Elias on rotation, late signings, failed signings, Alexander, bullpen, outfield mix and Mayo
-
-
February 10, 2026 3:00 pm
-
1042 Comments
SARASOTA, Fla. – The local media that traveled to spring training will get some time Wednesday morning with president of baseball operations/general manager Mike Elias. In the meantime, he spoke for 20 minutes earlier today on a video call and confirmed that he remains in the market for a starting pitcher.
This isn’t done because of concerns over the group that’s in camp. That point was emphasized multiple times.
“I think we have a very good rotation,” he said. “A talented group of guys. Some external additions. (Zach) Eflin was a re-sign, but brought him in from free agency. Shane Baz, we made a major trade. We’ve got (Kyle) Bradish back for a full season. Trevor Rogers coming off his campaign. Dean Kremer. All of the depth, a lot of which that we saw last year. Brandon Young, Cade Povich. So I think it’s a really strong group.
“We’re staying plugged in with both the trade and free agent markets, as all teams are as we ease into camp. So there’s still a possibility for external (additions), but I think that our rotation is very strong and very talented.”
Future Hall of Famer Justin Verlander drew interest from the Orioles but reportedly has reached agreement with the Tigers on a one-year deal that guarantees $13 million. Back where it all started.
Tomoyuki Sugano wasn’t coming back to Baltimore and he’s finally off the market after agreeing to a one-year deal with the Rockies worth a reported $5.1 million.
A few other observations from Elias’ video scrum:
* Elias has seen the downside of signing starters late in camp and would prefer to avoid it. A recent example is Kyle Gibson on March 22, 2025, but you can go back much further.
Of course, it isn’t entirely in Elias’ control.
That clock is ticking but time remains on his side on Feb. 10.
“Yeah, late signings can be tricky,” he said. “Historically they tend not to work out as well as those that happen earlier. Very mindful of that. And I don’t think we’re at that point yet where you shut things off, but it’s something that you keep an eye on and you start to throttle down once you get to the point where somebody might be coming in too late to get properly prepared for the season.
“I can’t handicap what’s going to happen and we’re always looking to improve the team. At any time of the year you’re always looking to improve the team and have those conversations. I think we have a very good team as it stands now and it’s one that’s capable of winning this division, and we’ve just got to put in the work. But our front office is very plugged in to the markets right now and there’s still time for that if it comes to fruition.”
* The failure to sign top starters Framber Valdez and Ranger Suárez was bound to come up, and Elias disagreed that it should be considered a disappointment.
“I think we’ve put together a really strong rotation as it stands right now,” he said. “We’ll continue to look externally if we can bolster this group in one way, shape or form.
“Shane’s an incredibly talented pitcher. He’s coming off surgery and had a really solid year and the stuff is as good as it gets, and we’re looking forward to having him and working with him. And bringing Zach back in a place where he’s much healthier than he was last season. And all of the other guys that I named, I think we have a really good group.
“We’re always involved and communicative if there are free agents or trade candidates available, but I think this rotation looks good. I think the bullpen looks good. I think we’ve got a really talented position player core. And this is a team that’s very capable of going where we want to go, which is deep in the playoffs.”
* New infielder Blaze Alexander, acquired from the Diamondbacks for reliever Kade Strowd and two minor leaguers, isn’t here to compete for a job.
That figures, since he’s out of options and considering what the Orioles surrendered in the trade.
“I think that the roster was in need of some more infield depth and some more versatility,” Elias said. “Blaze Alexander is a very talented player, a lot of physical tools. Can play basically every position on the diamond except for catcher, and hits from the right side of the plate. So it was a very good roster fit for us.
“He’ll help us at every single infield position. Has an ability to go out and spell in the outfield as needed. Can run. And a lot of the guys that served the utility role for us last year, Ramón Urías and Jorge Mateo, aren’t with the team anymore, so we’re looking to bring in some extra talent in that area, and I think Blaze is going to be a really big part of our team.”
* Elias could bring in another reliever but he’s comfortable with the bullpen and the arms competing for jobs, as he noted above.
“I think it’s a good group as well,” he said. “Ryan Helsley’s going to be a big addition at the back end of the ‘pen. We’ve got veteran guys in set-up roles. We’ve got young guys, some of whom have options, that showed us some intriguing things last year. And we’re trading for a guy like Blaze that has really his whole career ahead of him and a lot of team control, you’re gonna have to give something up.
“Kade has a very good arm. I know the Diamondbacks are excited about him and the trade just made sense for us. But I think we’ve got a very strong bullpen and I think we have a demonstrated ability with our pitching program and our pitching coaches to bring in guys from the outside, hopefully coach them up a little bit, and continue to improve players. So I think the bullpen’s going to be very good.”
* Pay attention to hints in spring training about how the outfielders will be used. And don’t exclude Leody Taveras in your mocks.
That was Elias’ basic message when asked about Taylor Ward, Colton Cowser, Tyler O’Neill and Dylan Beavers being in the mix and what to expect with their playing time and roles.
“I think camp’s gonna be informative toward how that’s gonna look in the regular season,” he said. “In terms of their playing time in camp, Tyler’s gonna be in the WBC (World Baseball Classic) for some stretch of it, so that might affect things, but I think those are kind of your four frontline outfielders. Going into camp, that’s the plan.
“Leody Taveras I think is gonna play a really important, versatile role for us with his defensive abilities, particularly in center field, and then of course the other two spots. Also, he’s a switch-hitter. And then we’ve got Blaze Alexander in the mix now, so we’ll mix him in and see how he looks and where he’s most comfortable. We’ve also got Reed Trimble on the roster, Heston Kjerstad on the roster. So there’s quite a bit of guys there.
“But I do think the first four are kind of front of mind as we think about portioning the outfield playing time in a scenario where everyone’s healthy and kind of doing their thing.”
* Coby Mayo is a first baseman first, but he isn’t welded to the bag.
Elias indicated that Mayo could get a look in the corner outfield, which he mentioned earlier in the offseason.
“That’s something that we’re planning on talking about with Coby, but also with the coaching staff here, and I do expect that we’re gonna see him at places other than first base,” Elias said. “But first base will continue to be something that we’re emphasizing with him, and you’ll see him there, as well.”
1042 Comments
1,042 responses to “Elias on rotation, late signings, failed signings, Alexander, bullpen, outfield mix and Mayo”
Related Articles
Orioles agree to terms with right-handed pitcher Shane Baz on a five-year contract extension
Deal begins this season The Orioles today announced that they have agreed to terms with right-handed pitcher SHANE BAZ on…
Read More
Orioles finalizing five-year, $68 million extension with Shane Baz (deal official)
Shane Baz hasn’t made an official start for the Orioles. His first appearance in a regular season game…
Read More
MASN+ commonly asked questions
It’s been a month since we launched our new and improved website and app experiences. In that short…
Read More
OK, good news is we tested the timer and story posted. Comments were closed but that seems to have been fixed.
Now if we could only have GIFs … 😂
I guess we better behave if we want to keep the school from being shut down.
I guessed 4pm EST, anyone else come close?
Ok, no news is no news.
Did he seriously mention Cade Povich and Brandon Young? There are no words. This is beyond delusional.
I need you to breathe. Your heart is going to give out if you keep panicking over a Zoom scrum.
Pre-season hasn't even started yet.
i told him last February to slow down, too. He will burnout by the 3rd week of March
Maybe it’s the fact I have a media background, idk, but I don’t think general fans understand what comes out of interviews like that. What do you want Elias to say? He isn’t going to slam players. He isn’t going to throw players under the bus.
It amazes me that some fans who follow sports for decades don't get that. Other than a sportscasting class I took, I don't have a background in media, but I have a background of watching sports for over three decades and hearing a ton of coachspeak / GMspeak.
Right. It’s common sense.
I guess the term "fanatic" doesn't get along with common sense. I keep trying to tell myself that.
OOF would be much happier if Elias said our rotation is suspect and our depth is lucky to be in camp with an MLB team. He thrives on worst case scenarios and disappointment.
You still doing nascar stuff?
Yes.
Awesome
Anything extra or just your assignments? I always thought there could be an opportunity for a young guy to popularize NASCAR to younger generation
*note I am not a nascar fan but could see inroads with 20-40 year olds if marketed correctly o
Agreed. Which is why I don't listen to those interviews. It's a lot of diplomatic hot air.
The big scrum to look forward to is tomorrow, when injury news/updates occur.
I've been on here a long time, I've never seen him not at 11.
Haha! I was clearly wrong as he didn't really stop until October 8th
Nope. OOF is a bulldog when he gets his teeth into a topic. He won’t wear out, wear down. Won’t stop. But I will take his bulldog passion and his desire for the Orioles to do well and make sense every day. Annoying to some, but I don’t mind him at all.
What year?
“ zoom scrum”
Sounds so 2020 ish
It was a video call. What else would you call it.
They called them talkies back in Dauer's day
lol
Not
You chuckled a little bit. Be honest.
I do miss my pager
An informed video conference call with upper mgmt and media members
IVCCUMMM
Gross.
Video teleconference is how I tend to attribute it in copy, if we want to be formal. But these literally take place over Zoom. At least, ones I’ve done.
I agree but make it sound more official
Zoom makes it sound informal imo
This is a blog. In a comment thread. I’m not on the clock here lol
Agreed. Don’t get your panties twisted like Cereal
I agree with you
Speaking of zoom, I wonder what the kid from those old Mazda commercials is up to these days.
Do you remember when many of your teachers said you’d never amount to anything? And then, against the odds you.. Never mind, bad example.
They were mentioned in order to scare the current starters from getting hurt.
A new board to wonder what if. What if we had signed another starter this off-season?
Is this the newest blog? Is the site working better now?
Yes. Yes
Unfortunately what Elias has accomplished pitching wise is on par with my expectations of him. Yet Im still disappointed.
Who would have thought?
Beginning February 10, 2026, Chase Sapphire Reserve cardmembers can buy up to four FIFA World Cup 26™ tickets per match from available match inventory across all U.S. host cities—no lottery, no waiting. Tickets are limited and available only from February 10–24, 2026, or while supplies last. Get yours before they’re gone!
Went to the site at noon and got put in the queue and came out as Sold Out. They really don't want me to see soccer.
I’d like to take this opportunity to apologize that I’m having no difficulty navigating the new site.
Does Taveras have any available options ??
No.
Thanks
Savannah Guthrie was the first newscaster to interview Epstein victims back in 2019. Think this is a warning to other journalists.
That's a horrifying thought.
Which has nothing to do with this.
Don’t be naive
Actually an ex Justice worker and yes I know better
Saudi Arabia and Israel leaders are involved in Epstein files. Plus many , many multi billionaires
We couldn’t even sign Justin Verlander.
Going to Detroit makes more sense for him
There are few times in life where saying going to Detroit makes sense makes any sense at all.
Its not a good place , used to work in ann arbor
Yeah, how embarrassing that we didn't sign a 43yo #4-5 starter to a one year deal. And he turned us down to go to play for [checks notes] the team that drafted and developed him where he spent the first decade or so of his pro career.
The Morton signing last year is what made the our post season possible.
What
Fantastic moves for the Tigers. Signing Verlander and Valdez may help keep Vkubal around another year or two.
If he had signed him the crazies on here would have crucified him for doing so. So now they crucify him for not doing so. Pretty funny bunch here.
Sounds like the 2026 O's are pretty well set. Perhaps they'll pickup a bullpen arm off the scrap heap during spring training (ala Cionel Perez). Is this enough to contend for the AL East? Only the shadow knows.
Always hard looking in the hearts of men
it should be an axiom: if you have to mention Brandon Young and Cade Povich, you do NOT have pitching depth.
I'd say it's a pretty safe bet that Young and Povich will end up at #'s 8-10 on the depth chart.
Povich as a future in the pen if they can get him to stop nibbling and develop another pitch.
That's where we thought they were about a year ago too
Yeah. Also this time a year ago we needed Kyle Gibson to fill in the last spot before the supposed depth.
Baby steps, I guess.
Yep, babies tend to fall down a lot; flip side, they usually laugh and get back up, so there’s that at least
well, Elias seems to think they are 7&8.
Elias has a lot of his eggs in Baz and Eflin’s basket.
A lot of eggs in his Baz-ket.
Missed opportunity.
Egg-cellent pun!
Sometimes my sense of humor coop-erates.
Damn, I’ll take the assist.
🤝
Thats no yoke.
The Tigers ended up with both our starter target options: 1A (Valdez) and 1B (Verlander)
That storyline, as well as which team finishes with a better record, will have a lot to say about whether Elias gets to say his offseason strategy is a success.
I don’t think we were ever in on Verlander after Eflin came back
I don’t think anyone was IN on Efflin
Probably not. Verlander has held up well over his HOF career, and would've been a nice insurance policy. $13M, that was basically what we paid Morton and Sugano last year.
Not really. The Tigers play in a far inferior division so their record could be very good. They would be a 3rd place team on paper in the Al East at best.
After reading Roch since Framber signed, I don't think he was 1A, and I doubt Verlander was particularly high on Elias's radar at all, simply due to the optics of signing an old guy, a la Morton last year.
Also the storyline to watch for me is how Baz fares compared to Framber, Ranger, and Cease. I don't believe he was meant to be the big acquisition when the off-season started, but there's a world in when he's at least as good as those three, if not better.
Baz especially. Hey I am
Optimistic also but….he did have like a 4.5 ERA last year….
Graysons career wise is 4 I think
Baz*
Great Freudian slip tho
USA leading Canada, 4-0
Kinda surprised we don't already have Giolito because Elias seems to collect these guys like matched table settings.
Giolito, 1st Round 2012 WSN, 6-foot-6
Eflin, 1st Round 2012 SDP, 6-foot-6
Rogers, 1st Round 2017 MIA, 6-foot-5
Baz, 1st Round 2017 PIT , 6-foot-3
Elias is done for the off season
It has been very arduous and gave up on Valdez.
He pockets 25% Of payroll savings which makes up for his losses on top 5 farm bonus
Mobile site got a makeover nice. Haven't checked the PC side yet.
I'm not talking to the Orioles after they did Framber dirty like that. But they need to figure out one more arm for the season in Giolito/Gallen/Scherzer/Littel.
What did the Orioles do to Framber?
They did him dirty.
Ok, that’ll suffice.
Sign all four of them.
Shhh..sh..suu….sure!
Never sign out!!!
might not find it again
All of my passwords are:
Dontforgetyourpassword
In case I forget my password
What's this about giant emojis
If you have to ask? You can’t afford them
😁😁
Elias needed to be fired at the end of 2024. The fact that he's still here, still scared to sign a pitcher, is a joke. This is an unserious team. Get on board with the Dodgers or a team that isn't going to absolutely squander the talent it has. (I'll never stop being an O's fan but now that I live in Hawaii I'm grateful to have a fallback team that actually spends money to field a quality product. Regardless of how you feel about their spending, which I admit is suspect, at least they're putting a team on the field worth showing up to support.)
8 years and zero playoff wins. At least some still think he’s genius
I reserve the right to retract this statement if we sign Gallen, but it really doesn't sound like he's planning to.
Did you want the O's to up their offer to Framber to $40 million per to get him to come here instead of Detroit?
Can't force pitchers to sign with us. The idea that Elias is scared is just laughable.
Maybe? Doing nothing is no alternative.
I get the frustration with last season, but they were not going to fire him after 2024, coming off two straight playoff seasons.
To be fair, when I made that statement it was about him AND Hyde. Felt like we needed to clean house with a new owner coming in and coming off of 2 straight winless postseasons. I know you can make the argument that these guys got us there but getting there isn't the goal. Winning is. And I didn't think they had the skills to get us over the hump. Hyde is too familiar with the guys and took their feelings into account more than he should have when he should have been holding them accountable. And Elias, for all of his draft and development wizardry, is unable to take those pieces and construct a world series worthy team around them.
Oh, so you’re doubling down in the unrealistic wish to fire leaders after two straight playoff seasons
This is not meant to be political
A few days ago the Banner ran a story about grocery store pricing.
Essentially they had priced out 12 common items in 2022 and then re shopped them a few days ago with 10 stores
Takeaway
All 10 were lower with Target being 19 percent lower.
Need more stories like this from MSM to tell the true story on what is going on.
I
Well, it ended up being very political.
Because of others
Just an article by the Banner
Very easy to check
No, because of you. You posted it. Own it. It's political.
You’re from the same subset of species that says dont believe the media (unless of course you want to post a non political political comment lol)
Store prices are not dropping. Anyone can cherry pick items that are on special to say, “See!! Lower” lol . Jfc dude.
It was the same items from 4 years ago
Why is my shopping bill constantly increasing?
Bad personal choices.
If this is aimed at me, I am offended. Sorry I want what we usually buy at the same price,
Inflation, especially moderate as we now have is necessary and healthy for a strong economy
Deflation is a disaster, stagnation likewise is a disaster.
US GDP is rising faster than anywhere in the world, the outlook is very good.
Dude, you’re delusional.
Read the freaking article
Sure. I go to the grocery store. I understand how “specials” work. You know how you get rid of old ish? Lower the price. I also know how articles work.
This was not me doing this dude
This was not me doing this dude
Omg
It was not me doing the selection
So? Anyone can set up an article by preselecting anything to compare to make a “point”
Last week it was “Rampant inflation because of Brandon”. This week it’s, “buT tHe bANNeR”
What?
I have been very happy since November of 2024
As I imagine you are as well
If anything, stores will start this on certain items due to years of corporate gouging and because of inflation-weary customers. This isn’t because of some gov policy. How dumb are you?
Sorry you can’t see the forrest amongst the trees
Prices are not retreating in stores other than cherry picked items. 1 meal and 1 sandwich at Chick fil a is $21, so that’s not going down either. A mini Turkey sub at Jersey Mikes is $11 lol. Again, you live in an orange bubble of stupidity trying to push this dumb narrative
$21 for chik fil a?
Cmon now.
3 pc chicken strip, fries, drink plus my plain grilled chicken is $21
We've really made an effort to back off from fast food lately. The prices are just ridiculous for what you get.
It’s nuts
We got into a habit of running errands on Saturdays, and we'd stop by Chick Fil A because my son likes it, and he can go into the play area for a bit. But, for two adults, and a kid, it's insane.
He doesn’t understand that an anecdote about a few items from local grocery stores doesn’t necessarily reflect national grocery price trends.
Youre a political idiot.
Emphasis on idiot
Explain more in detail
It was the same 12 items
I do truly think prices are dropping
Again explain in detail how I am a political idiot with facts to back you up
I am retired, but now need to look for another job to cover our costs. Do some homework before you selectively pick items.
I did not selectively do this
It was the Banner!
Shaddup
What?
Youre blocked and I hope roch expels you for perpetuity.
Lmao
Typical
Can’t have a normal conversation so block/hide head in sand.
Food prices have stabilized greatly, especially essentials.
You need to be a conscious shopper. Every major store post their weekly sale items online, usually on Fridays.
Takes just a bit of time to review stores, make your shopping list.
If you prefer to not be a frugal shopper and pay more, that’s your choice. It’s a free country.
Yeah, but that's always been the case. You could always skim the circulars, and shop for the best deals. But, groceries can still be expensive across the board.
If you are still in Maryland it is literally the worst state to be retired in.
Any time anyone starts a post with This is not political, it is.
Nah
Just a very verifiable fact of a story
If others go that way it is on them
Your last sentence made it political.
Okay I know you are excited but 10 stores and 12 items is such a small sample size. Example A: My Chock-full of Nuts coffee used to cost me 8 bucks for a 26 ounce can, now it is 17 dollars.
The coffee beans I buy (in bulk, too) have gone from $8.99 per pound to $19.99 per pound in the last 14 months. Therefore, grocery prices have skyrocketed to absurd levels. Also, good hot dogs were about $6.99 per six justover a year ago. Now, $11.99. So there!
I got $2 off at Sports Clips today, omg, prices are falling.
Senior discounts are sweet
I can’t wait
Grocery store prices lower from 2022? I’m sure I could select dozens of items that are lower. Then hundreds that are higher. What’s your point, not everything has gone up? I thought everyone knew that.
here’s the problem: CPI excludes food and energy. guess what people use/notice most?
Also, priced 12 common items and all 10 were lower? Lol.
Sure, ten items can go down in price, but grocery prices can still be high.
But they are not
If this were "not political" as you say, you'd not be arguing so much that grocery prices are lower than they were in 2022.
Any mathematician can tell you that selecting a sample size of 10 (or 12?) out of many thousands of possibilities tells you virtually zero statistically speaking, and is definitely not grounds for making any sort of determination of trends.
Just stating what the article said.
They were very normal items/ staples from 2022 compared to now
I personally feel pricing has come down overall as well
My feeling/memory is that things on the whole were most expensive at the height of the pandemic, and that some things have come down since then but others have not, and some have gone further up in price. But that's just based on my personal shopping habits and my imperfect memory.
Overall, my personal grocery tab has continued to increase year after year. And I haven't added any kids or pets :).
You see I've already contradicted myself. But that sentence above is I feel definitely true.
So is Elias out on Gallen? Sounds like he's out on everybody.
You know …. With Trevor Rogers, Kyle Bradish, Zach Eflin, Shane Baz, and Dean Kremer, nobody is calling it the best rotation in baseball in March. We have no universal "ace". But what we do have are five legitimate major league starters who can all win you a game, and not implode if things don’t go perfectly. That matters more than people like to admit. Maybe what Elias built (with purpose) is a rotation that is good – and reliably so – all season with the potential to be great in the post season. I mean, to be fair, predictably good pitching consistency is a huge upgrade for us.
i worry about 1) covering innings and 2) injuries. we have no real innings eaters and zero depth.
That's a more confident take than mine. I still think we need another guy, because I'm concerned about Eflin's readiness and long-term health. I'd also love to sign Bassitt with the idea that he's in as a swing man and ready to go into the rotation if/when necessary.
Bassitt is underrated.
He's not nearly as good as he was 2-3 years ago, but he can get the job done and seems like a team guy who would be good with a swing role.
Hell, Im not nearly as good as I was three years ago either.
TWSS
Comment of the year 🏆
Elias, is that you?
The rotation could be better, but that is not the biggest issue. There is so much fragility. I think Eflin will be injured and often injured. We need Bradish to go from 32 to 190sh innings. We have paper thin depth. There is Wells and Suarez who pitched a combined total of 33 innings in 2025, and I think it's a stretch to expect both to be healthy. I do not understand how people do not get how truly hopelessly horrible Povich, Young and (gulp) McDermitt are , and if we have to rely on them, they season is over.
Elias likes the bullpen.
That's all.
Mike Ferin and Jim Duquette on MLB Radio’s Power Alley were talking about a trade the Orioles and Reds, that would bring RHSP Brady Singer to the Orioles for a LH-hitting outfielder. They backed-off the idea, thinking the O’s would be giving-up too much for 1yr of Singer.
They could have backed off it because . . . Elias.
Right. A joke. And not a funny one, terrible, egotistical, tunnel-visioned, doesn't want to win, foolish, obsessed with AA prospects, out of touch, doesn't like crabcakes, dyes his hair that manly-man grey, speaks through all 3 sides of his mouth, fears Rubenstein…. Did I leave anything out?
Thank you for your participation.
A trade for Singer would be sew-sew.
😅
I wouldn't trade Cowser or Beavers for one year of Singer.
Sugano to the Rockies is what I call setting someone up for failure.
Like Alonso we needed to strike big and quick – for any of these top FA SP's… we laid in the weeds too long and too many other teams got involved. I still think with what we currently have could be really good – but if you would have told me at the start of offseason our SP additions would be Eflin and a trade for Baz – I would have been pretty shocked.
PF insists a big move is just around the corner (unless he too is having doubts now)
Agreed. I am surprised at how little they improved the pitching – just Baz, Kitt., Helsley – and at how aggressively they improved the position players. I didn't expect them to sign a bit contract for top tier slugger or to trade for another 30+ HR guy and I thought they'd get one of both of a top tier closer (e.g. Suarez) and/or starter (e.g. the other Suarez).
You might be right, but also maybe not. We have no way of knowing when and what Elias offered. A year ago we all thought he did that with Burnes, only to learn that he offered lots of cash and years and he wanted to go home. There is every possibility that Elais made significant early offers and the players just made other choices. In the end Valdez chose a team that would slot him at #2 and plays in a terrible division, winning the AL Central is a lot easier than winning the AL East.
Given the Orioles' redundancy at 1B, corner outfield, and backend starting pitching, it seems we can expect a trade to bolster the top of the rotation.
That's what we've been expecting since Mountcastle was tendered.
Yep.
please text Elias then
I would like to see that, but I no longer expect it.
not unless Elias is engaging in double-talk
Maybe, the only real 1B I see is Pete Alonso.
All those other nerds are unproven or suck.
Mounty is an excellent 1B if healthy. He will be the best backup 1B in baseball this year.
If I had a nickel for every time I’ve seen a post like this, I could have a Lear jet on call, 24/7 at Bermuda Dunes for my personal use
I agree that is written here a lot, but how much do you think a private jet costs? “About a hundred dollars.”
It was a line by Tony in the Sopranos. I used Bermuda Dunes since I’m near there
It's a banana, Michael. How much could it cost? 10 dollars?
No doubt
The Orioles rotation depth chart can use some projects but now I am good. Elias was careful not to say Wells and instead mentioned Young and Povich. But here is the depth as I see it and all could change.
Bradish
Rogers
Baz
Kremer
Eflin
Wells
Povich
Suarez
Young
Getting additional depth is a good thing. Also you have to give inexperienced starters time. I am good.
How good are you? Asking for a starlet whose light is dimming just a tad.
Well I am getting a little dim also
I'll set it up.
Lots of hope at the top is my concern
Gotta have good health for sure
And results even if healthy
That is not an issue.
I think this team is built on hope and alot of it.
Every team is built on hope. They all hope the team stays healthy and has a great season. Then baseball happens.
Yeah, Elias didn't mention Wells (in that context) and Roch mentioned him as being best used in the late innings…but I need to finish my cup of Earl Grey before reading anything into that.
Drinking the good stuff!
Yes, we needed another Starter. It's been a need since Cowser was a calf. But for whatever reasons, Mike couldn't deliver on that (again!) and we need to now just look at what we do have and what to expect
We have 5 good starters. I expect to be able to win each night. I suspect we are going to win 83-87. A Lucky Gust of wind could get us to 90 wins – especially if we make a good trade in July.
but I have almost 0 faith in Elias to do that
90-92 Steve.
There it is.
but an unlucky stretch could easily do us in, too. 😂
Same with the other 29 teams
Not the Brewers! 😂 Haha
88 as ceiling
75 as floor as constructed
😆 🤣 😂
Should Elias have outbid Detroit for Verlander? Should he have outbid the Rockies for Sugano? Is Framber Valdez,at 32, a good bet for more than the 3-year/$115 MM contract he got from the Tigers?
Today's signings mean nothing.
after an entire off-season… Having 20 players on the List and getting none of them. Well, that's the disappointment here.
and yeah, Framber and Suarez were the biggest disppontments.
im still rooting for Giolitto or Gallen. He will probably sign Bassit, too. But the disappointment isn't about today. Im talking about the whole winter.
and now, we need to talk about the 8 starters we DO have.
If the starters we have are largely healthy, they'll put us in a position to win almost every game. That's not the issue to me. It's depth.
My prediction is that we sign one (or both) of Gallen and Littel, and Mounty gets traded during camp for a reliever
Why not wait another 2 weeks? Things might get even clearer
Elias is done making moves imo
I hope he proves me wrong
I apologize for insulting the design of the website early this morning. I should have been more patient. Things are already improving.
Too late. You said those horrible things and now you must pay the price.
No soup one year?
Soup, but no spoon or napkin.
And must eat it with a fork.
#triggering
ICE training manual?
What?
No training needed.
??
You got what you wanted.
Just stated facts
What others do with said facts is on them
Just common sense really.
One publication posting an article isn't facts.
Also, "the economy" and prices feel different to different people in different situations.
Posting about one article as a "WE DID IT" win is just plain silly.
How many items do you buy from the grocery store every week?
two observations:
first, the concern about affordability is driven by real people not being able to afford things – it’s not some media conspiracy.
second, the same media continually writes things like “inflation held steady last month“ or “inflation eased“ when people know damn well they are paying more for gas and groceries (and health care) and wages are not going up unless you‘re an AI or crypto bro.
#nobodyisignoringfacts
One article no one else here read isn’t a fact lol. If it was such Yuge news it would be everywhere dummy.
Maybe it should be is also the point skippy.
The one on top of your head. No wonder you never got to NC and that “retirement” you boasted about.
Staying for my kids as I stated before
Do you need some memory meds. Plus building passive income with something I enjoy currently
I read it. Let's just say it wasn't scientific. Oh, and the first header reads "Costs are down at half of the stores"
So on top of being ignorant, dauer is also being dishonest
Verlander for 1 year and $13 million. The Orioles could surely have surpassed that, especially for only 1 year.
There is no denying that the park, the very shaky outfield defense and a few questions in the pen have starting pitchers looking elsewhere. And Elias is not totally to blame. I said on day one of free agency that the Orioles best path for a starting pitcher was through a trade. Baz was a very good first move, the second trade still needs to happen.
I think an issue is that is there anyone in the rotation you want to slot out for Justin Verlander at this point in his career? And Verlander isn't coming to be in AAA or the bullpen as depth.
With all the TOR off of the board, the remaining FA starters aren't great fits. The type of starter that it makes sense to sign is a swingman type who can start the yr as long relief.
Verlander would have made 6 legitimate starters and that’s ideal. Eflin might be a swing man to start, surely there will be injuries (hopefully minor) to the staff as the season moves on.
I don’t see a 6th starter as a problem, but a likely problem solver.
I think an issue is that is there anyone in the rotation you want to slot out for Justin Verlander at this point in his career? And Verlander isn't coming to be in AAA or the bullpen as depth.
With all the TOR off of the board, the remaining FA starters aren't great fits. The type of starter that it makes sense to sign is a swingman type who can start the yr as long relief.
Mike got traumatized by trying to sign old pitchers, and then watching the subsequent bonfires.
My dog has begun to climb into my compost bin and eat the vegetable waste 🤦♂️. He acts like a pig just as much as a dog
That is actually not good
But funny
A lab perhaps?
No because some
Veggies are fine others not and really they all need to be in moderation. He is some kind of hound mutt. Wonder if he is part bassitt. Pretty long ears
Im just surprised hes eating veggies. 😄
He’ll eat almost anything
every time i offload compost for my garden boxes, our yellow Lab is right there to scarf up anything that is dropped.
pretty disgusting.
When you hear or read comments from Elias you really get a full understanding that he is totally clueless.
Blah Blah blah blah – same old crap. He failed to get the top of rotation starter we needed either by free agency or trade. That's it he failed. Unless Baz becomes an Ace.
The bullpen is good in his eyes and only his eyes. Cano probably should not be in the mix.
The outfield is not good defensively.
He overpaid for a utility player.
He is just clueless. I hope I'm wrong but this poor play has been going on for over a year and half. If it resumes in April Elias should be fired mid April.
If you’re wrong, you’ll just say the team is winning in spite of Elias’ moves. Not because of them. Let’s be real.
No I will eat crow. I hope I'm wrong but time will tell.
I have no idea who you are, but you really need to put on a smile and cheer up.
He’s not clueless. I just don’t think he has the go ahead for free spending, and he’s wordsmithing the results of the offseason
They’re spent $195 million this winter, which ranks sixth among all MLB teams.
Isn’t their current 2026 payroll less than 2025? C’mon, you know this isn’t good enough to be better
Right, that $195 million is spread over a number of years. It's the yearly budget that really matters.
Less by, like, how much? $10 million? And who’s to say this don’t add still?
I definitely think they could use another pitcher or two, but let’s not act like this team – and ownership group – hasn’t been much more aggressive financially.
You sure do change from year to year, month to month, week to week lol. Even if it’s “only” $10M less, that’s not a flex
How do I change year to year?
lol, Joe has joked with you about your on again, off again, Os thingy. It wasn’t meant to be taken literally
I don’t understand what this means.
Joe hasn’t teased you about being on, then off then back on the Elias bandwagon? Maybe I dreamed it up.
I think you have.
By 20 million I believe
Not for this year!
I hate that argument
But it's mostly the polar bear. We haven't signed any of our pitching targets.
Like I said, they could use more pitching. But we’re acting like pitching was the only area in need of improving when it wasn’t. They needed a couple of right-handed middle-of-the-order bats, a couple of back-end relievers and an actual utility player. Which they’ve accomplished.
Payroll should be judged year to year and not as a total supposedly spent in a year
$ spent per year in aav
Agree
We have no idea, but Rubenstein has said several times, even after the ALonso signing that there were no financial limits. No one expects us to spend like Dodgers, but I can't imagine he would say this out on the open so many times only to be lying about it.
If you really think the Baltimore Orioles have "no financial limits," then I have an oceanfront home in Iowa for a sale. I can get you a good deal.
No one expects them to spend like the Dodgers, but the way Rubenstein talks, Elias could have spent more.
Owners aren't always the most truthful. I just find it befuddling that during all the years of the Jacobs and Angelos, it was always "the owner won't let the GM get good players." Suddenly this guy buys the team, and now it's "Elias won't spend the owner's money." And, it's not just you.
I think because JA was pretty upfront about not spending. PA was kind of bipolar with spending. He did at times but didn't when he needed to. But I have never seen an owner contining to talk about spending and a GM not doing it.
I am not saying I trust Rubenstein entirely, but I don't know why you would make such a point about spending only to be lying about it.
For someone who constantly says “I’m not expecting them to spend like the Dodgers,” you sure seem to be complaining about them not spending like the Dodgers.
And to his credit, we have increased payroll under his ownership, but it's painfully obvious that, despite what he says, we're not going to be huge spenders. Maybe he's outright lying to give the fans what they want to hear, or maybe he's not very good at the economics of baseball. But, I just have a hard time with the "Elias won't spend Rubenstein's money" narrative.
But I also think from things Elias has said he is terrified of even medium length contract to pitchers.
And for all I know, that might be true. But, I also remember a HOF pitcher walking out the door 25 years ago because our owner didn’t believe in big contracts for guys who only play every fifth day.
Didn't some multi-millionaire buy and rebuild an Arizona ghost-town and name it Ocean Front back in1978?
Bear with me – could it be possible that the Orioles, even with the moves they've made – are still offering aggressive contracts, but the players are just choosing other teams? That’s what happened with Schwarber. That’s possibly what happened with Ranger.
But how could you be left with this? With all the FA pitchers out there and all the trade possibilities, how are you left with this? Also, drafting and developing pitching would help as well.
Pitchers are people. Maybe they have wants/needs that drew them to other teams. It happens. Rubenstein/Elias can’t force these guys to sign here.
You think it’s black and white. It isn’t.
Yeah I'm just frustrated. The off season started well with Kitteredge, Helsley, and Alonso. The Baz trade was not that bad and it's to be determined if it was good or bad – same goes for the Ward for Grayson trade.
It just seems even his trades are suspect.
Yeah, we get it. You don't like Elias, right? Watch out for cruelty to animals, man. Beating a dead horse can get you into trouble.
Whatever happened to the pivetta and a relief pitcher for mayo and a prospect rumor?
Lol the one that started here yesterday? And sounds to good to be true.
I believe it was a made-up rumor by someone here at SOR.
I liked it. Thought it made sense for both sides.
That would be wonderful, but Elias is determined to hold onto Mayo at any possible cost.
Leody had a good Winter in the Dominican — .280/.393/.413
And he will play plenty of CF.
Especially if he’s hitting like this.
And wait till Alby has to watch Cowser for an extended amount of time.
Bradfield may make a surprise entrance at some point. Alby loves him some defense.
He is used to it in Cleveland. I don't see the Cowser experiment in CF lasting very long for several reasons.
Cleveland and Tampa Bay. With the exception of his arm, Bradfield may remind Alby a lot of Kiermaier.
Im calling it unless someone else gets hurt in the of, he wont make the team out of st. They will pass him through waivers to 3a.
You know he’s currently the O’s best defensive outfielder, right?
They cant roster everyone.
Right now, if the roster remains as is on March 26, option Mayo to Norfolk
That may happen too. I think Blaze took Leodys spot.
No he didn't. That is not happening. Both make the team.
The issue is still at 1B. Mayo and Mounty can coexist, but they shouldn’t. That’s not the O’s best roster construction, with who they have. If Mayo begins the season in Norfolk, so be it. He can work on his new positions. I won’t be surprised if Mounty is traded during Spring Training.
He will, unless someone else besides Cowser and Alexander can play CF.
Beavers and Eeles can man it in a pinch.
You would be wrong
USA beats Canada, 5-0
Pete Alonso and Taylor Ward definitely should help improve the offense 10x.
Anyone that wants to live up to their elite prized prospects status is more than welcome to. (Looking at you Adley, Cowser, Westy, Holliday, Basallo, Mayo etc.)
Anyone who wants to not be injured for half a year or more and be productive instead is more than welcome to. (Looking at you Muscle Man, Trevor, Westburg, Cowser, Bradish, Eflin, Mountain Man etc.)
Anyone who wants to throw the ball as hard as anyone but get hit as hard as anyone with a .422 avg against on the fastball and claim the issue was tipping pitches but wants to get back to being a really dominant closer is more than welcome to. (Looking at you Ryan Helsley)
I think we are done with significant SP signings. Maybe a swingman or AAA+ depth move. None of the remaining FA SP's makes sense. I could see a BP addition by trade or signing.
I think it will be via trade.
Lucas Giolito makes a lot of sense.
Zac Gallen makes some sense.
Those are my two cents.
You are going to put Kremer or Eflin in AAA for Giolito? Gallen is a little better but his ERA was just under 5.00 last yr.
Yes, Eflin can earn his way back in.
Just in case you missed it, Eflin also had a 5.93 ERA. I hope and pray he's healed, but a little competition and depth is a good thing.
So would Littell or Basitt.
Elias’ statements seem to indicate that which concerns me. Same old Mike! Sure we added offensively but pitching was an area of need. According to him, we’re good with what we have in that department.
Bummed about the curling loss to Sweden earlier this afternoon. Not bummed about Tommy going to the Rockies or Verlander going to Detroit. I do expect the Tigers to win t the central this year in a romp. A 2014 ALDS rematch? Be fun to see.
How much did Verlander get?
$13M.
$11 million deferred, starting in 2030.
Yep I'm getting the other $2M just for posting here.
Don't forget that at the end of last season Elias expected this year's rotation to include Bradish, Rogers, Grayson, Wells, and Kremer. In his end of the year presser he said he wanted to improve the top of the rotation (one of the top three) if he could. He did not say that was his highest priority. He talked about Grayson getting ready to ramp up his preparation, and how Wells would come into spring training as a starter. Things have changed along the way.
so that comes down to whether Baz and Eflin are better than GRod and Wells.
it’s a pretty risky roll of the dice snd a funny way to improve the rotation
Yeah, the rotation is definitely better than the one that included Morton and Sugano, and I'd rather have Wells in the pen, but Baz will have to become a star for Elias's "strategy" to fly.
In 4-games, USA Woman’s Hockey has outscored their opponents 20-1, literally scoring 5-goals per game. They dominated Canada. Maybe Canada was playing rope-a-dope, setting them-up for the medal game…?
Sugano pitching for the Rockies in 2026, starting perhaps 15 games at Coors Field — he'll be making $5.1M, but that can't be the whole story. The guy must be able to endure immense psychological pain.
We will be able to pick up Sugano for cheap if we need a start early in the season.
He can pitch in a comfortable position with a team that is expected to lose 100 games and no one would care if he surrenders 60 homers😂
There is still a possibility we sign a starting pitcher !!! I'd say the odds are less than 20 percent moving forward.
New website, but still the same old knucklehead banter on things political like inflation. No one really comes to SOR to attempt to make clever quips on politically charged mini-topics. Let's go O's!
Tell me about the big news with the Orioles today.
No news still doesn't make political nods close to palatable. Sometimes it better to say nothing at all.
I’m sure Roch would appreciate 4 hours of no comments.
And I will admit that any discussion on IPA beer I find tedious, but if others enjoy it, I’m good. I just move on.
Whether talk of baseball, music, beer, casseroles or inflation as long as it’s respectable with no personal attacks we will survive.
But the talk of politics is expressly and unapologetically forbidden. And yet, seems a vocal majority still wants to test Roch. It's disrespectful. I am with you on the overall enjoyment over many topics that are not baseball. Who cares really, but the political quips rub people the wrong way. There is no place. Four hours of no comments vs. four hours of political comments? Come on, you know Roch will take the zero.
If we really need another starter, we could trade any marginal player or prospect of any value to the Rockies for Sugano.
But then we would need another pitcher.
First!
Great! Grocery prices have plummeted in Annapolis too
Really, that's very exciting.
Fantastic stuff going on in the economy.
I am sure you see it in your company
Tariffs have not helped at all. Improved our margins, but impacted demand.
Just wait
Margins are better btw
if you’re DoD or DHS
technically Baltimore if you actually read the article
So now it’s just some obscure store in Baltimore (probably going out of business) and not, “ThE wHoLe wOrLd”? Why would I read a BS article? It’s not required. I know what sht costs.
Just stick to ten specific hand picked items
Swim suits, sun tan lotion….
Next week, they'll include Valentines Day candy.
lol
Well the day after Valentines Day, most candy will be 50% off. So that a good thing. As always just be a smart shopper.
Hopefully, some online paper won’t be cited that as a reason to celebrate prices being down
Sorry I hit your TDS nerve
Just admit it is doing better and not listen to Maddow
See, you made it political, not me. I just see grocery prices as they are, and I'm not willing to do a victory lap because a handful of items have gone down in price.
I don't think "it's" doing better. The stock market is performing well, but that isn't always the best indicator. And Maddow doesn't focus on the economy. She does on all of the other nonsense going on.
Weird for Melewski to sh*t post.
Oh but yes it can
So the Tigers now have Skubal, Valdez, AND Verlander?
Pffft.
Albeit a 43 year old Verlander.
I wouldn’t be surprised if he provides some useful service, but this isn’t the same guy who started his career there.
Don’t get soft on him now.
SoR was in love with him and thought he’d be our ace just a week ago. Now he’s yesterday’s washed up news.
If we would have signed him, it would be the same thing as what DET just got. A seasoned veteran who can slot at the back of the rotation and provide some useful guidance to the younger pitchers. His days as an “ace” or TOR starter are a good 6-8 years in the rear view mirror.
Unfortunately for Detroit this is 2026 for Verlander not 2010
IIts Pretty scary when you're 5 starter is Casey Mize. Granted our 5 starter (Dean Kremer) is pretty good too
First! No wait- darn it new MASN system!
Is it just me or is Team USA kinda struggling in Milan this year?
When I assemble a 13 man position player roster I only come out with 1 open position. Of course all the expected guys;
Basallo
Rutsch
Alonso
Holliday
Gunnar
Westberg
Ward
Cowser
Oneal
Beavers
Blaze
Mountcastle
That leaves one last spot and Im giving it to JJ. Thoughts? Or just let the expletives fly…
Taveras.
JJs bat was better.
JJ can’t back up CF.
Blaze can.
Long-term, I’m sure he can as he logs more time. But Taveras is the better guarantee, and it’s only one year of him.
You only really need Tavares if Cowser gets hurt for an extended period. I think they pass Leody through waivers to 3A with his 2m contract and sit on him in case of extended injury to start the season.
So, let Taveras borrow JJs bat. No biggy.
Agree
mounty will be traded
We're running out of time on that one.
You left out Taveras.
You left off Tavares, guaranteed contract and the one one who has proven to be an average ML CF
Right. Curious/would love to see Blaze log more time there.
yeah, maybe, could clean up a roster spot. Also, Bradfield coming…
Then your just holding him to backup 1 position defensively. Seems like a waste of a spot.
I mean he could backup LF and RF too, but they would most likely just put him in CF and move Cowser.
O'Neill, and Jeremiah will be in Norfolk to work on defense.
And O'Neill will play in less than 50 games.
Im assuming Mayo is traded or optioned to triple a in this scenario?
I've talked myself into signing Randy Johnson.
Moose at his current age
Just Saying the last time Detroit had a powerhouse trio of starting pitchers things turned out pretty good for the Orioles…
price, verlander and scherzer? is that right?
Now, who’s the 2026 version of Delmon Young?
Blaze, probably
Tavares and whoever likes to play with his pants down
Cant get upvotes to work? Any suggestions?
They don't turn blue anymore. Just a bold oval around the thumb's up.
Thanks, it works on computer. Not on Android phone? Technology Ugg
Yeah, I don't use my phone to comment.
Do you use the same browser on the computer and phone.
Just gave you one.
Mikey said that he likes the rotation as constructed a few too many times for my liking.
As usual he's built a team that will be very, very good if there are no injuries. But there are always injuries.
He builds teams where you have to count on too much to go right.
The word was after last season we needed to see that he’s learned a lesson. I don’t see it.
Matheson (Blue Jays writer): News: Anthony Santander will undergo left labral (shoulder) surgery and miss 5-6 months. #BlueJays
We dodged a bullet by not re-signing him.
Maybe not. He may not have ran into a wall if playing for us. Kind of strange That they waited this long. Killed another season
Exactly
He had a setback a couple of weeks ago.
Poor Anthony. He's had a bad time with the BJs.
He never did like the cold.
More Matheson: More #BlueJays injury news: Shane Bieber's ramp-up “will be a little bit delayed” as he deals with right forearm fatigue.
This immediately settles the José Berríos conversation with the rotation. No procedure for Bieber, but he'll come slower.
OoooOoooooooOoooooooooooo
NOoooooooOoooooOoooOoo
That's just terrible.
Dang
Is it just me, or is Toronto’s lineup running kind of … light, potentially?
Kinda depends on guys like Barger taking a step, but yeah, maybe.
And Clement. They also can't expect another humongous year from Springer.
Yep.
Clement is just a guy
Forgot they landed Okamoto. Still, first taste of MLB action, who knows how that translates in the immediacy. They need Springer to stay healthy.
I know nothing about this joker.
That was and is huge.
Sox have made the most impactful moves in the East
Not "light" but a little questionable. I still think Bichette was the heart and soul of the offense, maybe even more so than Guerro Jr. Question is can the medium to little guys lilke Kirk, Barger, and Clement repeat?
Springer was and is the heartbeat of that team. Dude is a leader.
He is, and he had an incredible year. Question is were guys like Kirk, Barger and Clement excellent because they were set up by Bichette, Vlad Jr and SPringer? If so, Springer better repeat.
Just 3 solid ballplayers. Not sexy individually, but collectively, they add a ton of value to a winning team.
They were excellent in various ways. Will be interesting to see how they do in 2026.
He's also hurt a lot
Man, that's a bummer.
We were lucky to have him when he was healthy!!!
That is why the Indians let him go Rule 5 ….. he always had a nagging injury…. he didn't seem to have that issue as an Oriole for the most part
It must have been the fresh seafood.
Possibly
Wow
Omg I feel so bad for Santa and now I have a devious idea that they could trade us Berrios for NoNeil who can return to his home country. Since Bieber is hurt, we can trade them Young also😂
You would have to get any GM very drunk, no matter how desperate they are, to trade for O'Neill.
Same ole Elias regarding pitching. I only liked the Grod trade when I thought we were getting a TOR SP. Baz could breakout and TR could be real and Bradish could return to firm. That is a lot of HOPIUM.
We ll be solid w hopium upside. The vetera hitters should relax the younger hitters.
T he facts are that Elias doesn't want to Draft pitchers early and he doesnt want spend FA bucks on them.
Hooefully it works.
This is why Elias in no way gets a pass. I mean, you can make excuses about how this guy or that guy did not want to come here. But how can you be this bad at drafting and developing pitching. Going into 2025, how can horrid pitchers like McDermott and Povich be your 1 and 2 pitching prospects? After 7 years, how can Brandon Young be the ONLY guy you have both drafted and developed to ever pitch in the majors?
Feels like a couple regimes ago when the O's couldn't draft and develop an outfielder to save their life.
Yes, the Travis Snider/David Lough/ Joey Rickard era. And I am trying to remember the name of the minor leaguer who never made it who DD actually said was better than any of the 2014-2015 FAs. Dang, it will come to me.
Of course, this regime has not been very good with OFs as well. Bradfield looks great on defense but offense?
You made me look it up. Josh Hart and Mike Yastrzemski.
Actually, it was neither. I looked it up. It was Dariel Alvarez.
Yeah, high hopes. I was thinking drafted players.
It’s literally his strategy. Probably a dumb one but he clearly doesn’t believe in risking a high draft pick or a pricey contract on pitching. So don’t hold your breath waiting for Elias to draft and develop a pitcher. He’ll keep flipping prospects for young guys with MLB experience like Rogers and Baz.
What you just posted is pathetic, awful, and ridiculous —but sooooo true!!
It’s literally his strategy. Probably a dumb one but he clearly doesn’t believe in risking a high draft pick or a pricey contract on pitching. So don’t hold your breath waiting for Elias to draft and develop a pitcher. He’ll keep flipping prospects for young guys with MLB experience like Rogers and Baz.
Brandon Young wasn't drafted. He was a undrafted rookie free agent.
I feel like they could just rerun an old Olympics from four or eight years ago and I wouldn’t be able to tell the difference. It’s always the same.
I just watch it for the curling brushers. Huge talents
I love how they take the longest stare down before bowling that rock or whatever it is. Like, what are you concentrating on? You’re just pushing a rock.
The auto scrolling to the top of the page as fast as possible feature must have been turned off. Thank you web design guy.
Man, that makes it even worse.
Young most likely will develop into a #3 rotation starter. I don't think it will happen in Baltimore.
I don't think it happens anywhere, at least not in the MLB. Povich and Young simply do not have the stuff to get out major league hitters.
I guess what I'm saying 🤔 they will not develop in Baltimore… because Elias is not a fan of developing pitchers in the system. Please…I'll wait for the critics (not you OOF).
I mean. I can't argue with that. Elias has not been good at developing pitchers overall.
Well Elias loves pur rotation and not worried about a tor arm bc he sees Povich up there and pitching 180-200 innings for us. Now how is he gonna pitch that many innings when he has trouble getting thru 5 innings(even when he pitches well which isn't often), I dont get this. Baz who we gave up a load for hasn't been out of high 4era in his career, just hope he learns to use that high end arm he has. I just tired of hearing Elias lip service every yr about adding what we need to win and he doesn't address our #1 glaring need. You can put Rubinstein in that lip service deal too, how about not saying anything if your not gonna follow thru! Here's to hoping we add a GOOD tor guy and then this team will be ready to compete in our division and in playoffs! Go Birds 26!
The "Sugarman" in Colorado. I like him, but I knew that he wasn't coming back. My suggestion to Surgano, stay low and keep the baseball ⚾ in the ballpark. Also, you're closer to homebase in Japan. Here's hoping much success to you
I had nothing against Sugano. I liked him. He took the ball every 5th game, and he tried his very best, and my understanding is he tried to mentor young pitchers. It was just a bad signing, even in foresight. Sugano was 35, not the 27 year old who was lights out in the WBC. And the Korean League is about halfway between American AAA and the majors.
He was the (pitcher) MVP of his league prior to signing with the Orioles. Many scouts had concluded that it was a career year for him and his velocity was down.
The team also had a winning record in his starts
He wasn't terrible. But it was bad for him to be one of the major signings for a team expecting to contend.
I didn’t think Sugano had mlb stuff. I still don’t.
He didn't. He had a good array of pitches, and he tried his best. But no, especially at 35, he didn't.
Well, tried his best is kind of expected in pro sports outside the pro bowl and nba.
Man I would have liked to have Heim for that cheap. Of course no room at the inn.
Blue Jays outfielder Anthony Santander is scheduled for left labral surgery on Wednesday, according to multiple reports. He’s set to miss the next five to six months of action. Santander had a setback in January as he prepared for the upcoming campaign. Toronto hopes to get him back before the end of the season.
Sad.
I like Shane Baz. I like his upside and his talent. Do not try to sell him as a “major trade” though. He is not. He is a talented guy that could develop into something, much like Rogers. The Orioles, despite having developed exactly one star starting pitcher in the past 40+ years (Mussina), always seem to expect these guys to come here and excel. We need more. Also, speaking of Rogers, if he’s good again, we have exactly one season left with him on an affordable contract as of now.
Sign or trade for the last remaining pieces and lets win!
Doesn’t seem like it’s going to happen. He truly thinks Baz is gonna be a Bradish clone, Rogers won’t regress, and Eflin was the best free agent signing he could’ve hoped for.
They are all so affordable. Eflin is the highest paid of that group by far. Add more now, win while those guys are still affordable.
He’s definitely a major trade, though.
They should have removed all blocks with the new webpage roll out.
Eileen Gu defected to China in order to make tons of money. I am rooting against her and whatever her opinions are they have as much integrity as she does.
CCP
Not sure the Olympics justify usage of defecting
Same here and as someone who is Chinese/Taiwanese American, I am against what she stands for; this is treacherous behavior to America and even Chinese ethics.
Sounds like she stands for $$
I don’t love it but I get it if it made her a lot of money….good for her I guess
People unfortunately in that society over there only care about green(have firsthand experience 🥲)
sounds a lot like the USA to me.
It is but ten times worse 🥲
oofta. Well, Greed is one of the 7 deadly sins, after all.
I’m not going to say our rotation is just fine, but I do think that Shane Baz is going to impress us. I think he’ll have an ERA under 3.50 with over 175 innings and over 200 K’s. I also think Bradish will be very good, as will Trevor Rogers. I’d love to get one more guy to take Eflin’s spot (or Kremer’s).
I am concerned with the bullpen. I’d like to get another lefty in the mix (that is actually tough on lefties) and another RH setup guy. I don’t think we can count on Cano at all.
There is just no reason not to add a proven top of rotation guy while the others you named are still so affordable.
I get the argument that Bradish is better than any of the remaining FAs or even trade candidates. I don't understand how people don't get how the innings in the rotation are such a concern and how we have to stay away from getting to the death triangle of Povich , Young and (oh man) McDermott.
Bradish can be great. I hope he looks like Clemens this year. There is still no reason not to add another TOR guy while Bradish is still so affordable. It isn’t going to last forever.
The reason is because Povich is going to pitch 200 innings and be elite.
Funny, because there’s not even room for him in the rotation right now.
Povich will be paid about $820K for the 2026 season. It’s no reason. They are all so extremely affordable for mlb right now. Sign/ trade for someone more and win!
Povich will be fine. Young will probably be fine too. McDermott ain’t it.
DeLeon will be our top lefty starter by 2028 and Bateman will be our closer.
To be fair, none of the guys on the market were proven top of rotation at this point in their career. All four of the big names have/had major red flags – Valdez’s last two months & the cross-up, Gallen’s across-the-board regression, Cease’s inability to limit damage and get past the 5th, and Suarez’s back issues.
I think Valdez is in that category. Is the better than Bradish? probably not so I guess not a ToR.
But if he was starting game 2 of a WS I would feel like we had a fair chance vs the other team's #2
I only saw Framber as a major acquisition among the free agent starting pitchers this year. Trade for one or take one more chance on a bounce back from Gallen.
I want to get another lefty starter, and Jose Quintana is still out there. Sign Littell, Bassitt, or Gallen, but sign Quintana first.
Reese Olson undergoes season-ending shoulder surgery.
Probably explains Detroit signing Verlander, I’d say.
Come on Elias enough with the lip service(you too Rubinstein) and address our #1 need so we're not a 4th place team. You did a great job building this team and have lost all credibility last 2 yrs. Why make all these moves when you dont fix the main issue, and no Mike our bullpen isn't really good! I'm giving you another chance to show me you know what your doing! Please! Go Birds 26!
Elias all of a sudden just put on the brakes. Only he knows why
He planned to run the lights. Never intended to break.
Not saying I entirely trust Rubenstein, but it's interesting how he seems to mentioned spending in front of Elias.
It is odd. It’s odd that they would have not signed Valdez if there were “No financial Restrictions”
Either there are indeed some fairly tight restrictions or Elias just does not understand the assignment
Totally mind blowing we didn’t get an ACE.
Elias is a fool
I agree with the poster below though that said all 3 of the top guys had warts. Suarez and Cease both would have been big additions. Cease got a bigger contract than I would have expected Elias to giv – no blaming there.
Suarez we were supposedly right in on.
Valdez is the confusing one for me.
Remember this post when the O’s k 14,plus times versus these guys numerous times in 2026
There’s plenty to consider with Valdez. In Detroit he doesn’t have to lead the staff, and Detroit has a better shot at playoffs. Pretty simple.
doesn't really have to lead it here, just be right up in the top 3.
I don't put much into the character issue thing, maybe Elias did. he would certainly know more than I would about that. ML baseball is a small world.
We have an ace. There were no surefire aces on the market. You’re a fool.
He could surprise us all by re-allocating some of those funds to extend a few guys while it's affordable to do so. Unless we're going to follow the Tampa/Pittsburgh/Milwaukee model of trading stars before they become free agents.
he could, yes, but that would not help the team in 2026, at least you would not think it would
The #1 need was a proven bat.
I never went to Epstein’s island.
One of the few.
Smart man
Nice try, mr. [Redacted]. We're onto you.
Are there any pitchers there?
Elias is done with the pitching it sounds like.I hope we do not have injuries or we will be in trouble .
"Have faith in Cade Povich."
A TOR ACE would have certainly netted the O’s 92 wins. Too bad…..
Instead they’re at how many wins, in your mind?
85 if we’re lucky
That is a marked improvement over last year, even going into 2025, no?
There were no surefire TOR aces on the market.
This could turn into a truth. We're not there yet, but if we can continue his learning at AAA, that's probably both for him and the team. He could become our replacement for Rogers as soon as next season.
We’re not at the end. We’re not even at the beginning of the end. But we may be at the end of the beginning.
Thank you, Winston.
Winston was the man
Sadly mistaken about the rotation. An addition is absolutely necessary!
Gonna be tough for Sugar in that band box stadium. Ball flies there,over the fences. Pulling for him tho. Go Sugar Man
Colorado was one of the teams I expected Sugano could land with. San Diego, and the White Sox were also possibilities.
For $5.1M, that's a bargain price if he can put up similar numbers to last season.
Wow. Look at this snazzy site. Looks great. Really does. And Roch is looking snazzy too. With the new photo.
As for Elias, the guy just never changes. Now, I do respect his consistency. It's infuriating to me. It drives me nuts. But you know, this is who we are. This is who he is. I hope it all works out. I keep hoping for a pitching addition(s). Very frustrating. But I can't change things. (shrug)
It’s totally inexcusable. The goal was simple:
GET AN ACE
Well, yeah. I mean, he really screwed up the roster last year. And we were left with a lot of holes to fill. But yeah, number one was pitching. There isn't enough here. We need a real tor guy. There's bullpen problems. (shrug)
And he just keeps trotting out the same comments. I don't know what to say. He just is what he is.
What comments did you want him to say?
Action speak louder than words
That wasn’t the question.
Hope your actions are more intelligent than your words, then!
Most fans rant and vent. Professional language is like a foreign language to them.
I just don’t understand what fans want.
More more more. And super blunt language that would only cause problems.
Well, if FA guys came up, if that question came up, he could talk about his philosophy on acquiring pitching and why it ran up against what was a available and why it consequently didn't happen. Something. Essentially, why? That would be an intelligent answer. And he wouldn't even have to get into numbers and negotiations.
He could talk about "doing things my way"… here's how it wins championships.
There's a bunch of intelligent answers that he could provide. To actually tell us something. But he doesn't.
See, guys like him, and I'm old enough, with, unfortunately, experience with them. They think they sound intelligent. But what they're saying is always empty and meaningless.
He just is what he is.
I feel like he has said that if you read between the lines. I’m sorry, but GMs are never going to be as direct as you want them to be. This isn’t an Elias trait. They all talk like this.
Well, you asked what he could say. Something intelligent. And he could answer it without getting into nuts and bolts specifics.
But he cant even do that. So yeah, the guy is a waste of time.
What he has said hasn’t been intelligent?
Poker I just went through it. I gave you examples. I'm not going back and forth.
You're fine with things. That's your right. All good. I am not. There's nothing else to say.
And I told you that, if you can delve through the corporate speak, there are plenty of things he and other GMs have said.
You bring up your age. I’ll bring up my professional experience, given I’ve actually taken part in interview scrums like this. This is how they are. What you expect isn’t what happens in actuality. This isn’t an Elias-only thing. They all talk like this. All of them. And saying there’s nothing “intelligent” in what can actually be said, to me, seems off-putting.
Many folks are not super good at reading between the lines of regular professional language.
Like I said, I have nothing to add. What he says, for whatever reason, how everyone is, and reading tea leaves, and between the lines and all that stuff, is meaningless and a complete waste of time.
Regardless of "how people are" and all that… Common sense still applies. And it applies here.
Nothing else to add from me.
Like I said, I have nothing to add. What he says, for whatever reason, how everyone is, and reading tea leaves, and between the lines and all that stuff, is meaningless and a complete waste of time.
Regardless of "how people are" and all that… Common sense still applies. And it applies here.
Nothing else to add from me.
No, no. The goal was simple. Upgrade the team. The problem since ASB ‘24 has been the offense. It’s totally inexcusable to still be ignoring that and whining about an ace when literally every option on the market was severely flawed.
"Every option on the market was severely flawed" is a bit of an overstatement. You can say they had things you didn't like about them moving forward and that would be completely fair. To label them all as "severely flawed" brings to mind pitchers with broken arms, pending UCL surgeries or they're in a coma somewhere.
That was one goal, yes.
The more plausible goal was to come into this season with a better team than in 2025. I think that's been accomplished in the rotation and the regular lineup. I'm not convinced the bullpen is across the board better.
Even though this appears to be a stronger team, did we do enough to keep pace with Toronto, Boston and New York?
Nope. Needed that TOR ACE
Agreed re Roch's picture, it's a good one.
I must admit I skipped Elias' quotes entirely, they are meaningless to me.
It's the same old s__t with Elias. You failed Mike,admit lt. Man up for once
I am not even saying that, his quotes are just all verbal garbage to me, 100% corporate speak.
All GMs talk like this.
I think fans expect these interview scrums to be spicier than they actually are.
I don't really expect anything, they just don't interest me enough to read them.
He isn’t going to throw players under the bus. He isn’t going to slam anyone. He isn’t going to reveal any sort of tell that’ll possibly come up in negotiations later.
If being VP and GM doesn't work out for Mike. Politics would welcome him. Talk with saying anything. Mike for President!!!
haha
He’s a talker for sure
Exactly. Meaningless. Totally agree. Not sure why I read it.
Just in. Santander out 5-6 months for shoulder surgery. Anyone out there who still want him back?
That sucks for him. Hes had nothing but bad luck since leaving
Whoa! At least he got paid…
Elias dodged a bullet with Anthony.
There are some he didn’t dodge. But Burnes and Santander, yup.
Same old story. This rotation is iffy at best
Mountcastle or Mayo need to go in a trade for a starting pitcher.
Gallen
Bassitt
Littell
Giolito
Quintana
We can blame Elias for not signing a pitcher and he deserves the blame if we do not add another pitcher but there is fault in these pitchers also for not signing yet and being late to spring training
What are your 5 possible starting pitchers for a trade?
Bubic
Ryan
Lopez
Pivetta
Singer
Ryan 1st,then Lopez. Again Mike does nothing
does your guy Littell really have a fault?
That would depend on if he had any offers
His FIP numbers?
Not a Fippity Fap believer here. But yes that could be it for some GMs, certainly.
I like Gallen 1st, then Giolito. That being said. Mike gets neither one
Quintana
Still doomed, natch.
Decent meltage day here in central MD. 10 more like that in a row and this crud will be all gone 😉
And now that you've said that, "Mother Nature" is going to say "hold my beer".
well Apple weather has a bunch of mild days on tap, we shall see
Big day
Not going under 32 tonight
potential for 50 in the next 5-7 days. Sunny too.
I am all for more snow too, we are only about 1/2 through winter , but this stuff needs to be gone.
Agreed
It is a nuisance still
Quite The time for this confession:
*Norway's Sturla Holm Laegreid followed up his bronze medal in the biathlon at the Winter Olympics on Tuesday with a stunning confession that he had cheated on his girlfriend, before openly begging her for another chance.*
oh my….tell the whole world you cheated on her…great strategy I'm sure she loved that.
II'd say Its a clever strategy to tell her after your biggest accomplishment, but Olympic medal winners are shockingly easy to find in Norway, so..
You'd think Norwegians had a lot of experience with skis.
His GF would probably forgive him if he won the gold medal. Bronze? Hit the bricks, Sturla!
Yeah especially in Norway where everyone's got a medal
RIP King T Leatherbury 92 years old. Longtime Maryland Horse Trainer with 6,508 wins
92 is a good run.
Unless you are 92.
I've heard a lot of people say they didn't want to live to be 100. None of them were 99 when they said it.
I woukd sign up for 92
My uncle is over 100 and not happy about it,
Absolutely
I thought he passed away a few years ago…… he had some really excellent turf horses
Ben’s Cat , I ‘Am The Game,
Thirty Right Paces, Taking Risks, Catatonic and Malibu Moonshine. He also trained the Great Claimer Port Conway Lane who won 50 races .
It was Ben's Cat
I watched him live a few times, timpressive Turf Sprinter…. it's been a while
Bens’Cat was back in 2011-2013 running 5 Furlong Turf Races.
Dang
Made some $ with him and Kent Desormeaux back in the day
Yes, Roch looks great.
Why get another pitcher when instead you can have a ribbon of light in camden yards?
More like a ribbon of week old kielbasa that has been in the sun too long
Add one more to Lefty's Kielbasa Komment Kounter!
I knew you were going to spring into action!
Maybe, I could put you in charge of the Kielbasa Emergency Hotline!
is there also a reverend Cleophus counter?
Elias made the right decision with Santander after all
I'm sure to some its the worst decision ever because he wasn't replaced with Ohtani.
He did get a lot of money
It was the right decision before all of the injuries. I feel badly for the guy. Got paid and his team got to the World Series, but he had nothing to do with it and wasn't healthy enough to play.
When did Verlander sign with the Tigers?
Today
Well, that's kind of cool, I guess.
Seems like a pivot move given the Olson injury.
Yeah, that's how I found out about the Verlander move. About a thousand "oh that's why Verlander" tweets
Today they lost their 5th starter I think.
October 25, 2004
Alot of season ending injuries announced across the league today. Tomorrow we find out about our guys and Im a little worried. That Blaze move came very late.
FWIW, and this means nothing, but perusing through O’s social media, it looks like all the starters put in work today, so that’s good? Maybe?
All expected if position guys right?
They haven’t reported yet (at least, they aren’t required to, though I imagine some have showed up early).
We’ll see what tomorrow brings. If nothing else, there will be injury updates on Felix.
Alonso is there.
All expected if position guys right?
How many? I saw 1
Well if all our reg infielders were seen practicing today than I feel better.
well, let's check in with the New York Yankees fanbase:
Kinda like the 7 year old kids in Boston who have never witnessed a Patriots Super Bowl championship.
Forever hahahahahahahahahahahahahah and they wonder why other fans don't like them 🤦🏼♂️
Why are you checking in the Yankees Fanbase ? Let’s focus on the Orioles Fanbase where Pat and JoesO’s will soon be 50 years old and have never been to an Orioles World Series game.
Well I was checking my Twitter timeline but now I know of the orioles struggles
Hey, for Pat and I that's still at least a decade away.
Count me in there as well. I became a fan in 1987.
Hope we get there for the fans who have not experienced the Orioles in a WS. I was 11 yrs old for their first one in '66.
I was 5.
And after 50, didn't doesn't get any better.
Hey, not soon
Continuing this dry spell might be the only justification to have a team around like the overspending Dodgers.
Since 2000, there have been four different teams that led MLB in annual payroll:
Yankees (17)
Dodgers (7)
Boston (2)
Mets (2)
The last team other than those 4 to have the top MLB payroll, were the Orioles in 1998. We're very fortunate the Yankees haven't won more titles than they have.
Tragic.
Wow, more bad news for Anthony Santander. He's scheduled to undergo shoulder surgery tomorrow, and is expected to miss 5-6 months. The team hopes he'll be able to return before the end of the season.
Yeah, you never know with players. Three straight seasons of 152+ games for the Orioles and nothing but injuries with Toronto. It will take him at least 3 seasons to get to 150 games with Toronto.
He’s their O’nIL, only more so.
Both guys played 54 games last season, and we can only hope that O'Neill doesn't find a way to replicate Tony's bad luck this season.
Orioles dodged a bullet on that one!
Too bad for Tony.
“PECOTA puts the Yankees and Blue Jays on a pedestal above the other teams in the division, followed by the Orioles. Boston is projected to finish fourth, closer to the fifth-place Rays than the third-place O’s. FanGraphs, on the other hand, has the Yankees, Blue Jays, Red Sox and Orioles in a tight cluster. The playoff odds for all four range from 53.6% to 68.5%, with Boston in third at 58.5%.”
Orioles going to need a lot of things going right for them to get close to 90 wins.
After last season's woes, we're due for a lot to go right.
I think Boston’s rotation gives them a leg up in the division as it stand. Os and Yankees close behind. I think Toronto regresses a bunch this year. Tampa feels like a 90 loss team to me.
Boston has made a lot of changes, probably enough to be better than last year. It does seem like a 4-team race to start, although New York will be missing a few key starters to begin the season (Cole, Rodon, Schmidt). How soon or effective they are once they return, that'll quite possibly define the Yankees' season. Toronto on paper seems no worse than they were last season. Despite losing Bichette, who missed 20+ games but had solid numbers, their pitching staff probably got better.
Chris Sale
Pablo Lopez
Joe Ryan
Sandy Alcantara
Nick Lodolo
Kris Bubic
Clay Holmes
Ya know. Just a couple trade options.
All of those teams are trying to win now though.
Bubic makes the most sense with the Royals not expected to extend him and having what is a relatively full stable of starters without him. Even if they're in contention there's basically no shot they ride him into October when they would most certainly lose him in the offseason.
Bubic is someone I have been in on and would be cheap with his injury and it being his last year before free agency.
Bubic is someone I have been in on and would be cheap with his injury and it being his last year before free agency.
The Astros are a team I am surprised did not pick up a big bat. I know Alvarez and Pena missed some time, but that was not the same line up without Tucker and Bregman, and they had long stretches of offensive futility. I would think they would have at least picked up someone like E. Suarez. Heck, you could just DH him.
The news about Houston focused on their reported desire to remain below the luxury tax threshold. Last year they were about $20M under at the end of the season. This season their payroll is estimated to be around $243M, and I think the tax kicks in at around $244M, so a razor-thin margin. That's certainly gotta be one reason they didn't attempt to resign Valdez. That they were able to sign Imai (SP) for $18M/season, seemed like a bargain price, possibly too good to pass up. How good his first MLB season is remains to be seen.
There are a lot of teams with money constraints and uncertainty due to the RSN failures. I’m not sure if they are one of the teams but Crane could be budget leery and they have always seemed to operate on a smaller margin. Which puzzles in a city like Houston.
They've done well without breaking the payroll bank, although they're typically around the top-10 of payroll.
Probably Elias's fault from setting that organization back so many years due to being such a terrible exec.
Probably Elias's fault from setting that organization back so many years due to being such a terrible exec.
It's probably from leftover policies set by Elias when he was running the scouting department. Its an abysmal failure by that organization who resorted to beating on trash cans to win a World Series, probably because of Elias' failure of a model.
Twinning
The commentators for cross country skiing keep talking about all of these people like they are household names we should all know
Swven?
Swven?
Need 1 starter, 2 bullpen.
It is what it is at this point. I’d love to see BelAir’s rumor come true-Mayo and Povich for Pivetta and Estrada. Then just get another lefty RP and we can rock and roll.
How are you doing?
Who's Estrada? The guy from CHiPS?
His 2nd cousin on his mother's aunts side.
Tom that rumor was started by a poster here and San Diego would never do that deal.
Actually I posted that it was a suggestion on fancorp that I saw on facebook. My comment was not a rumor it was simply a statement that I thought that trade made sense to both teams. No need to twist things up. It would be nice to see it happen.
I thought it was another poster Here. However it won't happen because San Diego is trying to win. Facebook fan pages are a joke.
Thanks a lot. My trade ideas are better than that.
No mention of Mountcastle.
i’m sure Elias expected to trade him for pitching by now
Maybe, they’ve been trying to trade him for years to no avail
Well, then he should know the market isn’t great.
Well he also didn’t know that we were going to get Alonso, Mounty was insurance
I thought they might release him to relieve themselves of 75 percent of the contract. Think he comes north if not traded and Mayo acclimates to another position if not traded.
Very cumbersome to find new articles
Queue up Seven Mary Three on the jukebox.
Is anyone else having an issue with the comment section? When I get to this point it "freezes" but I have no problem scrolling through the article part
I've been having that problem for a couple of months.
Okay me too. Did you try updating the app or do you use it through the website?
Yes Some days are worse tha others. The more comments the more freezes. It came after a disqus update
Hey Julie, What browser are you using? I had this problem with Chrome and downloaded Edge to my phone and that fixed that.
I am using chrome on my phone. I have an xfinity phone service
Download Edge and try that. I only use it for this site
Saw where our old friend Tony Taters will be out “for several months” after having surgery to repair a torn labrum.
Man, we dodged not a bullet, but a cannonball by not signing him to a big contract.
ooff, Joe Dirt come get your boy
Sucks for Tony Taters. 2 years of missed baseball.
There is a dimension where NoNeil is in Toronto and Santa is back with us and both hit their usual 30 homers
OK Dr Strange.
And in that dimension, the Orioles would’ve won several World Series in the past 43 years, Mike Mussina would’ve played his entire career in Baltimore and challenged Palmer for the title of Greatest Pitcher in Orioles History.
And Burnes too. Mike genius
I don't understand the desire to view this news through this lens. Just sucks for a guy most people like.
Not taking any joy or pleasure from this, he’s a good guy and doesn’t deserve to lose two years of his prime.
Simply pointing out how much beyotching would be going on here if he had stayed in Baltimore. Would’ve made General Soreness look like one of the most beloved Orioles of all time in comparison.
In AAA
Sorry Mike, but you missing out on both Suarez and Valdez IS a disappointment. You can paint the brightest picture possible, but this is not a deep playoff run rotation.
Get a few projects see if you can rehab them and you have a August 3 trade deadline. You need 3 good starters for the playoffs
A disappointing strategy we used for the last 6 offseasons, too.
6 is including the tank years. 😫
Last off season was terrible this off season was good. We won 101 games in 2023 by scoring 807 runs. 2024 91 games scoring 786 runs and last year only 677 runs. With guys healthy and adding Ward and Alonso that will make a difference.
He probably is disappointed, but he can't actually say that.
The good news is that, as far as we know to this point, they are starting with a better and healthier rotation than last year, and one that is deeper since Young and Povich have more experience, with Wells and Suarez able to swing man.
Depends on Baz I think. If he pitches like Cease, well it worked out great.
People are really sleeping on Baz.
2023 Bradish is what we will see Baz produce
You squint, you can see a little bit of Bradish in Baz in terms of delivery. Very simple motions.
Exactly and for the bashing people give Baz, we have to remember Bradish had a 4 era in his rookie season also
2025 was Baz’s first full-time season as a starter. Half of his 2025 was spent pitching in a minor-league ballpark. He has fewer than 300 career innings pitched.
He’s young. He’s controllable. And he’s actually healthy. These are all good qualities.
2023 Bradish is what we will see Baz produce
There are just so many question marks with the rotation. There is not one starter where you can say, “That’s the guy I want starting Game 1 of a playoff series”. I know Bradish has the ability, but is he there yet? So many questions…
Sure, I don’t doubt it. They could use another guy, preferably top-end.
Even still, it is better than last year’s rotation, at least on paper. And while they didn’t land a top-flight starter (at least, so far right now), that doesn’t make this winter a failure. They did a lot, and I’m tired of people overlooking that.
Not a failure, but it is disappointing that Elias again could not upgrade the front of the O’s rotation.
From what I interpret, he actually did try to spend money on the rotation this winter. He was aggressive on Ranger, but it seems that Ranger wanted to go to Boston. Is that a failure in negotiation, or a player simply choosing another team? These players have wants, too.
I certainly get that. But when you go 0fer in multiple offseasons and trade deadlines without signing a true #1 SP, there is a problem.
Who did you consider a true No. 1 SP this winter? Cease, Valdez and Ranger?
I had Valdez as a true #1, but would have supported any of those three SP’s if Elias had signed them.
Understood. Ranger is what it is. I would’ve rolled the dice on Framber, but if this team vetted him (and Elias knows him better than most) and decided against it, I trust their judgment. Again, I would’ve gambled, but if they really think he’ll screw up the clubhouse chemistry, then I get it, I guess. Cease signed so quick I don’t really have an opinion on it. Maybe it caught them off-guard. Maybe he wanted Toronto all along, I don’t know.
Whatever the case, still no top arm. That prevents this winter from being an A+. But not getting that top arm doesn’t make it a D-, either. It’s a B. Is a B enough? Not sure. We’ll see.
Suarez and Valdez were just the most disappointing misses of the off-season for Elias. There were probably 8 to 12 pitchers he could have signed that would have truly added depth to the rotation. Watching one pitcher after another go off the board was ugly. So here we are near the end of the winter and not signing a legit veteran starter is a huge error. Also, not trading one of the 1b/DH for a bullpen arm or that infield depth Mike is so high on, was a mistake, too.
I personally think Suarez is going to be a massive bust and I'm glad he's with a division rival
I think he and Gray crater in this division and Boston is in fourth place
Their offense is going to stink, too
Their offense and that of the Rays are putrid but even the Rays have three legitimate hitters in Caminero and Aranda and Diaz.
I'm disappointed they didn't sign Cease, Valdez, or Suarez. I'm not convinced on the value of another backend guy.
Same. Cease signing so early maybe caught us off guard
Agree on Cease. That happened so early, I forgot about it…
I wanted either Suarez or Valdez, as I truly think we needed to add another frontline starter. But yes, what we absolutely need to have any fighting chance is at least a mid rotation starter to insulate this extremely fragile rotation with innings. How does Elias not see the high probability of injuries and that Povich and Young are horrible pitchers? How do you not sign one of those guys with so many available?
There is still a chance at redemption with Littell or Bassitt or Gallen but we are in spring training already
Giolitto is out there, too, correct? I like him and Gallen.
Giolito is also still available and would be a solid addition also
Giolito, at this point, it being late, would be ok I guess. There's no draft pick to give up and he at least pitched pretty well last year.
The whole thing is depressing.
I think we don't need these guys if Eflin is healthy. See how it looks in July
We could also get Quintana for cheap if we want additional depth. I am worried about Eflin.
Eflin is the one I am most concerned about, and I think that was a huge mistake. I think he will be delayed and also often injured all season.
The problem is I don't think that will happen.
George Soriano certainly has gotten around this winter. He has been traded to the Cards now.
The difference between this year and last:
Rogers, Bradish, and Wells were seen throwing BP on day 1 of ST.
Also Baz and Kremer.
No pic of Eflin on field, so I take it he was getting examined.
Why did it take so long to come out with the door camera video?
Very good question. Maybe they wanted to keep it close to their vests? Like they thought they might be able to solve it without that piece of info being public? Didn't want whoever did it to know they had the video?
Law enforcement doesn’t generally tip the public or perps in advance.
The real question is how were they able to collect video and pics from an unsubscribed service on an unconnected camera 10 days later? By unconnected I mean from the cloud.
Yeah that's what I'm kind of thinking too.
They specifically said days ago that they had no security footage. So I think it was probably one big diversion. Try to track down leads based on the footage while telling the press and in turn the suspect that they had no footage. When that was a dead end, I guess make it public and see if anyone knows anything
As I heard it Nancy Guthrie had a Google door camera device. With that system you can have a storage plan or just a notification plan with no storage. In other words if someone approaches the camera, you get a notification and can watch but there is no storage feature. The local authorities were informed that she did not have the storage plan, so nothing would be saved. When the FBI got involved they knew the system better. They knew that on the non storage pay plan there was still a small storage time. And any motion event happened exceeding the small period of time the new motion would record over the old movement video. So the FBI contacted Google to see if there was enough new movement recording that would have recorded over anything around the time of the abduction. Google checked their server for that particular door camera and found that there was still video that had not been recorded over.
It seems that the local authorities when being told Mrs Guthrie did not have the storage service just moved on. The FBI pursued it farther. Nothing spinster happening, just the FBI was more knowledgeable than the local law enforcement.
Just reading Roch for the day – I wonder how many heads exploded here after reading this post. Elias standing pat was something many folks called on here, but I really thought he was going to land a big fish.
OOF's head exploded so spectacularly that debris from the explosion traveled all the way from Ohio to Florida. Most of the country is covered in the debris field
When Elias named Young and Povich explicitly, I was suspicious he may actually read this blog.
But does he comment and what is his SoR name?
Fire Elias 😉
I strangely enough believe he is either Marc or Judy😂
He's definitely not Marc. Judy I can't vouch for.
I'm sorry, but just because Elias calls it depth, doesn't mean it's quality depth. This staff is currently built for the regular season. It's not a post season staff, but that can be fixed in July.
Kind of like from that movie Scanners
Ah, that's why it got warmer.
It seems likely we'll see a midseason trade for one of Alcantara, Ryan or Gallen.
Hey OG, well on the 105.7 radio show, one guy said it appears Mike can't close. As to say, close a deal on a top end pitcher.
That caller wasn’t me, but I have been saying that for years on here.
Corbin Burnes was traded here & had the gravitas to fly his own kite & roll with his own routine. I wonder if a FA (that would be expected to be a leader and presumably "buy in" to the pitching program) has reservations about doing that.
Yeah. Should have landed Valdez. Not losing sleep over any of these guys left at this late stage
If he strongly pursued Suarez, Valdez and 2 or 3 SP trades, but failed, he probably wouldn't highlight those in his opening Sarasota remarks. He's going to be like 31 other GMs, talking about good acquisitions and positive news.
Maybe they have some breakout candidates on the farm that are closer than previously expected. Whatever the roster is now, it's a lot more solid than what we began with in 2025, even before the wheels fell off.
I'll just hope it works out.
All we can do. At some point ownership has allowed him to compile the roster he wants and he now owns it.
He absolutely owns it, and if this season goes south, there are literally no excuses. The "bad luck" excuse was all used up from 2025.
Same.
FB we have a staff of aces, what's that called..I don't play cards, a full house ? Lol actually we have a lot of ifs in the rotation.
It’s what? 7? 8 years of Elias and zero playoff wins? What more could we want?
12. Or almost. 2014 was the last unless I’m mistaken.
Time flies when we are getting older.
“With” Elias as the capo
10/4
Greatest Front Office the Orioles have ever had
Good thing they have that extraordinary eye for detail regarding starting pitching
Just like Pat says, just need Baz to be a cy young contender. Easy peasy 😁👍
It's bizarre (and a bit humorous) that the only pitcher that Elias has drafted that has started a ML game, Nolan McLean, is on team USA and is a major part of the Mets rotation.
Elias drafted him in round 3 in 2022 & he didn't sign. Mets drafted him in the same round a year later & he was superb in 8 starts last year after his call up.
When we last won a postseason game, Verlander was in his first stint with Detroit and Gausman was in his second season
Os probably had Manny too. Good times
Before long we’ll have posters who are younger than the last Orioles playoff win
I think the idea that he & Sig had some baseball evaluation tools that gave them a competitive advantage has been proven to be more ruse than reality.
The proverbial "bill of goods."
I will change my prediction if we sign a remaining quality FA starter or trade for one as well as add to the BP, but if this is the team, on OD, my prediction is 79-80 wins:
* I think Baz will be the 4.25-4.50 starter he has always been.
* I think Eflin is a huge mistake. I am not saying he will be this bad, but I get a 2018 Tillman vibe there. He is coming back from major surgery, and if Elin is not 100%, we have seen the disastrous results. I have felt like this since the signing.
* Bradish is a stud, but going from 32 innings to 190sh (still less than Gallen's bad) year is unrealistic.
* Povich and Young get regular starts
* I think this taxes an already questionable bullpen as well as sketchy defense.
Again, if they sign another starter, I think that at least gives us a fighting chance, as we will at least get the innings insulation we desperately need.
The Tillman/Eflin comp makes a lot of sense until you take one look at them as individuals and realize they're completely different pitchers.
I can’t believe you have the patience to continue posting this type analysis. It’s just not worth it. If one of your myriad of predictions pans out, it’s just not the flex you think it is. We won’t remember
Oh but you can guarantee he'll remind us 🤣🤣🤣
Nobody care about your prediction except you!
The amazing thing is if the team crashes again in 2026 you will gas light those of us who are upset just like 2025. And make excuses.
Uh, the opinions stated here seem a bit on the negative side, but you be you. This is already way better than a .500 team. Virtually everything you opine on is worst case scenario. There is no upside unless you count Povich and Young getting regular starts. There is much to be positive for in 2026 as an Orioles fan.
Baz has pitched 286 MLB innings. His first full-time season was last year. What do you mean “he has always been?”
I am talking about the ERZ. I don't think he will be bad. I think he will be the mid to back end starter his numbers reflect. People think he will suddenly turn into Sandy Kofaux.
Do you ever get tired of hyperbole?
Dude sees the Moon every night and gets scared that it’s on a crash course with Earth.
I'm honestly convinced he's posting on other forums about how concerning it is that the days are getting longer.
I just don’t get it. The part that really perplexes (humors?) me is that he says a 4.00+ ERA is what Baz “has always been,” like he’s a 34-year-old with 1,000+ innings pitched in the majors already.
Just remember: same guy who was posting a few months ago about how Elias had zero impact on Houston's success during his time there, and that Dan Duquette would have brought in a top of the rotation by now if he was still our GM. But I keep responding to him, so I guess it's on me as well 🤣🤣🤣
If he's a middle of the rotation, or back end starter, that's fine. I don't think anybody's expecting him to turn into a HOFer.
His numbers last year reflected he was a sub-4.00 ERA pitcher. And that was in his first full-time season. And no one is asking him to be Koufax, nor does he have to be for that trade to be a success.
Baseball is hard and Adley is practicing being a helicopter for Halloween
Ha! I just saw a commercial for The Real Housewives of Rhode Island. They may be housewives, but there isn’t much that was real. Plus, “real” would’ve had their clothing designed by L.L. Bean… USA leading Canada, 5-0, 4mins to go
there isn’t much
We're going to know every pore on Rochs face by August.🤠
Well, I guess we’re all going to look silly in October after Young, Povich and McDermott cap off amazing “out of nowhere” seasons and lead the Orioles to a World Series victory, just like Mike Elias drew it up in his head this offseason.
And also with Mountcastle and Mayo as platoon 1B after Alonso gets suspended for 60 games for Adderall
No, our new 3B Coby Mayo, who wins AL ROY, and DH Ryan Mountcastle, who hits 35 HR’s and wins AL Comeback Player of the Year.
Oh, and don’t forget AL MVP Pete “Polar Bear” Alonzo, who hits 57 HR’s in his first year as an Oriole.
NoNeil will win that award instead of Mounty
Nah, General Soreness will spend most of this season on the IL with various ailments. After hitting a pinch hit HR in the ALCS in his final career AB, he retires and is named the new strength and conditioning coach for the Toronto Blue Jays.
Most definitely. Also, don't forget the OOF Award winner Cade Povich with 17 wins and a 4.76 ERA.
It ain’t pretty, but he gets it done. 😁
Actually, he’s going to turn into the second coming of Koufax, and have an amazing 6-7 year run where he wins several Cy Young’s and throws four no hitters, two of which are perfect games.
No, that was Davis.
Baz will win the cy young award this season
The Orioles rotation will sweep the Cy Young Award balloting. No other AL pitcher will get a single vote. Not even Skubal (who will be traded to the Dodgers at the deadline).
Mounty and Colton will homer against Skubal this season
If either any of Povich. Young, or McDermott become actual major league starting pitchers, I want to be told "I told you so" 1,000 times a day forever.
I did not need Nancy Guthrie coverage breaking over the Olympics
Has something significant happened?
They are questioning somebody
Thanks. They could ahve just scrolled that.
I dont think we needed more than 2 minutes of an update. Why are they still talking about it?
This is insane. Have had like 4-5 people say the same darn 4-5 sentences for 20 minutes.
What about Arlo or Woody?
Melewski on X. Not sure if this is real or a joke (probably real since I don't think Melewski just puts up fake stories): Elias says they didn't go all in on Valdez because they predict a big year from Povich and want to see him at the front end of the rotation. "We want Cade to reach 180-200 innings this year and be elite."
I like Povich and am still bullish on him but I find that overly optimistic.
LOL: It's a fake Melewski. Very subtle though. Good job.
You're all trying to give OOF a stroke.
No that cannot possibly be real
If true(which I doubt) that would be criminal with the payroll currently
Someone says it's a joke.
It’s a parody account.
Who woukd parody Melewski is my first question.
Probably his mom too
People have too much time on their hands. A job would help.
I am thinking Sean from NJ THEN
That could well be hype to increase Povich’’s trade value.
If Elias had said it, it would have been in the scrum write up.
That’s gotta be fake.
Has to be.
That would be the most idiotic reason for not pursuing a proven free agent starter, not that I’m going to put anything past Mikey.
He didn't mention that in his Substack email. I'm guessing it was a fake.
Fake site.
There is a guy that made an account to look like Steve. He or she does this occasionally to try to make Steve look the fool.
my gut feeling is we were very competitive with valdez. he signed to play for his old manager
I saw that, and while I truly believe Elias believes in Povich, that is a fake post. Wasn't there a fake Melewski account last year as well?
Who plays the most innings in CF for the Baltimore Orioles, Cowser, Bradfield, or Taveras?!
I’m going with Leody Taveras.
Cowser obviously .
I go with with Tavares at least for now. Cowser will lose playing time for bad defense and looking bamboozled versus LHP, change ups., sliders, and sweeper. We likely see Bradfield later in the season for his defense.
It will be Cowsers job.
Oh it's his to start with and lose, which I think he loses fast.
To lose.
which he will
If healthy, Cowser.
Cowser
Unless he keeps k’ing at 35 percent.
I know there are ifs in the O’s rotation regarding health. I get it, but are we giving, say, the Yankees the same treatment? Half of their rotation is coming back from injury too, no?
We could still sign Durga, Vishnu, or Shiva. That's like 16 to 18 arms right there.
Now that's funny.
Projected 2026 Orioles Starting Rotation – Pitcher 2025 Innings Pitched
The 150+ IP Club:
Dean Kremer 171.2 IP
Shane Baz 165.0 IP
The 100+ IP Club:
Trevor Rogers 109.2 IP
The 50+ IP Club:
Zach Eflin 71.1 IP
The 30+ IP Club:
Kyle Bradish 32.0 IP
Tyler Wells 21.2 IP
Last 2 years IP combined:
The 300+ IP Club:
Dean Kremer 301.1 IP
The 200+ IP Club:
Shane Baz 245.2 IP
Zach Eflin 236.2 IP
Trevor Rogers 233.3 IP
The 50+ IP Club:
Kyle Bradish 71.1 IP
The 30+ IP Club:
Tyler Wells 36.3
Last 3 years IP
Dean Kremer 474
Zach Eflin 414
Trevor Rogers 251.3
Shane Baz 245.2
Kyle Bradish 239.3
For comparison to a legend, but for comparison, In 1999 Randy Johnson threw 271.2 IP haha – in one year.
260 IP in 2002, 248.2 IP in 2000, 249.2 IP in 2001, 255.1 IP in 1993, 244.1 in 1998, 245.2 IP in 2004, 225.2 IP as a 41 year old in 2005. What a beast.
Love your stuff as always. Did you add in minor league numbers? Because that counts also.
Just the big leagues this time. No Spring Training #'s either. But I think big leagues alone are fine. I get what you mean though. Feels a little skimpy innings wise.
It's Kind of substantial like with Rogers he threw 142 innings last year or something like that.
Love your stuff as always. Did you add in minor league numbers? Because that counts also.
This seems like a shortsighted decision by NBC… I feel for savannah Guthrie but this update isnt a critical update, nor is it impacting the life of anyone us… this doesnt seem to meet a threshold that would demand interrupting the olympics
preposterous. The "event of the night"
What Olympic event are you watching ?
Sadly, that is the world we live in now. It’s about being first to blab something out on TV or the Internet just to blab. Substance takes a distant second place.
Its because its savannah Guthrie, I get that. They could have given tha update in 30 seconds… or run it as a Chyron, theres an amount of privilege otherwise unless police specifically asked for a 20 minute something for some reason
How come when the average Joe gets abducted, it doesn't make the news. Or Augusta or Valdosta?🤣
What was the breaking news? Did they find her?
No They are questioning somebody.
thanks
What was the breaking news? Did they find her?
Why don’t you just watch the events on Peacock and you can watch the whole things straight through.
Disqus is still in the building….I believe that the techs will resolve the kinks before opening day.
Shot put is knocking on the door!
Not Capable of winning the division without 1 more starter and 2 relievers. Mountcastle needs to be moved. Should have been non-tendered. Nobody wants a 1B who hit just 7 HR in 335 AB!
At this point, let’s hope our squad gets to opening day healthy and stays that way. Barring a late trade involving Mounty for a reliever, I believe the O’s go north with the players they currently have on the roster.
Silver hair needs to be fired if that happens. How can an Ivy league be so naive? Oh, wait, Beattie and Bush were Ivy, too!😂
I'm sure Mike will add another piece of scrap metal to the BP 😉 Maybe someday we'll have 8 guys claimed off waivers living happily there.
To be that guy, didn’t the entire 2023 bullpen come off the scrap heap? This FO has done a good job at finding diamonds in the rough there. Even last year.
Not saying the bullpen will be elite by any stretch, but maybe we should pump the brakes juuuuuust a bit there before going in full panic mode.
Bautista was here when Elias took over. he really has not had any other dominant pieces, that i can think of. Cano for a few months before Hyder dry humped him out I guess.
Maybe Ser for a few months last year…
Lopez, whom he traded when the time was right to get Cano. And, sorry, regardless of what Hyde did or didn’t do, Elias should still get credit for that.
Perez was good in 2023.
Coulombe was good in 2023, and he was picked up basically right at the end of ST that season, if a recall.
Fast forward to last year, Garcia showed promise.
A bunch of people freaked out when Strowd was traded for Blaze.
This FO has found guys. Cmon.
And Dad Bod
Bullpen is such a volatile position. Maybe it’s a weakness. I don’t know. But even still, it’s not like they didn’t address it at all. They brought back Kittredge and signed Helsley. That’s two guys right there. Depending on any more SP additions (and even then it might not matter), they might’ve added a third with Wells moving there permanently, too.
Tyler Wells is likely to be workong put of the pen and he has been very good back there.
Yeah, it’s the best role suited for him, IMO.
guys yes. Studs no. None of those guys you mentioned aside from Bautista would have been a top teir RP in a playoff BP.
Elias is a great GM for what he was hired to do – make a team with a bottom 5 payroll competitive. I'm sure the Marlins would be very excited to have him whoever he becomes free.
So a RP has to be top-10 in the position for it to be considered a good move by the FO?
of course not, never said he did not make any good moves. But we are 8 years in and he's found one truly excellent RP. That's not good. And it fits with the general disdain for pitching from this FO.
and that guy was not found by him. He did help develop him, or his coaches / trainers did.
I just take back the notion that, because he’s only found one “truly excellent” RP – that should be a knock. It’s totally arbitrary and takes away the notion of having actual good DEPTH. Which they absolutely had in 2023 and have stuck with the formula to find more guys after.
I just disagree with the way you’re framing it. Personally, you’re doing it in a way to discount them more than they deserve.
I think we can just sum this up with you like Elias (and Sig)more than I do. I wanted them fired, still wish they were. My expectations are low for this team while he is running it. This year, if they don't sell at the deadline I will consider that a win. Anything more than that is gravy.
The reason I like them is because they actually, to me, learned from last year and actually tried to do something about it this winter, which I think people are severely diminishing.
Alonso was of course a great move. Baz is potentially a great move. Unfortunately Grayson is potentially an even worse move.
Eflin is a nothing burger for me.
Ward is a solid, good player but he's not really what i would call a difference maker. I think it's very possible that Beavers or even Mayo would provide more WAR over a full season in the OF than Ward does.
Grayson, the guy who hasn’t pitched since August of 2024 and supposedly wasn’t listening to the FO while yapping it up on Foul Territory once every two week?
Baz pitches one full, but bad year and that leapfrogs him ahead of Grayson? They were pretty much equals as MLB prospects. Grayson has better MLB stats.
Baz pitches one full year where half the time it was in a minor-league park?
That is part of the reason I like his upside. It has been pointed out that multiple other pitchers did not struggle there though.
maybe Baz is a fly ball guy. Good luck with our OF….
I just take back the notion that, because he’s only found one “truly excellent” RP – that should be a knock. It’s totally arbitrary and takes away the notion of having actual good DEPTH. Which they absolutely had in 2023 and have stuck with the formula to find more guys after.
I just disagree with the way you’re framing it. Personally, you’re doing it in a way to discount them more than they deserve.
Webb was another great addition
Yep.
Like, I’m not doubting that Elias has flaws. For the umpteenth time, if anyone was here last winter, then you know how up in arms I was about Elias.
But even still, I feel like I’m taking crazy pills. He’s done good stuff, and even if he hasn’t gotten a top arm, he did fulfill a bunch of other needs this team had to get this winter.
We did overpay from a position we were already short on for Blaze Alexander. It will likely turn out to be either a bad or nothing trade.
Or maybe they dumped Strowd because what he did was fool’s gold, so they sold high while they could.
Like, I know we are Orioles fans and we are supposed to assume the worst on literally everything, but why not possibly see it differently here?
I try not to see it negatively but we gave up young controllable pitching who had offered a glimpse of mlb success for a utility infielder. If Westburg can stay healthy, it looks like an overpay to me. There were still fine utility infielders, who are not starters mind you, available in free agency too.
Every team needs a utility player to back up the starters in case they’re hurt, need rest or get subbed out in the late innings. A bunch of people were ragging on Elias for not getting one sooner.
And who was available in free agency? All I can think of was Castro, who was already off the board when the team traded for Blaze.
Ramon Urias
Urias could only play third.
I don’t want to jinx anyone but what orioles starting infielder has never played >107 games in a season?
Or maybe they dumped Strowd because what he did was fool’s gold, so they sold high while they could.
Like, I know we are Orioles fans and we are supposed to assume the worst on literally everything, but why not possibly see it differently here?
The O’s waiver claim machine will continue to chug along to refresh the #11-13 bullpen pitchers, but I don’t see any impact players added.
I'm not sure we have a single "impact" RP on our team.
Kittridge is pretty good.
he is indeed. But for a playoff BP he is like a 5th or 6th inning guy.
No, Kittridge can handle the 7th, 8th sometimes. The 5th and 6th should still be the starter most games.
I kind of got that feeling from this article…still though…if this article is accurate…was Elias really ever in on Valldez
I feel strongly about Gallen…or if it not Gallen…a pitcher that closely relates to a Mike Boddicker type
I still don’t. I still believe one of Mountcastle or Mayo has to go, even if it’s just Mayo to Norfolk. I also believe the orioles will obtain another starting pitcher of some name recognition to SOR and they (had better) add another good reliever and a lefty (maybe one and the same, or maybe 2 different pitchers).
I predict they will send Mayo to AAA to “work on his corner outfield defense”.
Just watched all the rounds of the cross country sprint. Congrats on Ben Ogden winning silver and first cross country medal for the US since 1976. Klaebo is a machine and won another gold for Norway,
Toronto may bring Bassitt back or sign Quintana with Bieber not starting the season on time and Francis out for the season
What Happens if you're colorblind with this red blue gate thing in skiing
that's why they are not red green
Ooh good point
You lose in humiliating fashion
Studs and ships!
Boats n hoes!
Jeez is saw coverage that made it sound like Shiffrin choked. Did not look like it to me, they finished 4th…she was a tad slow but I was thinking she crashed out when I read those headlines.
O’s social media has posted photos/video all day of pitchers/catchers working out. FWIW (not that this means anything), but it looks like all of the starters save for Eflin (didn’t see a photo of him) have done a bullpen/long toss of some sort. So, health-wise, that seems promising?
fix the damn scrolling
They are probably a few weeks away from getting the new site and Disque on the same page.
was happening on old site too
Curling looks like dumbest sport. Can I even call it that?
Car racing is considered a sport by some.
Yeah, that’s dumb too.
you don't like it because smaller folk excel at it lol
car racing is more athletic. Those are real endurance events
I dare anyone to hop in a car and run it all the way up to 180+ mph. Next to 35 other cars doing 180+ mph. And doing that for two+ hours.
I dare anyone to put their name as the preparer on an income tax return filed by some of these billionaires who write off everything. It’s hard and dangerous, doesn’t make it a sport.
You should read up on what is actually going on in the car during a race. Look at the heart rates, calories burned, etc.
Same calories burned by being in a sauna two hours.
Sounds an awful lot like an IRS audit when you know you may be found to be wrong, doesn’t it?
They literally have places amatuers pay to do it for fun.
You’re thinking of Go-karts and such. That’s a different area entirely. They don’t go 180+.
right. Certainly a lot mental but you have to constantly move your body, flex your core etc. I'm guessing it's a pretty serious core workout at that level for 2 hours long.
Look at all of the drivers. Their builds.
there is a reason top F1 drivers make more than even the top MLB players
Meaningless
Don’t like 50 year old smokers do that?
I’ve done it with 2 other cars on the track and that was enough for me. The G forces are insane.
IIf they Let me play my Spotify id do it
And golf!
I was not very interested. Just seems like a really low level of true physical athleticism compared to other olympic sports. I guess the angles work the brain if you want to count hat.
I would love to see you chasing a rock down the ice
Looks like a sport for non-athletes.
absolutely
I dare any of you to go curling for the first time for a couple of hours. Let me know how your body feels at that point. 🙂
They sweep pretty hard and maneuver around the stones on the ice effortlessly
I mean what about log splitting, I am guessing that makes one as sore or close. We putting that in the olympics?
The Stihl Timbersports competitions are fantastic! MASN should carry them.
Not saying they are not. I mean corn hole is awesome too. But at some point do you pick what is in the olympics vs what is not. I mean these curlers are not even wearing ice skates.
Running a chainsaw for any length of time is a workout, legs to a degree, big time on core and arms.
I meant with an axe, to be clear
I’ve gone curling. It’s not as easy as it looks for sure.
So does luge
And bobsledding
It’s more of a game
Yeah, you'd be huffing and puffing if you tried to sweep like they do.
Yes, I've never done an athletic venture in my life. I am sure I'd be doubled over from the exertion.
Some of those guys look like they’re in great shape, and they still look gassed after an intense sweeping session.
Careless whispers from the bathroom stall!🤣🤣🤣
is once every four years too much for you ?
I wish they’d come clean my house..
Nothing is even being curled.
Curling certainly takes more skill than turning left
Especially if the stone is going 200 mph
I mean, I can see the skill in driving extremely fast for a very long time in a race. I just don’t consider it a sport.
Any one of us could jump in a car right now, press the accelerator and turn left. Not one of us could push the rock and have it stop in the circle.
No you couldn’t.
You mean I may have to break once in a while. Oh my gosh!
You’re trolling/baiting, not that I expect anything less from someone who goes to the dry cleaner once a week to clean that goofy orange suit.
You really have to work on your insults
Work on getting a bigger suit. Last I saw, those buttons were ready to pop at the seams.
You’re trolling/baiting, not that I expect anything less from someone who goes to the dry cleaner once a week to clean that goofy orange suit.
That would be brake, Mr. Hoover.
Inches from cars on either side of you going at a higher speed than you’ve ever gone in your life. Yeah, you got this
I mean you can do 180 mph in a motorcycle easy enough. Did 150 on a Ducati sport bike and it felt like I was standing still
That’s a straight line. Throw some corners, hard acceleration and braking in, then we’ll talk. I was never into fast on asphalt but dirt bike racing is rather grueling. Takes tremendous skill and timing
I use to a ride a duel purpose 250cc bike. Loads of fun. I am not into racing though. Doing things like riding under electrical lines is fun
I raced for 20 years. Made a few bucks, but never enough to eat or be the guy on TV. It’s extremely difficult to do. Mentally, physically. All around. If you are in front, you know it and hear bikes behind you, that alone cuts into your conditioning. Forearms and grip go away causing you to slow down. Get a bad start and it seems the race is over too quickly to get your passes made.
Yeah I am sure that is tough on your body. I could never do that I wouldn’t have the nerve. I had a buddy who did road racing with motorcycles. He wanted me to race too. Knew I couldn’t do it well enough to do it safely
Safety is big. Talking about injuring others let alone yourself.
I am sure with practice we could. None of us are ever making it down the downhill skiing course at the Olympics.
I am about 99% sure the average human could be more competitive at Curling than Race Car driving.
A lot of race car driving is getting a car and team to race. Sort of a who you know sport
well…that is true. Still think it is multiple factors more difficult. the pay in the 2 sports backs that assertion up.
I don’t think pay has much to do with how athletic a sport is. Golfers and baseball players make a lot of money . More than cross country skiers or mt bikers
guess it depends on what your definition of athletic is. hand eye coordination , the ability o hit a 100 MPH fastball could be called athletic by some (I think it is). many times more challenging than just running or skiing or biking for a long time. But that is just my opinion.
Anyone can play baseball . Even poor hitting pitchers got hits. There obese players ,
Pay has nothing to do with difficulty. It has to do with how many people pay to watch the sport and the endorsement deals they can get. In a sport like baseball where you can get 40,000 people to watch you play and tens of thousand more on TV you can get more money than a doctor that can only treat one person at a time.
There is an unlimited pool of people who can play baseball or race cars .
It’s not really a sport, it’s car racing
That’s what I’m saying.
More to it than that, but A) it’s late and B) whatever makes for an overused meme I guess.
It is. But I digress.
I just learned something new
Disqus was found in 2007…by 2 UC Davis students
Not sure if I will send them a Christmas Card in 2026
Reddit was founded by a guy from Suburban and my high school.
Instead of moving Coby Mayo around the diamond and lessening his value, just trade him. We have Alonso signed through 2030. We will find a new 1B by then. It’s time to move on. Get something of value for Mayo while he’s young and at peak value.
My guess is that 1) they hope to be in contention at the deadline and 2) they will trade him then. If 1 does not happen…ugh hope he is an OF for next year.
That statement by Elias cannot be true? Counting on Povich? He can't be serious!
At least you have to run a little to get that going.
And then ride down a track that the sled would go down without anyone in it
"26 Comments"…hmm, I'm seeing a few more than that…
Rogers: News: Veteran Jose Quintana is in agreement with the Colorado Rockies, sources tell ESPN. The 37 year old is back for his 15th big league season. The deal is pending a physical.
ahh well. Would have been a solid small addition, LH and all. I kind of still would like to add Littell or Bassitt but at this point the hour is getting late.
Ed from Mt. Olive's guy signs elsewhere
Retirement home in Colorado with Sugano and Quintana
Sounds delightful.
CCudda Been another option
I'll have more to report later. Stay tuned.
Will you be pitching for the Rockies as well?
He is our new addition to the pen!
He is our new addition to the pen!
Hey Roch, your there, who have you seen out there practicing? Have you seen any of our position players? Maybe that will be a part of his tomorrow post.
Comments are closed for this morning’s article. Not a bad idea while the new site is being worked on. Too much complaining.
Might as well post here, if you can’t post there.
Tweet from Travis Sawchick:
Zack Littell is pretty interesting.
He doesn't walk people. Since the start of last season, he's tied with Tarik Skubal for the lowest walk rate (4.5%) among qualified pitchers.
And the righty does something else incredibly well that might be under appreciated: He generates swings. When he made the leap in 2023 from reliever to starter, Littell changed his arsenal. He increased his splitter usage and added a two-seamer to give him three types of fastballs he threw regularly — an arsenal that increased his zone percentage. As a result, he generated an incredible amount of swings.
His swing rate of 51.4% in 2025 was tied for the sixth-best mark among pitchers who reached at least 150 innings. The only arms ranked above him? Skubal, Bryan Woo, Jacob deGrom, Garrett Crochet and Kevin Gausman. That's an elite list.
Doesn’t he also give-up a lot of homeruns?
Consequence of being an extreme strike thrower but he had a 3.63 ERA in 2024 and 3.58 ERA last season with the Rays and worked with Albernaz who was his coach with the Giants!
With the O’s average defensive outfield, could be playing with fire…?
I was trying to talk myself into him the other day.
Lets See if Elias is asked the real question by any of the reporters. Like Harbaugh do you feel an urgency to win the BIG game with the talent the lineup has had over the last few years. Do you feel your job is on the line?