Jones named finalist for Hank Aaron Award

NEW YORK - Seventeen All-Stars from the 2012 season, including Orioles center fielder Adam Jones, have been named finalists for the Hank Aaron Award.

Beginning today and continuing through Oct. 16, fans will have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner. The winners of the 2012 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the World Series.

“Named in honor of one of the greatest hitters and competitors of all-time, the Hank Aaron Award recognizes each League’s best all-around offensive performer,” said commissioner Bud Selig in a statement released by Major League Baseball.

“Hank’s career will forever remain a model of excellence and consistency, and I am glad that the 30 club nominees are following the example of a pillar of our game.”

A special panel of Hall of Fame players also will cast votes, including Aaron, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan and Robin Yount.

Adam LaRoche was chosen as the Nationals’ representative for the award.

American League
Baltimore Orioles: Adam Jones
Boston Red Sox: Dustin Pedroia
Chicago White Sox: Alex Rios
Cleveland Indians: Shin-Soo Choo
Detroit Tigers: Miguel Cabrera
Kansas City Royals: Billy Butler
LA Angels of Anaheim: Mike Trout
Minnesota Twins: Joe Mauer
New York Yankees: Derek Jeter
Oakland Athletics: Josh Reddick
Seattle Mariners: Kyle Seager
Tampa Bay Rays: B.J. Upton
Texas Rangers: Josh Hamilton
Toronto Blue Jays: Edwin Encarnacion

National League
Arizona Diamondbacks: Aaron Hill
Atlanta Braves: Jason Heyward
Chicago Cubs: Alfonso Soriano
Cincinnati Reds: Jay Bruce
Colorado Rockies: Carlos Gonzalez
Houston Astros: Jose Altuve
Los Angeles Dodgers: Andre Ethier
Miami Marlins: Giancarlo Stanton
Milwaukee Brewers: Ryan Braun
New York Mets: David Wright
Philadelphia Phillies: Carlos Ruiz
Pittsburgh Pirates: Andrew McCutchen
St. Louis Cardinals: Matt Holliday
San Diego Padres: Chase Headley
San Francisco Giants: Buster Posey
Washington Nationals: Adam LaRoche

blog comments powered by Disqus