Machado denied Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award

Manny Machado was denied the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award at third base tonight, losing out to the Rockies’ Nolan Arenado.

Manny Machado throw white.pngMachado and Arenado won Rawlings Gold Gloves last night. The Wilson Award, however, goes to only one player in the majors at each position.

The winners are determined by statistics using sabermetrics. Managers and coaches vote for the Gold Glove.

The Wilson award was created in 2012. In the first two years, it was given to one player on each team. Orioles shortstop J.J. Hardy won it in the American League in 2012 and Machado won it in 2013 before the format changed.

The formula to determine a winner is broken down as 25 percent WAR, 25 percent defensive runs saved, 20 percent inside edge fielding ratings, 20 percent inside edge arm ratings and 10 percent fielding percentage.

Arenado won his third consecutive Gold Glove last night and earlier received a Fielding Bible Award. Machado owns two Gold Gloves and one Platinum Glove.

Gerardo Parra was the National League’s overall winner of the Wilson award in 2013 with the Diamondbacks. With the adjusted format, Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons was chosen this year as the overall winner in the majors.

Here are the 2015 Wilson winners at each position:

First base: Paul Goldschmidt (Diamondbacks)
Second base: Dee Gordon (Marlins)
Shortstop: Andrelton Simmons (Braves)
Third base: Nolan Arenado (Rockies)
Left field: Starling Marte (Pirates)
Center field: Kevin Pillar (Blue Jays)
Right field: Jason Heyward (Cardinals)
Pitcher: Jacob deGrom (Mets)
Catcher: Buster Posey (Giants)
Overall: Andrelton Simmons (Braves)
Top defensive team: Diamondbacks

Note: The Braves reportedly have re-signed catcher A.J. Pierzynski for the 2016 season.

What does this do to their interest in Matt Wieters, assumed to be the most logical fit?

blog comments powered by Disqus