Davis and Machado named Gold Glove finalists

Orioles first baseman Chris Davis and third baseman Manny Machado have been named Rawlings Gold Glove finalists in the American League.

Davis joins the Royals’ Eric Hosmer and the Rangers’ Mitch Moreland. Hosmer has won the award in the last three seasons. Davis has been a finalist in the past.

Machado joins the Mariners’ Kyle Seager and the Rangers’ Adrian Beltre. Machado won it in 2013 and 2015, and also won a Platinum Glove in 2013.

The winners will be announced on Nov. 8 on ESPN.

Chris-Davis-fielding-white-sidebar.jpgDavis posted a .993 fielding percentage at first base. Hosmer registered a .995 fielding percentage and Moreland committed only two errors for a .998 percentage.

Machado committed seven errors in 329 chances at third base for a .979 fielding percentage. His 2.2 defensive WAR leads the finalists.

Center fielder Adam Jones isn’t a finalist after winning in 2009, 2012, 2013 and 2014. The Red Sox’s Jackie Bradley Jr., the Blue Jays’ Kevin Pillar and the Rays’ Kevin Kiermaier are up for the award.

It’s tough to argue against the trio. Jones’ omission is based only on the depth at the position.

Catcher Matt Wieters, a two-time winner, also was excluded this year. The Angels’ Carlos Perez, the Tigers’ James McCann and the Royals’ Salvador Perez are the finalists.

Shortstop J.J. Hardy, who won it in 2012-2014, was excluded in favor of the Angels’ Andrelton Simmons, the Tigers’ Jose Iglesias and the Indians’ Francisco Lindor.

Orioles manager Buck Showalter rightfully has pushed for second baseman Jonathan Schoop to win the award, but the Mariners’ Robinson Cano, the Tigers’ Ian Kinsler and the Red Sox’s Dustin Pedroia are finalists.

The Astros’ Jose Altuve won it last year.

Machado was the only Oriole to claim the award last year after the team had multiple winners from 2011-2014. Seventeen different Orioles have earned a total of 70 Gold Gloves since the award was created in 1957, the highest total in the American League and the second-highest in the majors behind the Cardinals.

Here are the 2016 finalists in the American League:

Catcher: Carlos Perez (Angels), James McCann (Tigers), Salvador Perez (Royals)

First base: Chris Davis (Orioles), Eric Hosmer (Royals), Mitch Moreland (Rangers)

Second base: Robinson Cano (Mariners), Ian Kinsler (Tigers), Dustin Pedroia (Red Sox)

Third base: Manny Machado (Orioles), Adrian Beltre (Rangers), Kyle Seager (Mariners)

Shortstop: Andrelton Simmons (Angels), Jose Iglesias (Tigers), Francisco Lindor (Indians)

Left field: Brett Gardner (Yankees), Alex Gordon (Royals), Colby Rasmus (Astros)

Center field: Jackie Bradley Jr. (Red Sox), Kevin Pillar (Blue Jays), Kevin Kiermaier (Rays)

Right field: Mookie Betts (Red Sox), Adam Eaton (White Sox), George Springer (Astros)

Pitcher: R.A. Dickey (Blue Jays), Justin Verlander (Tigers), Dallas Keuchel (Astros)

blog comments powered by Disqus