

The Orioles set major league records this season with a .991 fielding percentage, 119 errorless games and only 54 errors committed over 162 games. They figured to be well-represented in the balloting for the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards.

Six Orioles have been named finalists at their respective positions: Catcher Matt Wieters, first baseman Chris Davis, shortstop J.J. Hardy, third baseman Manny Machado, center fielder Adam Jones and right fielder Nick Markakis. The winners will be announced at 8 p.m. Tuesday on ESPN2.

Wieters has won the last two awards. Jones won in 2009 and 2012. Hardy won his first last year, and Markakis won in 2011.

Wieters is competing against the Twins’ Joe Mauer and the Royals’ Salvador Perez. Davis is competing, as expected, against the Rays’ James Loney and the Royals’ Eric Hosmer. Hardy joins the Rays’ Yunel Escobar and the Royals’ Alcides Escobar at shortstop, and Machado joins the Rangers’ Adrian Beltre and the Rays’ Evan Longoria at third base.

Yes, all four Rays infielders are finalists.

Beltre and Longoria have combined to win the last six Gold Glove Awards, but Machado may be the favorite this year.

Jones is competing against the Red Sox’s Jacoby Ellsbury and the Royals’ Lorenzo Cain. Markakis is competing against the Athletics’ Josh Reddick and the Red Sox’s Shane Victorino.

The Orioles lead the American League with six finalists. The Royals have five, the Rays four, the Red Sox three, the A’s, Tigers and Blue Jays two, and the Rangers, Yankees and Twins one.

Update: Turns out, the Orioles lead the majors with six finalists. The Royals and Dodgers are tied for second with five.

The Orioles have never won more than four Gold Gloves in a season. It happened in 1969, 1971, 1973, 1974 and 1975.

blog comments powered by Disqus