Manny Machado is lone Orioles finalist for Gold Glove Award

Orioles third baseman Manny Machado is the club’s lone finalist for a Rawlings Gold Glove, giving him an opportunity to win his third award.

Machado is joined by the Indians’ José Ramírez and the Rays’ Evan Longoria. The winners will be announced on Nov. 7 on ESPN.

The Orioles failed to claim a Gold Glove last year for the first time since 2010. They had multiple winners in four consecutive seasons before 2015, when Machado earned his second award.

Machado and first baseman Chris Davis were finalists last year. Davis lost to Mitch Moreland and didn’t make the final three this year, with the honor going to the Indians’ Carlos Santana, the Royals’ Eric Hosmer and Moreland, now with the Red Sox.

Moreland won it last year while playing for the Rangers.

Right fielder Nick Markakis and catcher Matt Wieters won in 2011; Wieters, center fielder Adam Jones and shortstop J.J. Hardy won in 2012; Machado, Hardy and Jones won in 2013; and Hardy, Jones and Markakis won in 2014.

Jones claimed the award in 2009, the first Oriole to be recognized for defensive excellence since pitcher Mike Mussina in 1999.

Machado-Throws-Gray-Sidebar.jpgMachado earned a Gold Glove and Platinum Glove in 2013, and he continued to make highlight-worthy plays this summer due to his tremendous range and arm strength, but he experienced a decline in certain defensive metrics. He committed 14 errors in 156 games and registered a .967 fielding percentage in 425 chances. Machado also had a 4.7 ultimate zone rating (UZR) that ranked fifth in the league per FanGraphs and six defensive runs saved (DRS) that ranked sixth.

Longoria was second in DRS with 11 behind the Athletics’ Matt Chapman (19). He committed 12 errors and registered a .968 fielding percentage in 375 chances.

Ramírez committed six errors and registered a .972 fielding percentage in 213 chances over 88 games. He also played 71 games at second base.

Gold Glove winners are selected by a vote of major league managers and coaches, accounting for 75 percent, as well as the SABR Defensive Index.

Former Orioles minor leaguer Zach Davies, traded to the Brewers on July 31, 2015 for outfielder Gerardo Parra, is a finalist among National League pitchers. Parra, now with the Rockies, is a finalist in left field.

American League
Pitchers: Chris Sale (Red Sox), Marcus Stroman (Blue Jays), Alex Cobb (Rays)
Catchers: Yan Gomes (Indians), Martín Maldonado (Angels), Salvador Perez (Royals)
First basemen: Carlos Santana (Indians), Eric Hosmer (Royals), Mitch Moreland (Red Sox)
Second basemen: Brian Dozier (Twins), Ian Kinsler (Tigers), Dustin Pedroia (Red Sox)
Shortstops: Elvin Andrus (Rangers), Andrelton Simmons (Angels), Francisco Lindor (Indians)
Third basemen: Manny Machado (Orioles), José Ramírez (Indians), Evan Longoria (Rays)
Left fielders: Brett Gardner (Yankees), Alex Gordon (Royals), Justin Upton (Tigers)
Center fielders: Lorenzo Cain (Royals), Kevin Pillar (Blue Jays), Byron Buxton (Twins)
Right fielders: Kole Calhoun (Angels), Mookie Betts (Red Sox), Aaron Judge (Yankees)

National League
Pitchers: R.A. Dickey (Braves), Zack Greinke (Diamondbacks), Zach Davies (Brewers)
Catchers: Buster Posey (Giants), Yadier Molina (Cardinals), Tucker Barnhart (Reds)
First basemen: Joey Votto (Reds), Paul Goldschmidt (Diamondbacks), Anthony Rizzo (Cubs)
Second basemen: DJ LeMahieu (Rockies), Dee Gordon (Marlins), Ben Zobrist (Cubs)
Shortstops: Freddy Galvis (Phillies), Brandon Crawford (Giants), Corey Seager (Dodgers)
Third basemen: Nolan Arenado (Rockies), Anthony Rendon (Nationals), David Freese (Pirates)
Left fielders: Gerardo Parra (Rockies), Adam Duvall (Reds), Marcell Ozuna (Marlins)
Center fielders: Billy Hamilton (Reds), Michael A. Taylor (Nationals), Ender Inciarte (Braves)
Right fielders: Yasiel Puig (Dodgers), Giancarlo Stanton (Marlins), Jason Heyward (Cubs)

blog comments powered by Disqus