This and that

New nomination for most annoying commercial: The Hillshire Farms “Go Meat!” ads. They make me want to smash out the back window of my car with a kielbasa.


Sports Illustrated has named Derek Jeter as its Sportsman of the Year. He’s the first Yankee to be honored since the magazine created the award in 1954.

Would you feel better about the choice if he played for the Royals?

Is that look on your face a product of his pinstripes?

I’ve always respected Jeter’s work ethic and the way he plays the game, and he’s a class act. You can hate the uniform, but I find it difficult to bash the man inside of it. I know that puts me in the minority here, but it’s true.

Cal Ripken won the award in 1995. There might have been a nationwide protest if he didn’t.

I guess Serena Williams’ tirade at the U.S. Open killed her chances this year.

Speaking of which: Williams had been fined $82,500, almost double the previous high, for threatening to store her racket in a lineswoman’s large intestine after a foot-fault call ended her semifinal match against Kim Clijsters.

The incident took place in September. Math isn’t my strong suit, but that’s about three months ago. What the heck took so long?

It’s the Tampa Bay Rays’ turn to promote a player via e-mail for the Hall of Fame.

Ladies and gentlemen, meet Fred McGriff:

From 1988 to 2002, McGriff averaged 31 home runs, 97 RBI and batted .288.
Only 10 other players in major league history have averaged those Triple Crown numbers over a 15-year period. Six of them are in the Hall of Fame. The other four aren’t yet eligible. The roll call includes Jimmie Foxx, Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Willie Mays, Hank Aaron, Frank Robinson, Manny Ramirez, Alex Rodriguez, Barry Bonds and Rafael Palmeiro.

During that period, McGriff hit 30 or more home runs in 10 different seasons, including seven in a row (1988-94). McGriff became the first player to lead both leagues in home runs, achieving the feat in 1989 (American League) and 1992 (National League). He also had eight 100-RBI seasons.

It would be interesting if McGriff and Roberto Alomar were inducted in the same year, since they were involved in the same trade in 1990.

Fans can nominate their favorite baseball broadcaster for the Hall of Fame’s Ford C. Frick Award through the museum’s Facebook presence beginning tomorrow and running until Dec. 31. Online voting begins at 10 a.m. at and concludes at 5 p.m. on Dec. 31.

The top three fan selections from votes tallied at the site during December will appear on the final 10-name ballot. The winner will be selected by a 20-member electorate and announced in early February.

The award is given to an active or retired broadcaster with a minimum of 10 years of continuous Major League broadcast service with a ballclub, network, or a combination of the two. Fans will have the opportunity to choose from more than 200 broadcasters eligible for consideration. Bios of each candidate will appear at

The final ballot will feature 10 names, comprised of the top three fan selections and seven other candidates to be determined by a Hall of Fame research team.

blog comments powered by Disqus