Markakis leading off again, Urrutia serving as DH (with NY lineup)

Nick Markakis is batting leadoff again tonight after collecting three hits from atop the order in the series opener against the Yankees at Camden Yards.

Markakis is 11-for-32 (.344) with three doubles and a home run lifetime against Yankees right-hander Ivan Nova. Matt Wieters is 11-for-26 (.423) with three doubles, four homers and seven RBIs.

Henry Urrutia will serve as the designated hitter and bat ninth.

Wilson Betemit is 5-for-16 with two doubles against Nova, but he remains on the bench.

Nova is 2-0 with a 1.52 ERA in three appearances against the Orioles this season, including his first career shutout on Aug. 31 at Yankee Stadium.

Miguel Gonzalez is 6-2 with a 3.80 ERA in 11 home starts this season. He’s 2-2 with a 3.50 ERA in seven career starts against the Yankees. However, he gave up seven runs in four innings in an Aug. 30 start in New York.

Curtis Granderson is 1-for-14 with six strikeouts against Gonzalez. Robinson Cano is 2-for-18.

The Orioles moved within 1 1/2 games of the Rays for the second wild card after last night’s 4-2 victory.

For the Orioles
Nick Markakis RF
Manny Machado 3B
Chris Davis 1B
Adam Jones CF
Matt Wieters C
Nate McLouth LF
J.J. Hardy SS
Brian Roberts 2B
Henry Urrutia DH

Miguel Gonzalez RHP

For the Yankees
Brett Gardner CF
Alex Rodriguez 3B
Robinson Cano 2B
Alfonso Soriano LF
Curtis Granderson DH
Mark Reynolds 1B
Ichiro Suzuki RF
Eduardo Nunez SS
Chris Stewart C

Ivan Nova RHP

Jones’ teammates selected him as their nominee for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award, presented annually to a player for his on-field performance and contributions to his community.

Fan voting will be conducted on, the official website of Major League Baseball players, through midnight on Sunday, Sept. 15.

Six division finalists chosen by the fans will appear on the Players Choice Awards ballot when all major leaguers vote on Tuesday, Sept. 17.

Here are the nominees:

Arizona: Brad Ziegler (@BradZiegler); Atlanta: Tim Hudson; Baltimore: Adam Jones (@SimplyAJ10); Boston: Jon Lester (@JLester31); Chicago Cubs: Anthony Rizzo (@ARizzo44); Chicago White Sox: Hector Santiago (@HecSantiago53); Cincinnati: Bronson Arroyo; Cleveland: Nick Swisher (@NickSwisher); Colorado: Todd Helton; Detroit: Torii Hunter (@toriihunter48); Houston: Jason Castro (@J_Castro15); Kansas City: Eric Hosmer (@TheRealHos35); Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: Albert Pujols (@PujolsFive); Los Angeles Dodgers: Adrian Gonzalez (@AdrianTitan23); Miami: Juan Pierre (@JPBeastMode); Milwaukee: Rickie Weeks; Minnesota: Glenn Perkins; New York Mets: Dillon Gee (@DillonGee35); New York Yankees: Mariano Riviera (@MarianoRivera); Oakland: Grant Balfour; Philadelphia: Chase Utley; Pittsburgh: Pedro Alvarez; San Diego: Will Venable; San Francisco: Barry Zito; Seattle: Raul Ibanez; St. Louis: Carlos Beltran (@carlosbeltran15); Tampa Bay: David Price (@DAVIDprice14); Texas: Ian Kinsler; Toronto: Munenori Kawasaki; Washington: Adam Laroche.

blog comments powered by Disqus