Phillips outrighted to Triple-A Norfolk

The latest maneuver by the Orioles to create room on the 40-man roster has impacted reliever Evan Phillips.

The team announced this afternoon that Phillips cleared outright waivers and was assigned to Triple-A Norfolk.

Only 36 players remain on the 40-man roster and additional moves are coming to allow for placement of minor leaguers eligible to be chosen in December’s Rule 5 draft.

Thumbnail image for Phillips-Throws-White-Sidebar.jpgPhillips made multiple trips between the majors and alternate camp site in Bowie and registered a 5.02 ERA and a 1.674 WHIP in 14 relief appearances. He walked 10 batters and struck out 20 in 14 1/3 innings.

Phillips, 26, was acquired in the 2018 trade that sent pitchers Kevin Gausman and Darren O’Day to the Braves. He’s compiled a 7.50 ERA and a 1.833 WHIP in parts of three major leagues seasons covering 48 games.

Control issues have influenced Phillips’ stays in the majors. He’s averaging 6.7 walks and 11.3 strikeouts per nine innings.

An elbow injury in spring training threatened to land Phillips on the injured list, but the shutdown provided time for healing and he made the opening day roster.

The highlight for Phillips was back-to-back appearances this month with no runs or walks and eight strikeouts in 3 1/3 innings.

Phillips came out of his final game on Sept. 22 with elbow soreness after allowing three runs and failing to retire a batter. The Orioles activated him from the 10-day injured list yesterday.

A series of moves didn’t include pitcher Kohl Stewart, who was incorrectly listed on Major League Baseball’s transactions page as coming off the injured list. Stewart remains on the 60-day IL after opting out of the season and doesn’t count against the 40-man roster.

Here’s the updated 40-man roster, which eventually is going to include outfielder Trey Mancini and infielder Richie Martin after they’re activated from the 60-day IL:

Keegan Akin
Shawn Armstrong
Alex Cobb
Thomas Eshelman
Paul Fry
Hunter Harvey
David Hess
Branden Kline
Dean Kremer
Travis Lakins Sr.
Jorge López
John Means
Tanner Scott
Cole Sulser
Dillon Tate
César Valdez
Bruce Zimmermann

Bryan Holaday
Pedro Severino
Chance Sisco
Austin Wynns

Hanser Alberto
Chris Davis
José Iglesias
Tyler Nevin
Renato Núñez
Rio Ruiz
Ramón Urías
Pat Valaika
Andrew Velazquez

Austin Hays
Ryan McKenna
Ryan Mountcastle
Cedric Mullins
Anthony Santander
DJ Stewart

blog comments powered by Disqus