Zimmerman to DH; Nats lineup tonight vs. Indians

For only the fifth time in his career, Ryan Zimmerman will be the designated hitter as the Nationals take on the Cleveland Indians. Ironically, on June 13, 2010, Zimmerman was the designated hitter and batted third as the Nationals beat the Indians, 9-4, in Cleveland. The game was Stephen Strasburg’s second start of his career and his second win.

The lineup also has Steve Lombardozzi at second base. That means this will be Anthony Rendon’s first day off since returning to the roster for a second stint. Jayson Werth will be batting fifth.

Right-hander Justin Masterson (8-5, 3.68) takes on lefty Gio Gonzalez (3-3, 3.59).

Here is the lineup for the 33-32 Nationals:

Denard Span CF
Roger Bernadina LF
Ryan Zimmerman DH
Adam LaRoche 1B
Jayson Werth RF
Ian Desmond SS
Chad Tracy 3B
Kurt Suzuki C
Steve Lombardozzi 2B

Gio Gonzalez P

Indians lineup:

Michael Bourn CF
Jason Kipnis 2B
Nick Swisher 1B
Ryan Raburn DH
Carlos Santana C
Mark Reynolds 3B
Michael Brantley LF
Mike Aviles SS
Drew Stubbs RF

Justin Masterson P

blog comments powered by Disqus