Inching closer to workouts and some answers
-
-
February 10, 2026 4:00 am
-
1202 Comments
SARASOTA, Fla. – In typical fashion at the Orioles’ spring training home since 2010, players are arriving in camp earlier than the staggered report dates rather than waiting until the last possible minute. They could be seen yesterday in the weight room, and a few of them took batting practice inside the new 15,970 square foot cage area. They tested the turf fields and explored the lounge.
Pitchers and catchers who aren’t participating in the World Baseball Classic are due at the complex today, with Major League Baseball adjusting the schedule.
The Orioles are set at catcher. It’s the pitching that remains questionable.
The 40-man roster is down to 39 players. Who’s gonna fill it out?
The 26-man roster feels heavier than allowed, like a checked bag at the airport. I don’t know how many different ways I can say it. There are 14-15 position players and the Orioles need to get down to 13. Utility infielder Blaze Alexander is a complication with a plus arm.
The total rises to 15 if you include Jeremiah Jackson, who has options. So does Coby Mayo, who has the higher ceiling. Outfielder Leody Taveras is out of options and he signed a $2 million contract. He’s also the most reliable defender in center.
I don’t see Taveras excluded on Opening Day, but I also didn’t see Alexander on this team until last week.
Last bench spots can create interesting storylines and this camp is no exception. The Orioles could go the easier route and option Mayo and Jackson, giving them nice depth at Triple-A, if injuries don’t create openings.
Ah, injuries. There’s always one or two surprises. Stay tuned.
I haven’t mentioned outfielder Heston Kjerstad because of his unfortunate 2025 season, which included a summer shutdown for reasons that weren’t fully explained. He’s going to be an intriguing camp character, but I’ve got him as a long shot to make the club.
Nothing wrong with beating down the door in Triple-A. He may not have a choice.
The Orioles aren’t carrying a third catcher. They don’t have room. It would be nice with Adley Rutschman and Samuel Basallo in the same lineups, but there are too many obstacles.
President of baseball operations/general manager Mike Elias isn’t forced to make a decision on this excess right away. He can hold onto Mayo and Ryan Mountcastle, for example, and see whether an injury in his camp or somewhere else might influence it.
You may recall that Elias went aggressively after a bat and didn’t care about the position. He’d make it work. Could have been Kyle Schwarber hunkered down at designated hitter. Could have been an outfielder. It was Pete Alonso at first base.
No worries then or now.
The rotation seems a little light but I don’t think it’s a detriment to making the playoffs. I understand that it’s always uncomfortable having to count on so many things breaking right. An ace like Framber Valdez or Ranger Suárez obviously lessens the risks. My sense is that the Orioles came closer with Suárez, but we don’t have exact figures and may never get them.
The composition of the rotation and what the Orioles do with the bench will dominate our attention – the former especially if Elias brings in another starter as expected, the latter especially because Mayo seemed like a good bet to make the club after his improvements in September, but offseason moves worked against him.
Unlike some colleagues, I’m sticking with Albert Suárez as one of my eight relievers. I know he signed a minor league contract and can be reassigned in camp, but I don’t believe that the Orioles brought him back to pitch in Triple-A. Of course, he’s got to win a job, but I think he does if healthy.
That’s an all-purpose bullpen arm and spot starter if needed. Tyler Wells, assuming he isn’t in the rotation, could be most useful in high-leverage late relief.
Kade Strowd was traded. Rico Garcia and Colin Selby are out of options. If I’m keeping Suárez, that could leave the last spot for Garcia, Selby, Grant Wolfram, Yaramil Hiraldo, José Espada, Chayce McDermott, Anthony Nunez and Cameron Foster. And we’d have to consider the possibility of Cade Povich or Brandon Young becoming relievers, though my guess is they’d continue their development in Triple-A. Just a guess.
I’m also assuming that Yennier Cano makes the club, but he has options and a lot to prove.
Ryan Helsley, Andrew Kittredge, Keegan Akin and Dietrich Enns are locks, and Elias might make another move for a reliever.
So much can change between now and Opening Day. The next step is getting everyone in camp.
1202 Comments
1,202 responses to “Inching closer to workouts and some answers”
Related Articles
Orioles agree to terms with right-handed pitcher Shane Baz on a five-year contract extension
Deal begins this season The Orioles today announced that they have agreed to terms with right-handed pitcher SHANE BAZ on…
Read More
Orioles finalizing five-year, $68 million extension with Shane Baz (deal official)
Shane Baz hasn’t made an official start for the Orioles. His first appearance in a regular season game…
Read More
MASN+ commonly asked questions
It’s been a month since we launched our new and improved website and app experiences. In that short…
Read More
Finding the thread this morning was easy, via "Orioles news" and then it was the top entry. I think we're all going to need a bit of time getting used to things here.
I resolve the bullpen differently. Absent injuries that always can upset the roster jenga apple cart, I do not see Akin coming north with the rest of the guys, which creates room for one of the out-of-options guys. Why Akin? He took the team to salary arbitration over a relatively paltry dollars difference. O's history, and MLB history both suggest, that the process leaves enough bad blood for one party or other other to seek and/or welcome a change in scenery.
I agree that Suarez likely sticks unless he has a bad spring. Wells provides great insurance for Eflin not yet being ready, or some other injury cropping up. The rotation will be okay, especially with Povich and McDermott and Young at AAA and ostensibly ready if needed.
As I said a week or two ago, "print 'em."
If you're on a PC and you bookmark the page masnsports (dot) com/blog/categories/orioles/ you should find it every day.
If Eflin's ready for opening day and we don't add a starter: Bradish, Rogers, Eflin, Baz, Kremer in the rotation, with Ryan Helsley, Andrew Kittredge, Tyler Wells, Keegan Akin, Albert Suarez, Dietrich Enns, and Anthony Nunez, or Rico Garcia in the pen.
I prefer the version where we add a starter in the #2-3 slot, a starter gets pushed to the pen, and we acquire another lefty reliever. That would push Nunez and Garcia off the island.
But who should the new starter be, and which starter would be pushed to the bullpen? As Buck used to say, these things have a way of working themselves out (or something like that).
Is there a video tour posted anywhere of the new complex?
I'm sure they'll make it, and I'd love to see it. Maybe make it an All Access feature?
Is it really a problem to make the newest post the first headline on the main page? You gotta know the perfect combination of areas to click to even find anything.
The new website isn’t even 24hrs old. Of course there will be bugs to work out — just like Spring Training.
It would make sense to have the latest post listed first – the easiest to find. Seems logical, like putting gas in your car before you run out of gas. Like putting your underwear on before you put on your pants. Like putting socks on before putting on your shoes. Oh well.
Are you team Archie or team Meathead ?
sock, sock, shoe, shoe or
sock, shoe, sock, shoe
There is a 97.4% chance that our older posters won’t be able to navigate this for about 2 weeks
Suck what?
Wrong. It looks to me like us older guys have figured it out first.
Art, aren’t you like 50 years old? Not exactly a spring chicken yourself.
5 w's is art?
Yeah, not exactly a big secret.
I didn't know.
His five Ws are Whoa, Winnebago, Whirlpool, WYSIWYG, and WTF.
Weak, Whiner, Wuss, Wrong and
??
Fill in the last W
I was one of the first to find the sports complex post yesterday.
But you're a young pup, Rusty.
Older than Catherine O’Hara who passed away recently from a pulmonary embolism. I was in hospital at the beginning of this past October being treated for a pulmonary embolism.
Hang on, Sloopy — we need you here!
Another song reference; good job OCJ!
"You talkin' to me!!!!!!!!! 😮
IDK, seems the usual old fogies are here this morning. Now finding the site on my phone last night was tough..
44-days until Opening Day!
It's pretty annoying trying to navigate this new site. We don't really need 18 ads to buy masn before you can access the articles haha. Pretty wild. No worries, guess it's spring training for them too with the Nats finally being out the door. Glad they are gone.
New design is absolutely terrible. There, I said it.
Obviously, Elias is waiting for the navigation glitches on the new site to be worked out before he announces our new pitching acquisitions. Stay tuned!
I use an iPhone 16 Pro to access this forum, sometimes a computer at school. Finding this morning’s article was easy-breezy! I simply scrolled the list of articles at the bottom of Roch’s last article, and about 2-3 scrolls into the list — voila! — there’s the new article. This has happened before under the old website design, and it was soon corrected. It’s not a big deal, the newly designed site isn’t even 24hrs old…,Quityourbitchen! I’m pretty sure this falls under the “first world problems” category.
As I posted about an hour ago, "If you're on a PC and you bookmark the page masnsports (dot) com/blog/categories/orioles/ you should find it every day."
Bookmarking the page is key.
Stefon Diggs and Cardi B spent 1.5 million on a superbowl after party, but they broke up mid superbowl. Apparently Cardi was mad that one of Diggs other baby mamas got better seats than she did for the game.
Neither attended the party. lol
Be fruitful and multiply.
He took that to heart. I think he impregnated 3 different women in 2025
If three are reported, there's probably more. Looks like his idol is AP.
I read Anthony Edwards has a babys moma too. These guys don't know what a cond*m is ?
That was just on Tuesday.
So romantic.
I'm glad the .gifs are gone, but I think emojis would be helpful in communicating the tone of our comments. What do you think?
Emojis are working. 🤪😄☺️😊🤭
What do you mean? 😁
I've asked before WTH are .gifs; clueless here!
Short video clips with "witty" phrases superimposed on them.
Thanks, but don’t remember even seeing those! Been on here since 2010 (I think).
After the last two site upgrades they could be posted for about half a day before they were blocked.
Probably missed it, thanks
Rutschman
Basallo
Alonso
Mountcastle
Holliday
Westburg
Gunnar
Ward
Cowser
O’Neill
Beavers
Taveras
Alexander
If today was OD, this is what I’d go with, for position players. We’ll see what happens over the next 44-days.
I'd prefer Mayo and J. Jackson to Mt Castle and O'Neill, but there's plenty of time for trades and injuries. We'll see.
I don’t think O’Neill is going anywhere…
Different strokes. Just my preference, whether it happens or not. I do expect he'll go to the IL again, several times. It's just a matter of when.
I hope not. I’m really hoping the 2024 O’Neill is what we get, that’s what we signed him for.
That would be great, but the 2022, 2023, and 2025 O'Neill are just as likely,
T.O. is a physical specimen, but I don’t think his conditioning is conducive to baseball. At least it hasn’t been.
We don't know what the problem is, we just know he has a hard time making it to the field. For all we know, he could have some strange condition that his weight room routine keeps in check. It's all conjecture.
The problem is T.O. has had a hard time staying healthy, and we also know there isn’t another major-leaguer with the physique T.O. has. Baseball players usually don’t go for the Charles Atlas physique… I do think with Beavers also playing RF, and games as the DH, O’Neill can stay healthy, and hopefully be the 2024 version of himself.
The IL isn't a physical place, but he should be there soon enough.
Most think he is going to the DL!
Hold the Mayo ?
Yeah, he can be optioned. Until that 1B-logjam is sorted out, sorry Coby.
That is what I had when they acquired Blaze. Hopefully no major injuries but if so there is depth
It’s a solid group, and Norfolk should also score some runs.
When is the Elias interview at ST?
Every question should be about the status of getting another starting pitcher in here.
When he talks about offseason injuries, he should be asked about the status of getting another starting pitcher in here.
Or why he needs three first baseman .
This is ridiculous MASN
User unfriendly.
Lower your expectations to avoid disappointment.
Don’t use up all your complaints on this…not that hard to navigate.
If I have 5 minutes to come on here and it takes 4 minutes to get here, then I just wont
C’mon, you are here all day…😂😂😂
I probably protest too much.
No doubt you have a whistle..
At least nearly every time I show up.
These guys have it hard…🙄🙄
So they can’t list all Roch’s articles sequentially, in reverse chronological order? Would make things too easy.
It gives you a sense of accomplishment early in the morning when you finally find new Roch.
You heard it here 1,000th, Elias will trade surplus fielding for a pitcher before OD.
Till then, it’s WhineFest.
Maybe making this site innavigable is Elias's way of giving us something else to distract us
Diabolical
Haha, time for the meeting of Whine Connoisseurs!
Cheesy!
Rare to get universal agreement here, but no one thinks this roster is ideal. So why wait to fix it?
Possible reasons:
1. Injuries that have already happened and that we'll hear about in Elias's intro interview (always dreaded).
2. Injuries that may happen during ST.
3. Seeing who performs well in ST.
4. Deals on hold while other teams deal with their own 1-3.
Top priorities (not necessarily complete or in this order):
1. Another starter.
2. 1B/IF logjam.
3. BP arm(s).
Sounds like 1 will be acquired through trade rather than FA. Sending Jackson and Mayo to AAA helps rather than cures 2. And who knows where 3 will come from.
I'll be surprised if Elias doesn't surprise us all with whatever he does. Ward for G-Rod definitely wasn't on my bingo card.
Day 437. Injury report should be coming soon. Eflin's back and pitching sessions are at the top of my list of interest followed by Suárez's arm.
I'm eager to hear whether O'Neill is sore or not.
Generally speaking.
Of course. Specific soreness is to be expected.
Spoiler alert, he will be
Damn. Missed it by . . . a lot.
He's in the best shape of his life and ready to play 162 games, win another GG and hit like he did in 2024. Oh look another UFO and Big Foot citing.
The NFL really did well with the half time show. I’ve never heard it this well thought of. People are rewatching it. It was a very American spectacle.
The fact there was a real wedding during it from a couple that sent Bad Bunny a wedding invite as a joke because they had extra cards is awesome.
There are so many easter eggs that you see on rewatch or hear about later- like in the wedding theres a bored kid sleeping across several chairs, a common sight at these weddings which can last forever and every cousin is expected to attend
I saw that and it was chefs kiss!
Pffft did they have Pete Hegseth wearing a backwards cap and throwing a football??? No?!?! The other one did!
I tried watching the other one yesterday but it was so awful. I bet the people claimed to have to watched it turned it off after 30 seconds. Kid Rock should stick to his Lynyrd Skynyrd cover songs
I didn't like either one. LOL They should go back to good marching bands and better commercials. None of it made me forget the football game was so bad I turned it off after about 5 minutes of the halftime shows. Not sure I can support the NFL any longer. It's just a bad product and I don't gamble on the games. Give me some baseball and make it quick. Go O's.
The Puppy Bowl had more viewers than Pete's circus.
135 million people watched it live. Largest live audience for a SB halftime show. And more people (like me) watched it after the game. It was a great event.
Even Old Farts approve!
My wife was working remotely yesterday and listening to something musical, which is really unusual. I asked what it was: the halftime show. If she heard about it, went to the trouble of finding it and watching it and really liked it, it must have been a big hit.
“Remember in the Shawshank Redemption when Andy commandeered the PA system and played a duet from Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro to the whole prison? All those men stood in the yard mesmerised by a performance in a language they didn’t understand and Morgan Freeman’s voiceover says, “I have no idea to this day what those two Italian ladies were singing about. Truth is, I don’t want to know. Some things are better left unsaid. I’d like to think they were singing about something so beautiful, it can’t be expressed in words, and it makes your heart ache because of it.” Only music can do that.”
NGL- Ive been listening to some Bad Bunny since the Super Bowl… DTMF is a really good catchy song, NuevaYol is pretty good too
Wasn't it you yesterday that said people need to move on
No?
Mornin y’all. Healthy livestock and pets. One of the surprise injuries is in Anaheim now. Magnificent coffee
Nick Martinez to the Ray's. I'm glad he'll fill their 5 slot & not our 7.
Ozuna to the Pirates.
Not that we needed that.
But they have O’Hearn and Ozuna now? That could be decent.
They can hit.
Kind of strange what the Rays are doing. They trade cost controlled Baz for a bunch of suspects then sign a couple below average pitchers for too much money.
Who did they sign ?
NNick MARTINEZ
OK
Makes me worry about Baz personally
They’re counting on McClanahan, Rasmussen & Pepiot to be studs while their youngsters develop. One prospect is close.
I don’t think we’ll acquire another SP at this point, assuming Eflin is a go.
We still have to get rid of a 1B somewhere.
I completely agree with that. But I think Mounty makes the team for some reason.
If we traded Mayo, it’s probably a starter. If we trade Mountcastle, probably a reliever, I’d imagine.
And I gotta think he’s had the opportunity to do so. Certainly lots of teams would want Mayo, a top ranked prospect. So what’s Elias waiting for?
That’s the question that should be asked at the presser.
The powers that be at MASN seem to want to upgrade the comments to those that are well reasoned and insightful. If you are reading this you passed the test.
Looks like the new MASN board is easier to get into than Arizona State
Keeps the riff raff out
Hardly
You should have written it in Wingdings fontstyle to make people work for it.
Can anyone read Rusty’s comment? I can’t. Feels like I’m failing some kind of test.
Shouldn’t take long before I’m banned
Ok I found this post without too much difficulty.
Piece of cake
Me too
And i am usually clueless
If I wanted to be annoyed I would have just gone to work today and been paid to feel that way.
Let’s pay people a lot of money to change the website and make it less useable!
Sam Darnold and Kenneth Walker riding the tea cups together yesterday. 😂
When I learned how to write things for online browsing, the thing at the heart of it all was "test before publish." Seems to be a simple concept.
Why can none of the computer folks working for MASN understand that?
It's like Tesla releasing beta versions of their automotive software.
Seems like their test and acceptance plan was just to do it live. Not a good plan.
Should have picked some students here to beta test. It would never pass.
Just because your team isn't given enough time to complete their task properly doesn't mean they're going to pull off a miracle.
Do we know how long it took to put this together or how much time was set aside for the rollout?
No, we don't. But last-minute changes often cause unanticipated complications. Usually happens when the folks at the top of he food chain chime in.
Is this thing on?
Define “on.”
I want a refund.
It’s worth every penny you paid to load this page.
They tried to hide the site from me but I found it.
You're mistaken. This isn't the site. 🙂
We’re all in purgatory.
“OK I’ll keep looking”
This site is sucky. Took me 10 minutes to find today's Roch entry.
Does that really mean that it sucks? Shave a minute off your search everyday and in 1.5 weeks you’ll be good to go.
I found the article by simply going to MASN Sports Dot Com. Its the on the header, also below is a photo of Roch and Brendan. Click on Roch. So, there are two ways to find it.
Wasn't there earlier today. I'm sure they're working on the issues.
It Was most decidedly not there earlier
Right. This isn't rocket surgery.
There's the easy way, and the MASN way.
Where's the fun in doing things the easy way?
There's more value when you work to earn something.
can't get rid of me that easily
home again, home again, jiggity jig
Nice job old guys, you finally caught up!
Get off my lawn! [shakes cane]
Thanks for waiting
Is this the approved method for exercising a bull?
https://www dot khou dot com/article/news/local/mexican-ot-bull-rodeo-viral-video/285-9b37ede1-3968-430e-a87f-8011443622bd
speaking of old…i used to spend 1/2 my day looking for my phone…bought a lanyard to hang around my neck and haven't chased it since
when i lose my head, all bets are off
TWSS
Actually, we're on the next post. See you there.
I dunno. Dirty Harry found it before me and in my head hes like 80 billion years old
Hey! I was the second commenter on Roch’s first post here yesterday. Right behind that young whipper snapper, Joe’s Os.
Joe was first, we'll never hear the end of it !!??
This site feels like it was one of those designed in the "anybody can design an app using AI" ads from the superbowl
GIGO.
So Do we need more corner outfielders or corner infielders? Because Castellanos amd McCutcheon seem to both be available?
No
Calling Castellanos an outfielder is a disservice to society.
I HATE IT, I HATE IT, I HATE IT, I HATE IT, I HATE IT, and I'll probably get used to it by Friday.
We hated the old site too
So, you're saying you don't like it?
This reads like Roger Ebert's review of North:
"I hated this movie. Hated it. Hated hated hated hated hated hated hated it."
Tell us how you really feel.
I think he hates it.
Found it thanks to Old Fart’s instructions. Thanks brother!
Glad to help.
This was ridiculously hard to find. SOR finally forcing entrance exam. Only real question is can I even get back??!!
Needs a lot of work that's for sure
The header with the link to the article is now up on the home page. It seems that the article is automatically posted early in the morning and the home page is updated when the intern gets in.
They can’t automate that to happen without manual intervention?
I'm guessing that the Webdev company can do that for additional $.
No AI, that's the devils work.
The new indoor facility looks awesome, that should help
Real easy to get to page on computer. Had a bit of a search on my phone but figured it out. It will get to around 78 today for the early birds. Looks like the weather will be kinda nice this week. Mid to high 70's in Sarasota.
Its 23 with high of 35
Time to mow the lawn
I won't see my lawn until April.
Same here ,
Wow very nice graphics. Hey, the Orioles have had much harder questions to answer in previous Spring Trainings. Answers? Bring in Bassitt, Gallen, and Quintana together and show them and their agents the new training facilities and introduce them to some potential competition for the rotation and if one of them wants to sign the contract you offer do it, if not go with what you have. Bench? Sammy C / 1B / DH,, Peyton UINF., Blaze UTIL, Leody OF., O'Neill DH / RF.
If we can trade O'Neill and Mounty for a couple of relief pitchers, the pen with all of the optional players will settle itself through camp competition.
O'Neill has negative trade value right now, and unfortunately (for Beavers) he will have to play a lot to regain any of it.
We do like Quintana
I think Blaze is a less expensive version of Brandon Donovan
Does Leody have any options left ?
Just don't click the VIDEO link in the top right corner. It's actually a Burmese Tiger trap
I had to refresh my browser and add a new link – but I am hopeful that I am in the know now!
As for our roster construction – we are living on a prayer…if everything goes our way we have a great season….but our rotation is an injury or two away from last season.
With the rotation, isn't that every team? I do think they should sign Giolito, Gallen, Littell, Verlander or Bassitt
Good morning, SOR. Another day closer to Spring Training games and Spring in general…hopefully.
i like the plethora of right handed power bats. It will probably sort itself out, but lots of competition in the meantime.
Elias knows the health of the guys slated to start so the fact that he's not adding might be a good sign.
Trade deadline is over 5 months out.
New format is clean and bright. Very nicely done!
But I cant find the nationals coverage on the site anywhere!
They’re dead to us.
While not crazy about the formatting, I’m tickled I’m able to comment.
I’m a transfer student that’s been auditing Roch’s class for almost 2 years. I haven’t participated because I could never figure out how to comment. Question…is participation a portion of the grade?
Depends what you say…
Haha…I’m sure I’ll make some idiotic comments at some point.
Then you’ll do just fine
Don't forget the requirement to post a detailed bio and request formal admission.
Baby steps
Did you come through the portal?
You can stay provided you can prove you are Taylor Ham and egg (with Cheese).
In other non-important news, Our girls won their first game last night 17-0. Our opponent wasn't very good – but more importantly, wasn't very well coached as they made numerous mistakes which gave us the ball. Sometimes a good coach can make all the difference – here's hoping our new guy Alby can forge a winning direction this season!
my guess is whomever designed the website is related to the person who designed the jones falls and the civic center. maybe they should call go daddy!
When you are a season plan holder you get a discount on buying extra tickets. I just learned that I must every time go through special offers and click to buy tickets to get the discount. If I just go to the big buy tickets link they charge me extra. Talk about fan service.
Didn’t they force you into a more expansive plan for more money out of pocket?
They tried. And kicked me out of my long time seats. I moved upstairs to cheaper seats and fewer games.
Os fan service seems to be closely related to GFY.
But those suites where the press box used to be look sweet! 🙂
Wonder how they are actually selling
Roch will buy one to get his old angle back.
Actually it has been that way for a few years now. I too was wondering why my tickets were not discounted when I tried to buy direct and asked my sales representative. Then he told me about the link. Usually I still ask him to buy my extra tickets anyways because I believe there is a convenience charge still….which is odd because asking your rep to do it is actual work , but no fee.
Usually with trade in, you could use the money anyway you want, but for at least this year, you can’t use spent money to get into the Premium Club. My rep told me I would have to buy. Tickets run $500-$1000. I said nope……I don’t see it being very full. Price will have to come down dramatically.
Yeah, I picked up on that last year – but keep forgetting…
Yuk on this new design. There was no reason to change it.
Had to do something to kick the gNats to the curb.
They change it every year
They needed to remove the Nationals presence since they are no longer part of MASN.
Rubenstein’s grandson has a web design company so it was simpler to give him a $500,000 design contract than to hear his daughter complaining about how hard her son was working .
You’ll blend
It will be 49 today! Hopefully a lot of the snow melts
You'll need a lot more candles on your cake to make a dent in the accumulated ice and snow.
Pfft. I've been 49 for the last ten years.
Happy Birthday!
Umm, I think he’s referring to the temperature
LOL! Senior moment…
It happens
I blame the new web site.
Twas a cluster earlier
Me too.
(Puts on reading glasses.) Never mind!
lol
Just 10? Cmon
Wait until you sign up for Medicare, then come back to brag.
Yep
Freeze and refreeze coming
Although might not go below freezing overnight which would be awesome for a real melt
Those snowcrete mounds will be here until Summer…..too large to melt as the center and floor will remain cold….
Yep
Earlier around 5:30 the post wasn’t here but I see it now at 8:35 and others posted 4 hours ago. There is no time stamp on the post anywhere I can find. The opening of the training facility post wasn’t there either but is located in order, now. Found it last night jumping through the hoops as prescribed. Today’s post was just there front and center with no extreme means or ways needed to access. Still can’t go directly to comments. Someday, maybe. Elias has done such a mess of assembly of the roster that nothing he does will ever surprise me. And mostly not in a good way. Living up to my name this morning. All the good feelings from earlier have resolved into acceptance of the fact that the year most likely won’t be as good as I think simply because it’s Baseball. And we didn’t get the TOR we were promised. And it is officially late. Still time, but keep on telling yourself the trade will happen.
Did Elias promise a TOR starter?
Thought he promised a flower?
A rose garden?
Along with the sunshine
I beg your pardon.
A promise would be saying too much. He said acquiring one would be a priority. But it would be like a kid on the playground saying he didn’t promise if that’s what you are referencing.
He had his fingers crossed
Must have. Or his legs. That’s really sneaky.
The early morning post yesterday had a timestamp before the website changed in the afternoon. Then the time posted was nowhere to be found.
Time posted is Top Secret now.
Like the name of the GM they hired.
I think the redesign looks better on a computer than phone, though they both show a lot of unnecessary space, and other sizing issues.
It feels like the images aren’t sized ideally for phone usage (I’m 95% of the time reading this site from my phone). Elements seem displaced and random. The old design was at least efficient in that I could find the latest entries very easily. Hopefully this all gets sorted. It’s not easy to redesign a site like this.
GrandpaRunt – Any updates on the veal – I mean new calf?
twins
Vet check on the whole herd yesterday afternoon, including mama and the twins. All healthy, though mama wasn’t happy about me entering the stall. Brief altercation, no dugouts emptied
No bull.
Did you have a very long rubber glove on your right hand?
No, I use my left
Smart. So you can eat with your right hand later
TMI
Is it true a female twin will not breed? I always heard that with dairy cattle
if the twins are a male and a female, there’s a likelihood both are sterile. Twin heifers, we’re good
Twin Heifers are good, Heard that before….
Didn't Coors has a superbowl ad with twin heifers?
Is Patrick Corbin a fallback option for the O's? No loss of a draft pick, has eaten tons of innings over the past three or four years, can be a swing man, is a lefty, and fit in well with a loaded veteran rotation in Texas and held his own.
NO.
Who else besides Wells gets pushed out of the rotation besides Wells for him? Assuming health for all and Eflin ready like he said he would be.
I think I found the latest article. Why is this so difficult?!
Because the site wasn't thoroughly tested before launch. Should be fixed soon.
Because MASN.
To weed out the dumb posters. If they can’t find this, they can’t suggest trading Jeremiah Jackson for Paul Skenes.
Over/under on 50 finding this article and posting?
I have it at 36 hours
So, anyway, when are we trading or buying a ToR this off-season?
At some point. Breath holding not recommended.
Although Darwin would win on many occasions with the breath holding
Are we beyond the point where Burnes was acquired last off-season?
Oh, did you miss that article?
Just kidding.
🤣🤣
When is the offseason officially over? This weekend?
I consider it when P&C report, but anything can happen all the way to 3-28-26, I suppose
troublemaker
I think they are done
Baz is the TOR starter
That's what I was worried about. Will we even sign Verlander? Haha
Once Framber was off the table. Just go status quo and save some $ from last years payroll was obviously the play
I’d take it. If Eflin isn’t going to be ready soon.
He was the 5th starter on a bad Rays team last yeat
I am stating what I think Elias thinks
I agree with you.
Oh but that was just because of George Steinbrenner Field. He is going to magically become a front line starter.
That’s how he will spin it. Should get his ST opening statement soon.
Bradish is the TOR starter.
Haven't you heard? Away from George Steinbrenner Field, he's going to transform into Sandy Kofaux.
Question is at the deadline are we very modest buyers or do we sell the 1 year contracts again (in this window where we are supposed to be winning)?
there was a shooting Wootton HS yesterday…that's where my wife and kids went to school…bad day
This stuff is just unbelievable.
In that area of Montgomery county it is truly not that unbelievable tbh
Murica
I see where our starter money went into that new complex.Elias is done and hoping we make it to the trade deadline to make a move
“I’m never following this team again.”
Yes, I can't wait to see what miracle Elias pulls out at the trade deadline that he could not pull out the last 3 months.
You need the other team to be desperate.
Yep
Gunnar will be representing the USA in ping pong in two years
Hear me out- Lets trade Jeremiah Jackson for Paul Skenes…
They would have to give the O’s back O’Hearn as well
And a first round pick
Too much, Do we still have Kyle Gibson for an even up trade?
He won’t be signed until 3/15
Maybe we traded delmon young now
Don't you mean Jackson and O'Neill?
Whoever his agent is had to love seeing Skubal get $32 million in arbitration last week. He has what, 4 years before that final arbitration year? $40 million is not out of the question.
Plus cash
Just click on the OrangeOrioles box up top and stroll. down to the bottom of this page to find this thread.
For some of us, strolling takes a little longer. 😄
"Let's go strolling." Who sang it and no cheating!
And still the crickets chirp
Catch them and fry them up!
Great sustainable protein source.
How about chocolate covered chirpies
Probably better
Dated a girl along time ago who’s mother cooked a mealworm Thai dish
Was not bad actually
Until the cricket population dwindles and they become endangered. Accidentally stepping on one will get you a $10,000 fine and 2 years in Federal prison.
Raise them and mealworms
Utilize trash fish.
Can solve hunger if boxes are looked at differently
I think the Red Sox are the favorites for AL East division right now.
Then Toronto and then the Yankees in that order.
The thing is, you can't win the Division right now. You have to play 162 games first, I've been told.
??
What? I just stated I feel they are the favorites right now. Your post kind of makes no sense
Not according to the experts.
NY +185
Toronto +272
Boston +325
Baltimore +500
Tampa +3500
B4 or after Durbin trade?
They will have a very good defense
As of 9am this morning. Their rotation is not so great even though they have my favorite guy Crochet.
What?
Crochet, Suarez and Gray?
Plus their 4-8 guys are far superior to the O’s
Seriously Gray 😆 he is done
I’m still thinking they are third in the division behind us but much closer than I originally thought. Jays are the favorites in my opinion. Evils are old. Judge is 34! And their rotation is good if healthy but too many guys with issues. AL East is a coin flip, blanket throw over the field this year. Predictions have all the WC teams coming out of our division.
They have made some very shrewd moves with pitching and defense.
Yes they did. If they hadn’t lost Bregman, I would agree.
Their infield is fine
Outfield fine
Added Ranger and Sonny to go with Crochet.
Defensively wise will be superior to anyone in MLB
This is not starting off on a good foot.
Munetaka Murakami arrived at White Sox training camp, only to find his name was spelled "Munetaki Murakami" on his locker.
Par for the course when dealing with the White Sox.
At least it didn't say 'Sushi Chef'
Just call him M&M
Call him Mu Mu
Could be worse.. they could still have tony larussa there to tell him how much he hates immigrants
Good morning Rochville! A nice, balmy 25 degrees this morning in central Maryland. This is the warmest morning we've had in quite a while.
Tell me when it’s ok to hose the salt off my vehicles, can’t stand it. I like my stuff clean…😂😂😂. BTW, thanks for the directions from last post on how to find new posts.
Dirty Harry likes stuff clean. Now ain't that somethin'?
We’re going to have temps in the 40s for the rest of the week. Might be in the 50s next week. Get that salt hosed off!
Already done, I feel better. Old Bessie was a dingy gray, but she’s back to her natural black color. Neighbors thought I was nuts.
"I understand that it’s always uncomfortable having to count on so many things breaking right."
It's only uncomfortable if you're looking at the Spotrac payroll obligations 3+ years in the future during live games. Which I and many fans are. And I'm glad I can get back to thanking Mike Elias for understanding the difficulties of struggling with a 7 IP 2 ER performance from someone who is overpaid knowing that Brandon Young is waiting in the wings ready to get 4.1 IP with 4 ER for 1/30th the cost.
Right because he has unlimited money to spend, pie in the sky 🥧
A little disappointed the payroll will most likely not even match from last season.
Yeah that is odd and somewhat surprising but there are still solid players to sign, in particular the SP arms
But nothing that moves the needle much imo
Lost out on Saurez and Valdez and they both went to AL teams which is problematic
Yeah, I definitely preferred they land one of them. If they're healthy, they would help. Valdez more than Suarez IMO
How long till we get possible injury reports to an already fragile roster?
I thought Roch said the other day that Elias and Albernaz will be doing a video call with the media today, although in the past the injury reports were always given to the reporters in person.
Not sure if that is relevant today unless O'Neill pulled a groin getting off the plane.
It'd be really cool if the final AL East standings looked like this:
1. Baltimore
2. Toronto
3. Tampa Bay
4. Boston
5. New York
Preferably with a 15+ game gap between the Orioles and Blue Jays.
Lol
Especially if none of the other 4 make post season.
Tampa will be at the bottom of the division
Most likely
Except we say that every year and somehow they escape
There is no escape this year.
Yep
I think they are doing a 1 year recalibration
Dream on!
In order of like to hate this is perfect
Is today the day Elias talks to the media? Or tomorrow?
Yes
Looked at some projected lineups and a lot of the so called experts have Ward at leadoff. Really Gunnar should be that guy.
Correct
I like Ward at leadoff. Bat Gunnar before the Polar Bear.
Not so sure. Think about this scenario. Gunnar bats second after the pitcher has to pitch to a 40 HR guy to lead off and then pitch to Gunnar because Alonso is next. Then they have to pitch to Alonso because we have Westy, Basallo, a healthy O'Neill and/or Cowser behind him. Holliday 9th. It's not as bad as it sounds. Ward was a pretty good leadoff hitter for the Angels.
The one thing I think I know is that spring training lineups will not give any clues about regular season lineups.
Beavers should hit leadoff but I don't see him getting regular playing time unless he hits .470 in spring training and/or O'Neill has a neck cramp for four months.
Matt disagrees
About hitting leadoff or getting playing time?
Eventually he may lead off
I still have no idea how so many of you can find these articles before they post. It took until about 8 a.m. today for me to find this one and yesterday's player development complex story. But they're working on it. I'm told.
You have resourceful followers 😊
Clearly. And thank goodness for that.
I am close to having my old brain fried by the time I can get in and read the comments, if I can find them at all. if they hurry up and fix this they may save some lives.
Nice way of saying stalkers
You have some weird personalities on your blog
Btw
I'll leave this one alone.
Even Steven 🙂
Probably need to look a bit more personally on this. Just sayin
Some whackos who agree with everything you state
Be careful bro.
The total lack of self awareness from you is actually astounding. You're unhinged on here sometimes and have been banned multiple times because of it. And now you're on here calling people whackos. Look in a mirror dude.
Dauer giving you advice, your life is now complete. 😂😂
🤪
Rusty hacked into your laptop
They have the secret de-coder ring
Honestly it is a lot of work. Sometimes I look at key words from your X account or refresh my screen and in between your article and comment section it shoes articles most from way back in the past like a Zac Lowther post but the new one will pop-up there.
Hey Coach long time, haven't been able to access the comments for a while how's ya doing?
I’m still above ground! How are you?
Your social media (bsky) became crucial for finding the second one yesterday
No offense but very few people have blue sky. I found it via X
Haha I barely use bsky either.
Not many people do
With the re-design of the website, hopefully MASN got new and improved hamsters.
all walls come down- Tom Petty
I just bookmark the "Roch Kubatko" page. https://www.masnsportsDOTcom/blog/blogger/rochkubatko/
Just stumbled into the article. But here we are. A question if we may? At the end of the article it says 93 comments but on the article it's 367 comments. Difference please? Maybe one for the mailbag?
Perhaps the work should have been done before the launch.
Not expecting you to answer but how the heck does Greg Bader keep his job?
Probably need to worry who still cannot
Yeah, ya think?
??
will leave this alone
Wtf
You're stating the obvious. Yes, more worried about the people who can't access it.
No worries
Take a deep breath and remember your followers are from a lot of different backgrounds. If that matters to you take another deep breath and deal with your It department.
Is that a bad thing?
Respond a few more times and see if that does the trick
😂 😂 Dauer is an authority in his own mind. Giving Roch advise on his blog, typical Dauer.
I opened MASN, & your latest article was the first thing I saw. Way different than this A.M.
masnsports dot com/blog/categories/orioles/
Look at column on right hand side. It seems to show up there even if it doesn't show up on your page or on the main part of the page (with a picture).
This page seems to have them first. On the right side is LATEST ORIOLE NEWS and they are under that.
https://www DOT masnsports DOT com/blog/categories/orioles/
Hey, if that's what it takes …
But what if I hacked in😂😂
So forget this baseball nonsense. Do you miss the Baltimore weather yet?
Warming up today
TWSS
I can't complain at least I can get back to the wonderful world of SoR comments section for 1st time in a long time! Go Birds 26!
Well well well. The time has come for ChuckDeezy's annual AL East projections. I was big wrong last year. I was right the years prior. Can we get the mojo back? These can be revised at the end of ST after we know more then than we know now.
1. Toronto Blue Jays: 95-67 Deepest ballclub in the AL Beast at the moment. Few weaknesses. WS hangover? Maybe come playoffs.
2. Baltimore Orioles: 89-73 Most improved on paper. Big Power Pete. Bradish back. Hells Bells on the back end. Bullpen? SP depth? Who needs it with this offense?
3. New York Yankees: 87-75 Will start slow due to pitching injuries. Can they get hot down the stretch?
4. Boston Red Sox: 83-79 Great SP group. Young offensive core. Can they take the next step, or will they stumble without a bonafide veteran?
5. Tampa Bay Rays: 60-102 Traded away half the team for a stack of prospects. Going to be a rough 2 seasons while the others dominate.
I doubt Tampa is that bad. Their top three starters are as good as anybody's, Caminero, Diaz, & Aranda are legit bats & they have some young outfielders that have graduated AAA with ridiculous OBP's.
Somehow they'll be okay with solid starters & middle of the order bats that will stack up with any that doesn't include Judge.
I see O's at 90-92
New set up is challenging
Yeah
Not thought through obviously
Like the disastrous computer system my former job employed. I couldn’t analyze the data to successfully do my job. The new system refused to communicate with the existing data base. Therefore I spent most of my time completing data correction tickets
Yeah
Frustrating for sure
I kind of like it, you will get used to it.
It looks cool. It’s just harder to work with.
Lmao
You've found a polite way of describing it. Thank you.
My nickname is Switzerland. Everyone in my family goes to me because I stay neutral
So this is Roch’s newest article then?
Yes. I filed the player development complex one yesterday around 5 p.m. And only a few people figured out how to find it. Let’s just say my mood wasn’t good
Was it supposed to post at 4am as per usual?
Second post of the day.
Do you know if your posts are going to be time stamped in the future so we know if it's the latest post?
Apparently. Like they say in The Outer Limits program…please stand by.
I love their new action words here lol. They're really selling the good stuff. It isn't just a new article, it's the Latest And Greatest. You aren't merely going to read it, you are going to Explore it NOW
There were pictures in the last one. At least sometimes there were pictures. Maybe Roch can even add video.
"Hope Springs Eternal"
Only to be deleted later.
As of midnight last night I could still view the pics. Unsure why others could not.
Browser, screen size when the page was opened and ad blockers are some of the variables.
They are on there now
Like Dora !
Thanks, its kinda all over the place on here right now.
USA TODAY predicts the Orioles for third place in the AL East with a record of 87-75. I never cared much for that rag.
Just a little challenge. But for old guys like me, a adventure. Keep up good work Roch. Looking forward to the spring training info
I'll be filing later this afternoon, after Elias/Albernaz 1 p.m. video calls. I suggest everyone start a pool on the time (and perhaps day) it actually posts.
Today at 4pm EST
That's a good one. And I appreciate your optimism.
Thanks
Tomorrow?
12:00 am or later
Make sure you provide a map of some kind so we can find it
Odds Elias says anything about obtaining a SP and more BP pitchers. 1out of 100 lol
The beat crew gets him in person tomorrow so we don't want him saying anything substantial today with everyone on a video call. For instance, no injury updates. Those are ours!
Woukd it really matter?
Serious question
Kjerstad and Bautista injury updates would be nice. The rest of the team being healthy would be nice.
Got a dart board handy. We'll see where they land. 🙂
The pathway to find it changes as a function of how long the post has been up and screen size.
If there's time for a relaxed question maybe ask each what their favorite Olympic event is.
Ask them what they thought of halftime show. hahaha
They both sucked.
A lot of people are still posting on old articles because they can't find this one.
Thanks, I just came here to ask when that would happen.
I would post a fun GIF in response… If MASN would allow it. 😊
Today’s musician birthdays:
Roberta Flack
Cliff Burton – original bass player Metallica
Don Wilson – guitarist for the Ventures. With his death there were no surviving Ventures members
The Ventures were trend setters. Excellent guitar music. Made listing too instumental rock the best .RIP
Best ever quote from a college friend, back in the day (listening to the Ventures…) : "That wave looks like McGarrett's Hair!"
But it wasn’t in English how did you relate?
Im multi bilingual lol
Roberta Flack sang that famous song about MASN, Killing Me Softly.with This Blog.
Nope. It's like Survivor. Good luck.
I’m the first guy to have ever found anything on this site, so I’ll be fine!
By the way, this isn't to be confused with Naked and Afraid
But can it be
That’s the show about Art.
I think we're all somewhat afraid of being naked these days
Such a great idea to get substance
My biggest complaint is that when I hit the refresh button it takes me to the very bottom of the page. If you aren't going to put me at the top of the comments section like it used to, at least take me to the top of the friggin article.
There's an orange arrow at the bottom of the screen. If you click it, it takes you back to the top of the page.
My screen shows a white arrow in an orange circle.
This week is the week. Elias adds both a starter and a bullpen piece before the weekend is over.
Would have already happened
Pretty likely.
I want guys in camp on time. Maybe a reliever acquisition could happen mid-camp and not be disruptive but a starter needs to be there Day 1.
Hopefully..
That's what I meant sorry
I just wanted to prevent confusion.
I made the mistake (maybe?) of watching a YouTube clip of a baseball show on 105.7 from Baltimore and there were 3 guys on who I don't know and they were so negative about the O's chances and Elias. One older guy with kind of a gravelly voice and loud on the far right side of screen, I don't know how he's even a fan of anything he was so negative. Very disappointing. Does anyone give these guys credence?
It sounds like SoR televised
Far worse because zero humor
I think even the doomers we have here would tell LaConfora to chill out.
Haha after listening I'd believe it
Zilch
It's becoming apparent lol
If it's the 2-6pm show it's the worst group ever. All they do is second guess everything Elias does and rarely give him credit for anything. Constantly berate players and argue with fans. I used to really like Bob Haney from 10-2pm but he gets more negative than he used too since those after noon clowns got together. I rarely listen at all anymore.
Thank you for the insight. It was my first, and last, experience of them. They gave me nothing worth the discomfort of listening to them.
Don’t even waste your time with that station. Half of the content is commercials and the guys talking are clowns. Very minor league talk radio
It was my first last and only attempt at listening to them. Thank you.
Clowns. Wouldn't put too much stock into what they're peddling.
No for sure I quickly pivoted from that nonsense
No
Lol that is the consensus by some margin
I'm guessing that was the afternoon show with Ken Wyman, Jason LaConfora, and their producer Tim Barberlace (sp?). LaConfora is negative about everything.
Yes I think those are the guys. I guess a lot of just like rage farming? I don't know how anyone would enjoy their conversation.
I can only guess they're popular with the social media rage crowd.
What a waste of time!
They had Jim Bowden on yesterday. He dared to say something positive about the Orioles. LaConfora waited until the next segment when the call with Bowden was over to blow him up over it. He's a blowhard and a coward.
Ugh the worst. Thank you for the warning!
It was really funny a couple years ago, he ripped into Elias at the deadline, calling him a jacka$$. The next day Elias was on the show, and he totally backed down.
Sounds predictable lol
I might respect him at least a little if he had the stones to call people out, but no, he just stews, and waits to go off like a teapot.
Yup 100% coward
But, unfortunately, that show's been on the air for six years because that's just what a lot of people like these days.
I will never understand. Even just all the yelling stressed me out!
It's tiring to listen to. Our sports teams aren't perfect by any stretch, but it's laughable hearing a grown man scream at the top of his lungs because of it.
Thank you
I'll admit I tune in time to time because I'm in my car in the late afternoon/early evening, and there's not much else on. I really should start playing Spotify.
Thats sports talk radio and television these days, make outrageous (often unpopular) comments, get clicks and viewers. I call it the Skip Bayless technique
I was quickly reminded why I don't involve myself in that stuff
Pretty much. So much sports media has been hijacked by hot take hacks and sports bros.
94.1 in Philly is different. They are the benchmark. Unfortunately they talk about the teams I don’t like, but it is still more entertaining than 105.7
I do enjoy 105.7 in the morning, and the early afternoons (Bob Heanie). They also have Bruce Cunningham and Mike Popovic on weekends, who are good IMO.
Is the new format and streaming package confirmation that MASN and Orioles continue partnership?
Also, the new format is not mobile friendly. Typically MASN of MASN 😂
It continues until MLB forces or convinces them that they should go to MLB to deliver their games. MLB is looking at getting all teams under their umbrella in the next few years.
The website will not go away.
It will if MASN no longer exists which will happen if MLB gets the delivery package since MASN doesn't have any other sports to keep it alive.
Not Midatlantic Cornhole Network?
Understood.
Saw an article suggesting a Joe Ryan trade. What does anyone think it will take to pry him away from the twinkies?
The owner just canned the president of baseball ops because he wanted to rebuild. Don't see it.
I would love Ryan or Lopez and the cost would be big but feasible with Mayo and Povich and Bradfield. Lopez could be even cheaper if we eat his salary.
I would trade those 3 without a second thought in that deal
Consider a second thought.
Done. Still feel good about my first thought!
My guess they'd want younger players with higher ceilings, e.g. Nate George.
I would be fine with that
Doubt the Twins will be interested in making any deal until the trade deadline.
I'm looking to go to Sarasota for a couple spring training games this year. For those that have gone before, are there any hotels that I should specifically avoid?
Also looking for recommendations for things to do. Not bars or restaurants, but preferred beaches, scenic trails, that kind of thing
Anna Maria Island is a beautiful beach. Siesta Key is closer, but it can get a little crowded.
Thank you. Right now I'm looking at the Ramada just north of the airport to stay at, and it appears they're about the same distance. If I can only get to one, you recommend Anna Maria over Siesta Key?
Go to Siesta…doubt in Feb/March it’s going to be crowded. Nice white sand so kick off them shoes. We like Benderson Park, 3 1/2 mile jog around the water, flat for the most part. Tons of trails all around Sarasota/Bradenton area if you’re into that. Anna Maria Oyster Bar is a good value, but there are more upscale places not too far from Ed Smith.
Definitely recommend Anna Maria over Siesta Key
Agree completely. You only need be in Sarasota for the games. Anna Maria is great for the beach and the restaurants. Book it.
Check out the Holiday Inn Express, which is about 20 minutes away. I got it for around $220 which is pretty good for that area.
Since I saw it yesterday I am still liking a trade someone suggested yesterday. Privetta and Estrada for Mayo and Povich. Even if the O's had to sweeten the pot with a low A prospect.
They would never make a deal like that.
Postseason predictions(early)
American League:
East: Baltimore
Central: Detroit
West: Seattle
WC: Toronto, Yankees, Rangers
National League:
East: Phillies
Central: Cubs
West: Dodgers
WC: Mets, Braves, Reds
I just don’t see us winning the east. Especially if the pitching staff stays the same. Alonso and Ward add some runs, but the pitching staff will have to stay healthy. Kremer is about the only one who manages that year in and year out
DISQUS is acting up now ot allowing comments when logging on at the MASN site. I got here from another site that also uses DISQUS.
The site I was on had posts from earlier today, but no way of me making one. No avatar pics there either. I took one of Paul’s links he posted and got here.
yup. I saw that as well. Running a discussion board is one of the easier things in our technology driven world and yet people still can't get it done.
Nightengale: Talks are heating up for starter Zac Gallen, the best remaining free agent on the market.
Teams showing the most interest: San Diego Padres, Baltimore Orioles, Chicago Cubs, Arizona Diamondbacks.
We finish in second place for this guy? Again?
Now we know the 4 who are out
He initially reported in early December that he had a deal with the Cubs lmaoooo
Of course he did lol
Rubenstein has to be thrilled we are in on all these guys, just miss out, and maintain a low payroll whilst raising prices across the board.
Well, Giolito it is. Or no one
Don’t forget Verlander !!!!
I truly do wonder if Elias is happy with this offseason or actually frustrated that he never is able to sign good pitchers in FA. With all the talk this offseason of no limits on payroll I find it hard to believe they thought they'd be having their season opening press conference with a lower payroll than last offseason.
I absolutely believe they offered legit contracts to starters this winter. I know the “we tried” pat-on-the-back mantra can be a thing for teams, but I actually believe them this time around given everything else they did. Whether or not there’s a negotiation issue, or the pitchers just don’t want to come here, I don’t know. It’s unfortunate either way.
Could be the feature.
No.
Ranger was their guy. They missed out.
Probably shouldn't have
I agree.
Maybe this is a coping mechanism, but he was the starter I wanted least this winter and I think he's going to get booed out of Fenway Park by Memorial Day
I think Gallen is the trap, but maybe teams are pretty much in agreement since, well, here we are. I thought some team would pony up and pray he reverts back.
Teams are at the point where they are either desperate for a starter or not. We aren't really there, but also, we aren't really set either. We are just a weird team. That's probably how I would describe the last 8 years strategically, simply weirdo stuff.
At least Gallen isn't going to be this type of commitment. Suarez loses velocity every year and can't miss bats anymore. He's a weak contact guy, which can work, but I wonder if it'll continue to work as his velocity drops lower and lower and lower. He's gone from 93 MPH in '23 to 91.7 MPH in '24 to 90.5 MPH in '25, and it'll probably keep dropping as he ages. You can't throw Barry Zito Giants-era fastballs and expect to continue to get weak contact all the time.
Yeah he was never someone I really wanted. Framber over him all day
Yup
Bassitt or Quintana
Wow. I sure hope we do not sign Gallen to a multi year deal
I was reading MASN comments earlier in what looked like an old 1995 site, where Dauer was posting and making lasting relationships.
We now return you to your previously scheduled comments section, already in progress.
They have a schedule any more?
That was jacked up
It's funny, with that funky format with the giant emojis, I was able to read comments from somebody who blocked me.
SSame
So, in the new world order of MASN, what becomes of MASN2? Does it go away, or is it now the exclusive home of the All-American Professional Cornhole Association?
How many times does Elias say they try really hard today?
None? He'll point to the all-star 1b he added, the veteran LF he added, the closer he signed, the starter he traded for, and the starter he brought back in Eflin. I really think people just forget that they were active because they did it all early.
People whine.
Really???
I know but I really find it hard to believe they think this is a good enough roster to win a championship, which was the tonality used early in the offseason. Maybe we are back to competing for the playoffs as the bar.
Harding (Rockies beat writer): The #Rockies have reached a one-year agreement with veteran righty starter Tomoyuki Sugano (10-10, 4.64 ERA with #Orioles last season after 12 seasons in Japan with the Yomiuri Giants.
I love Sugano, but he is going to get throttled there.
Good for him. Maybe Pat can go yell at him now.
I'll fix him up some soft shell crabs if he wants
Yikes. They might want to make sure all his starts are on the road
Glad for Sugano that he found a place to pitch but my lord he is going to get whacked there by the beasts in the west
And the Colorado air too.
He can do what he wants obviously, but I don't even understand why he wants to do this. Lose 100+ games guaranteed and get your face smashed in every start. I would have guessed he'd rather just go back to Japan, where he's a star, and finish his career there, not having it end in obscurity in Denver.
First it was the soft shell crabs that lured him in. Now is it the mountain oysters?
Good for him. That makes me happy
Not a perfect fit
He took what he could get in February
RIP Sugar, gone too soon
LOOOOOOOOL. Oh man I'm going to have to get out there to see those batting practice starts at Coors. Might see the first 600 foot HR
Does he throw hard enough for someone to hit it 600 ft?
True, maybe it would defy the laws of physics
Bruce Zimmerman would be jealous of Sugano
On the bright side, will make it cheaper when we acquire him at the deadline
Nah
Man this Potomac River sewage issue is horrible. Bacteria levels are in the red all the way past Georgetown and 600,000 gallons of sewage was just pumped into the canal with more coming and pumps are breaking because people are flushing baby wipes down the toilet. Don't eat the shellfish or any fish in that area.
i see people fishing off the roadside bridges here around Old Town and think meh, maybe not.
Gross 😝
I look forward to the footage of RFK, Jr doing laps.
Ugh. It was horrible… I had to talk to people about the Orioles… ON TWITTER…
the worst. Never do that again MASN
What it in the world possessed you to do that?
Desperation and to let roch know the comments had acted up. Found Y C there tho
That was me!
I went back to yesterday morning's article to see if I was the only one having issues.
Announce the Littell or Bassitt or Gallen signing anytime now!
Yeah, we are tired of waiting. It's just money, logistics, and contract terms. It's not reversed engineering. President and General Manager Michael Elias should get on his horse and bring home the victory.
You will hear a lot of engineering references from me, knowing that you are an engineer. I studied at Baltimore Polytechnic Institute (home of the Poly Engineers) high school. Poly in Baltimore was much more intense than the colleges I attended.
Excellent institution! How did you choose your field instead of engineering(I remember you said you were a journalist?)
I was offered an Engineering II position with the State of Maryland before graduation, and I declined. I was burned out from plotting transits in the snow and measuring metes and bounds. By my senior year, I only needed one credit and decided instead to work for the feds in a different capacity, while also working part-time as a beer vendor at the old Memorial Stadium. I went into journalism until 1993 while owning another business and managing both fairly well, pretty good time management. I stayed in the journalistic profession until 2010; it was more of a passion than anything else. I knew a lot of people and had extensive contacts at the time. Seriously, I did a few investigative stories in addition to sports reporting. Media was a form of relaxation for me. There’s more, but if I continue… there are a few minions here who save everything I write and bring it up later thinking they’ve got me. It’s a crazy world.
Amazing journey and I have also been considering leaving engineering to pursue law and I have always been interested in journalism and sports broadcasting also! Never did any courses in media because my engineering curriculum was intense
Get your law degree on the side. Do not leave engineering. Law, medical, Accounting/finance, and tech are the most sort after jobs in the USA.
I have been a BioPharma Engineer for over 45 years
Still learn something new everyday
😎 cool and humble…
The things that can be done to improve patients' lives is truly amazing these days
I’m intrigued by remote surgery. It’s absolutely amazing!
… or the Nancy Guthrie sighting…
Anyways some pitcher was signed by some team, For some amount of money and some amount of years but ive forgotten it all due to the latest MASN blackout . So fill in those blanks how you will like its a 1990s madlibs mag
I guess this means the Rockies can try to move Tanner Gordon now. He's not that bad folks, only 26 HRs in 23 career starts, 7.06 ERA. He's bound to figure it out any day now
😰
Oh man, don't will that into existence.
Well that was certainly interesting. Another glitch hopefully gone. GO O'S!
I think that I wrote this 5 hours ago. 🤔
I’ll give the new webmasters the benefit of the 🧐 doubt. As with any new project, the gremlins and termites still need to be worked out. Most of the Disqus issues remain, though it’s about 12% better than before since MASN techs are a bit more involved. Let’s see if the kinks are resolved by Opening Day 2026, not 2027.
Well expect for the 30 minutes just now where no one could post
MASN tech personnel love changing the tire while driving along the highway.
Well We know they dont like working overnight even though thats when almost all of this type of tech work gets done
Exactly.
This board is usually 100% dead midnight till 4am.
I think I would just go back to Japan instead
Apparently prefers The Show
But he signed with the Rockies
Ouch lol
Sayōnara
"Breaking: Orioles announce Wade Miley to agree to a 1 year incentive laden deal"
.
.
(is a headline that could actually happen)
GIF of high school football player:
"They had us in the first half, not gonna lie."
Dude, what's up with you? People will jump off the first floor ledge after reading your post. 😂 Lol
I fell for it also
When the comment section glitched, it was like going back in time to school of roch in 2009 with the format
Like 1999…Y2K
Also I found you on twitter!
My favorite part of the Olympics is how I can watch curling for two days and I consider myself an expert but then in 4 years I don’t remember anything about it
How’s the D00k curling squad?
It is looking like him at times.
At least Curling has rules and, if you care to, you can check the video. I have more trouble with "judged" games in which I consider myself expert enough to second-guess a ruling that scores 9.2 instead of 9.5.
AGREED and then it seems like every olympics theres a scandal
If you're in the DC/Baltimore area there is a curling club at the Laurel rec center where you can learn. Not sure if there's anything near Daytona tho
And they say golf isnt a sport lol
Most Americans would laugh at how popular curling is up here in Canada.
I think at this point Gallen is our best option – still relatively young (30), playoff experience, has pitched like an ace across multiple years before last, workhorse, great health track record. Get it done! Either a 1 year prove it deal – 25M, or 3 years 60M. I think our pitching dept can get him back to 2021-2023 status.
I just don't think the O's will sign a guy to a 1 year deal that also requires them to forfeit a draft pick. And if they were going to offer him multiple years, it'd be done already. I think Gallen ends up back in Arizona.
I think Bassitt is the guy, if the O's sign anyone at this point. Bassitt or a trade for someone no one is anticipating.
It’s also been said a signing of a pitcher of this status is literally going to be competing for a 5th spot here.
I think Gallen slots in ahead of everyone but Bradish and Rogers. But yeah. Bassitt is your 5th starter until Eflin is healthy. And by then, Eflin may be replacing someone else who is injured or ineffective.
He would need to prove it in March. Can’t believe they would sign him and just ship Dean to the pen.
Who knows.
Bradish, Rogers, Baz, Kremer, Bassitt. I'll be pretty surprised if Eflin is ready to be on the active roster by Opening Day.
Not that I'm really rooting for them to sign Gallen, but I'd really like to think we're past the point where giving up a pick is a deterrent.
I think it's a deterrent for a 1 year deal. It's just a lot to give up (money and pick) for a rental player. I think that's what's holding up Gallen's market. Teams don't want to commit long term because of how bad he was in the first half of last year, but they also don't want to offer him lucrative one year deals because of the draft pick compensation attached.
I guess, but if you're willing to trade controllable players for guys on one year deals, I really don't see much of a difference.
You would think
Although, I'll be honest, if it keeps them from signing Gallen, I don't mind. I think there are better options.
I would still take Gallen over Giolito, Bassitt, or Verlander. He had a bad year in 2025, but he still threw more innings than any of our projected starters.
Of that group, I'd take Bassitt.
At this point, I would take any of them. We won't get the frontline starter, who I still think we needed, but we will get innings to protect the rotation and hopefully keep us from venturing past Suarez and Wells as depth.
Of the group, I think Bassitt has the best shot at actually helping the team. Gallen just feels like another Alex Cobb type situation, even if only for one season.
If the O's roll with a one-year deal it makes no sense to take a player with a QO attached — way too costly unless he's willing to play for peanuts. Look to Bassitt or Giolito — not Gallen.
A half Gallen?
That's going to cost you $6.50
Maybe a quart. Or even a pint.
"The moon was a ghostly galleon tossed upon cloudy seas."
I saw zillions of little black insects in the snow today. Wondered how it was even possible given the recent freezing trend. Worrisome until I researched. “Snow fleas”, who knew. Not really fleas and not harmful to pets or humans. Able to exist in these temps with some sort of built in antifreeze mechanism. Carry on.
Nanobots. They will soon take over the world.
Not likely, but if you say so.
I saw someone talking about a million Sicilian and I thought to myself, that’s gotta be a big number
That sounds like the mafia in its prime.
Wow, the view of this from a phone is absolutely horrendous.
Looks the same to me. Wasn’t working earlier though
Here We go- Via Kostka
Mike Elias will do a Zoom at 1 p.m. with reporters from around baseball. On Wednesday, he will have a state-of-the-org gaggle with local reporters
Where can we watch it?
I can fake being a reporter…"In weather news today, sports."
So I guess just hangout here for twitter updates.
Sugano is signing with the Rockies for 2026. He's getting $5.1 million according to the latest report.
5 mill is worth getting embarrassed for, for six months.
Coors Field is the last place I'd choose as a starting pitcher trying to prove I still belong in the Majors. Weaker strikeout rates are not what you want to take to the mound in Colorado.
He has to know the wick isn’t that long.
It took a team that doesn’t care at all about pitching like the Orioles to get him into MLB.
In all honesty, I think Elias cares about pitching. He is just very bad at handling it whether it be drafting it or acquiring it.
Hard to argue that he does when we’re upon Spring Training with a still incomplete rotation and bullpen.
We have five very good pitchers. Stop with the hate on Elias.
Maybe his only offer, and time is short now.
Someone's gotta pitch there
I'd pitch anywhere in MLB for 5 mil a year.
A soft tosser who does not miss many bats in Coors Field. What could go wrong?
Sugano will give the Rockies innings, and if he pitches well enough, they’ll trade him at the deadline, ideally.
What could go wrong for pitching in that stadium?
I think he knows what he’s gotten himself into. Wishing Tomoyuki the best!
FBI just released images of a masked man entering Guthries home. The plot thickens…..
Nothing like taking your time with something like this… Good job, Feds!
I dont think so. I read it took a week to get the images because they weren't saved to the cloud. Plus, I think thats where they are in the investigation.
I personally think she has been dead for a week. Hope I'm wrong
We don’t know what progress was made. Law enforcement doesn’t typically tip their hand with their next moves to the public
agreed
I am not a fan of Savannah Guthrie. But my heart breaks for them. My mother is 80 years old.
What the heck does your fandom or lack thereof have to do with anything?
lol
This is an odd situation but reminds me the time Vi Ripken was kidnapped.
Mike Elias on phone, “Possibility we still sign a pitcher but I think this staff is strong”.
Translation: this is it
He said this?
I saw a post on Twitter from 6 minutes ago
As I posted below hes currently on a call with national reporters
Strong but still shorthanded.
Ask Gerry 2% Free if he’s still a fan of Michael Elias, as I’m currently blocked by him.
Don't think so. Still over a month until Opening Day.
Oh yeah
If he says, "man we really need another arm" how does that help him if they're negotiating with one of the FA SP's ??
I don’t think that kind of thing matters. Players know if you need them or not
They're not going to play their hand either way. Every GM in MLB publicly likes their rotation at the moment
“We feel good with where we are but recognize we need more at the top”
Jfc lol, playing coy just doesn’t matter lol.
You gotta get over this Maga-like leader love fest thingy. No one is posturing with ST starting in 2 weeks, and no other GM is reading his X posts or media comments, and shifting his strategies lol. Jfc lol
Elias will never learn.
How Are you hearing this?
Twitters….reporters are on a call with Elias & Alby at the moment
Should have done live YouTube
Roch on X
Barf
February 10, 1978 would've been a good day to hit up Record and Tape Traders. On this date 47 years ago……
Judas Priest released their fourth album – Stained Class. IMO, still their best.
Van Halen released their self titled debut album. Just like Priest, IMO, Van Halen's debut is still their best.
What a throw back store. I think if they were still around the store would be doing okay. My daughter and her friends are into vinyl & CD's. I take her to Catonsville to a store there and she visits a store in Edgewater.
Maybe had their last remaining store moved to a smaller space, they might've survived. The last store was in Towson, and it was pretty large. By the end, they had a lot of their retail space filled with collectibles, Funkos, and head shop stuff.
I didn't know there was a record shop in Catonsville. The only one I'm aware of is The Sound Garden in Fells Point. I haven't been there in a few years, but they really scaled down on their retail space.
Kris Bryant may be one of the worst signings in MLB history. Hes averaged about 35 games a year for the 4 years for the rockies. Played 11 last year, and already on 60 day DL for this season. Making $28 mil a year. Still owed $60 mil after this season.
Worse than Rendon?
I said "one of the worst" . lol
Strausburg $245 Mill. Zero return.
On the bright side they got to pay him way below what his value would have been prior to that. The Rockies didn't have that perk with Bryant
At least he helped them win a WS before that.
That he did. Hence the contract. Really bad break for all parties concerned.
I’d think that makes the pill easier to swallow considering you got that out of him before paying up. Not on the same level of course, but it’s kind of like Flacco after we paid him.
The worst part is that they were (still are?) paying part of Arenado's contract at the same time.
Chris Davis was the worst. He was healthy and had no excuses other than he couldn't hit the ball after he signed the big contract.
Yeah, I think that’s Elias saying we’re going with what we have
LFG?
Yeah
Print 'em!
Only after you pay the fees
Which is fine. Get some rehab projects like Montgomery that could be ready in June.
Woo
I really like this course of action.
I wish downvotes worked again
I would have carpal tunnel from your posts.
GFY
If Baz becomes that dude I agree, if not. Ruh roh once again. Gambling on pitcher health makes all the sense in the world to this FO as long as they are cheap.
Baz has great stuff. They need depth though. Right now the depth is just Wells and Povich
Maybe Suarez and Young also. Still could find depth in ST with a couple guys getting close and maybe ready by the AS break.
Tigers signed Verlander.
Yep just saw this
I guess they want to win.
Framber and Verlander are together again!
Steve Melewski
@Steveonbaseball
·
27m
On O's zoom Mike Elias acknowledges that at some point signing a pitcher late, into camp, is an issue. Feels the club is not at that point yet. Expressed confidence in rotation as is, but club still pursuing pitchers via FA and trades.
That sound better than what I read below.
That's why I posted it.
Good job.
Not panicking yet
So Mike is chatting away while pitchers are going off the board
LOL
Dang, I was hoping we'd sign Verlander.
Roch Kubatko
@masnRoch
·
20m
Elias anticipates seeing Coby Mayo playing other positions besides 1st base, though that's the emphasis. Will talk to him and coaches about corner OF, too #orioles
He will be Mookie Betts in RF by September.
Mookie turned into a great SS. Probably has surpassed Trout as the best player of the last decade
If Ohtani wasn't in the league and maybe Judge.
It’s wild that Mookie plays SS now, insane talent
Why is first the emphasis? We just signed a first baseman for five years
The more this goes on, the more my tinfoil hat crinkles that Rubenstein pushed Elias to sign a big FA against his will and so Alonso or Schwarber was who he went with. Elias just prefers to operate in the galaxy brain domain.
I can’t spend any more time thinking about this lol
Mayo will be working at second base
you are joking but Stevie Pearce made that move.
Really all Mayo has to do is get better at third and they can move Westy to second.
or get better at first and DH Alonso after Mounty is moved.
Right field might be easier than both of those.
Mancini made that move, and he's less athletic than Mayo with a way weaker arm.
Mayo has an open destination airplane ticket ready to go. Where it lands is the question.
Seems they should have had those conversations shortly after signing a guy that plays first 162 times a year.
I don’t understand them. I guess that’s almost a comforting feeling because I have never understood them
Because trading him would be against the law, I suppose
God forbid!
I remember when Elias was so proud of himself for suggesting that Mt Castle be tried in the OF.
Trying Mayo at different positions sounds interesting, but I think I'll stick to the original Bad New Years or Major League for that kind of comedy.
I guess he could maybe play RF?
Im expecting a new post from Roch tofay after this call. Brace yourself for some more MASN-induced chaos when it comes in
I'm bracing
Yeah, that was poor.
It wasn’t, but now the position is locked in
It was great. All-Star HR hitting team guy and clubhouse leading veteran.
No, the quote and not the signing.
So Mike won't trade away excess 1b or DH… and he's struck out on signing any of the top pitchers on the list. We are still in the running for Gallen. I guess Bassit, too. 🤢
Alonso was a great signing. But this feels incomplete so far…
Giolitto still available, too
They won't be carrying 3 first baseman. Don't sweat it.
1bmen is what wins championships, so I've heard
I wouldn't put it past us, tho. Last manager we had said he had a hard time getting everyone playing time
Incomplete and very uneven. We have 3 1B but still need pitching.
If the O's switch to playing in a Saturday afternoon beer league they're in great shape.
So you like to post things here about good teams in a beer league. Great stuff. GM material for sure. Send the O's your resume.
And how did your witty retort bring anything enlightening to the discussion?
We have two 1B. Alonso and Mounty. Mayo was put there to see if he had a possible position for the future. He does not. He is not an adequate 1B. He has no position in the field. he gets traded or sent down.
Adley was also heading to 1b, but he won't be doing that in the next 5 years
It takes another team that needs a 1B and values Mayo or Mountcastle enough to give up a starter or reliever of equal value.
We could get some bullpen arms, for sure. Young ones. Not top of the rotation starters.
thr biggest bonus for the Os, tho, is that we don't have to find playing time for Mountcastle and Mayo. Haha 😂
Wes Moore or less tells the truth.
Ugh
What should it tell Mike Elias that the Tigers went to the playoffs, won a wild card series in 2025, and then signed Valdez and Verlander in the last month to bolster their rotation and improve their chances in 2026? They are probably bumping a guy from their rotation (Reese Olson) who started 13 games for them and posted a 3.15 ERA while averaging almost 5.25 innings per start. What are the O's doing?!?
Dude! It's time to wake up from your mid-winter slumber and finish building this Oriole team into a contender.
We won't really know until the season is over.
Maybe, maybe not. I do know that if the O's don't have enough strong/reliable starting pitching the season will be over sooner rather than alter.
At least it’s warmer today
Yep
You can finally stop whining about snow removal in the city
Not that any of these guys are great, but the Os should get ALL the ones left. Giolitto, Gallen, Basssitt…
Let's get Scherzer, Price, Porcello, Smyly and Anibal Sanchez too. The Tigers got Verlander but we'll top that by getting the rest of their 2014 rotation!
Hoarder!!
On this date in 1996 IBM's Deep Blue became the first computer to beat reigning World Chess champion Garry Kasparov. A big day for AI
But can it beat Art in 3 point shots?
If Elias is not gone after 2026, I don't know what to think. Need a GM who is willing to spend and able to close deals when the owner is willing to spend. Also need a GM who can draft and develop pitching.
We don’t know if the owner is willing to spend
Rubenstein has mentioned it several times publically. It's possible, he does not want to spend on pitching, but I doubt he would bring it up that much if he was not willing to spend all together.
Yeah it seems like he’s lying
It's very strange to me that nobody would consider the owner for the Baltimore Orioles is being less than truthful when saying there are "no financial constraints."
This comment was supposed to go here, sorry
I asked this last week. When did owners in this town become so trustworthy?
Not saying that yet but with how often Rubenstein has said he is willing to spend, it would be surprising to lie about it.
Given the history of owners in this town, I don't know why it would be that surprising.
Did JA or Peter come out and say there is no particular limit to spending? Obviously that isn't entirely true but I think the message is very different from what you typically hear from ownership. With that said, of course it's possible he is lying through his teeth and directed Elias to lower the payroll. Which would be really surprising to me.
Yeah, I was no fan of JA, but it was pretty clear he wasn't going to spend. You would think if Rubenstein was not willing to spend, he would at least curtail the issue, but he was said several times he is.
Did you expect him to up the payroll to $200M – $300M? In fairness to Rubes, they have spent more under him, but it's more in line with what the Orioles were spending at the height of the Buck / DD era.
I don't recall the Angelos ever saying there was no limit on spending. But, I also don't remember them being very truthful about matters pertaining to the Orioles. And really, unless you own the Dodgers or Yankees, It's hard to take "no financial constraints" seriously.
Right, but I don't think given where we are now that those words should lead to the conclusion of "Rubenstein is the issue". We could have easily signed Framber or Suarez or Cease and been in totally fine shape payroll wise for years to come. I find it hard to not pin where we are on the GM, especially after their approach last offseason where I am sure they thought they were being smart.
I'm not conclusively saying Rubenstein is the issue, but I'm not ruling out the possibility. I just don't know why it's so quickly dismissed. I guess the comedy shorts, Mr. Splash appearance, free hats, and such won over a lot of people.
Yeah that is how I feel also
You doubt but have no idea. Look at the evidence, the tends
I agree, Joe, but I would say that a better GM can state his case a little more often? So far, all we've seen from Mike are standard fare, run of the mill, type of signings. (Except for Alonso)
State his case to win over the GM, that is
Maybe it’s because the owner isn’t willing to spend
Or, like you said earlier, decided to spend on 1 big puzzle piece and then shut it down.
either way, it's disappointing
This seems likely
I asked this last week. When did owners in this town become so trustworthy?
Find another team to bash. You have lots to chose from. Your negative misguided thinking is a bummer.
We have all tried to tackle this beast at one point or another. Haha
It’s Flanagan/Beattie, it’s MacPhail, it’s Duquette, it’s Elias,,,the cycle continues for OOF
But now that it's Elias, DD was the best and would have made this team much better this winter (even though he did absolutely nothing to make the 2014 ALCS team better that winter).
DD was the best? Hardly, laughable
Couple of days ago. Our boy here said DD absolutely would have closed a deal with a top of rotation pitcher 🤣
There was a weird wave of DD nostalgia last week.
DD inherited a strong young team MacPhail mostly built. Showalter couldn’t stand DD, Roch described their relationship as toxic. PAngelos impatiently didn’t renew MacP’s contract, in typical PA fashion he fired everyone or moved on starting over- etc etc again and again. It’s as if some can’t learn from the O’s past mistakes
Serving a lifetime sentence in the Prison of the Moment.
Maybe it's just Baltimore and nobody likes us??
Elias closed deals with probably the second best right handed power hitter in baseball, and a proven closer this winter. Two of our biggest needs.
Can't force starters to sign here, and all of the top guys in the FA class had warts. Probably a 50/50 shot that Baz is better than Cease and/or Framber this year. And who knows when Ranger's back goes out.
That said, I would have loved to get any of those three guys. And I'm frustrated that we haven't added to the top of the rotation. Just saying it's a little absurd to ignore the good moves made this off-season because of the one that hasn't been made.
Offering over $30 mil a year to top line starters is not willing to spend money?
Do you even notice when you veer off the path of pessimism into complete nonsense? We will all reevaluate after this season but spring training starts right now, so let’s go!
I think he notices, but then someone calls him out on it and he completely ignores that and moves on to his next grievance 🤣
Also, they have developed pitching, especially in the bullpen; Columbe, The Mountain, Enns, Moonwalk guy who went to TB, Cano (although he clearly needs to find his groove again) and numerous others.
Current odds of Orioles making the postseason this year is between 50 and 65 percent, so more likely that they’d make the postseason.
So you won’t know what to think is Elias is still here after the O’s make the postseason?
Always with the negative waves Moriarty, always with the negative waves.
MLB: RHP Tomoyuki Sugano and the Rockies are reportedly in agreement on a one-year deal.
That'll end well for him. Pitched to a 4-something ERA in Baltimore, so now go to Altitude. Surely that will result in a third MLB contract.
8.90
Maybe he likes Rocky Mountain Oysters as well as soft shell crabs
He had a rocky time in Baltimore, too
$5.1 million. They're getting off cheaper than we did.
The Tigers could finish in the bottom 3 in all offensive categories but could still win 100 games and get into the ALCS.
Nope!
that would be a boring way to "win"
The Rockies and ChiSox could be in the World Series.
The losers WS.
I'm not understanding the angst over not signing Verlander, other than he was just another name we were connected to. At this stage in his career, he's not a "top of the rotation" arm. He signed a one-year deal to return to the club that drafted him. I get that writers linked us to him, but are we really sure he had any interest in pitching for Baltimore? I have a vague recollection of him adamantly objecting to the prospect of a trade to Baltimore from Detroit back when he got dealt to the Astros.
This isn't entirely meant as an apologist post for Mike Elias, but is it not entirely possible Verlander took the approach of, "if it's just Baltimore, I'll retire. If Detroit gives enough, I'll make one more run?"
I personally don’t want Verlander
But no real depth right now on O’s
Lots of HOPE though
I also didn't particularly want Verlander. I get the uneasiness about the rotation. But I don't think Verlander was the answer to any of that. He's not a "top" starter. He'd be back-end type stuff. That has a purpose, but if we're going to sign a 4/5, get a younger guy for longer.
Ver was my 4th up from the bottom choice. LoL
Scherzer might be my very last choice
Now that Sugano is off the board
Think people are just nervous about the rotation being thin. If Eflin is not ready, Wells is to be in the rotation?
That's it. Just another name we were connected to.
like all off-season now we will say again, next up!
But we're connected to every pitcher because it's a known need. Every national speculator has linked us to every pitcher on the market based on…vibes I guess?
Right. So you'd hope by Feb. 10th we would get at least one of them.
Anynone of them.
So there in-lies the disappointment.
I'm not upset about it, but I did want him to complete the orange circuit with us. I guess there's always the trade deadline. We can get him as a throw in with Skubal 🤪
Yeah, glanced over your post. Verlander wasn't the Orioles answer.
As of today the Orioles are no better than finishing fourth. Their Achilles heel will be their starting pitching. The three teams that will finish above them all have better starting pitching.
Is it not spending money being the issue that's stopping the Orioles from competing for a playoff spot?
also how does this years salary total compare with last year's?
If I am right and the Orioles don't make the playoffs Elias will be gone before next spring.
Fake news.
Fake News back to you!!
MLB; Tigers Sign Justin Verlander
With Skubal, Valdez, Flaherty, and Mize
This makes a lot of sense.
AL GM’s passing Elias by leaps and bounds
That's a nice rotation…
No Kate bobble head day
Nope
Also feels like we should add a bullpen guy?
Kade Stowd
Wells now, unless we need him in the rotation
Bullpen only
Tend to agree, if he's a starter, things aren't going well most likely
Yeah we still need bullpen help, and a starter of course
We don't need a starter but it would be awesome if we got a TOR starter and not a number 4/5 guy as many suggest.
Could use another lefty, for sure.
Danny C.
Absolutely
We're not sad about JV right? Mikey already showed he can't close deals w TOR starters. Sign Gallen I guess and roll with it. If we're contending go after an ace at the break.
This nonsense about PBO/GM is ridiculous, and nonsense. As if anyone knows what’s happening in these negotiations, or if there are any negotiations at all. What about the players preference? People keep forgetting the Orioles haven’t won a World Series since 1983, and even though they recently had some winning seasons, but the Orioles haven’t hit as a team since July 2024, and going 75-87 last season doesn’t help. Free Agents want to get paid, but they also want to go to teams that consistently contend. The Orioles are just getting started.
I agree much gets blown out of proportion, or is just smoke. But, seems like Mike has said the last two off seasons that a TOR starter was priority, and , well..
It doesn’t mean he hasn’t tried, or wasn’t taken seriously. I’m pretty sure he’s made solid offers to Corbin Burnes, Ranger Suárez, and Framber Valdez. They chose to sign elsewhere.
I like Verlander. He is the last player that will ever pitch 250 innings in a season and the last to get 300 wins (hopefully). I know the average fan doesn't care anymore but that means something. He is going back to where he belongs. I really don't blame Elias for not signing any so-called TOR starters. In an age of 5 inning starts, you really have to have an ERA under 2.00 to be considered elite. There were 2 guys last year and the O's have one of them and the other isn't on the market.
True or false- Kris Bryant would have been a hall of fame caliber player had he stayed healthy
Stayed healthy and not gone to the oblivion that is CO.
The same with Floyd Rayford, with an additional 450 homeruns.
False
He accumulated 29.0 WAR and averaged a 132 OPS+ from 2015 to 2021.
That's certainly a very strong start that could have gotten him into Cooperstown one day if he held that pace.
It's hard to tell. He only played 155 games once (that is my personal criteria for a full season) but he did look promising.
I don't get people being mad the Orioles didn't sign Verlander. He's injury prone now. He's in his 40s. Yes Framber stung but the Tigers are being aggressive, and may have a shorter window for winning. Bradish when healthy cam duel with any starter out there. Rogers had a great season last year and can still be a sub 3 starter. Still time to make a deal.
Like half of this board is always mad about something, who cares
…
Isn't he 43 years old?
He will be by opening day. His birthday is next Friday.
The Texas Rangers are giving away a replica Nolan Ryan bloody shir-zee at at upcoming back vs. KC, as a nod to the famous pitcher of Ryan with a bloody jersey after being hit by a Bo Jackson comebacker.
I must have been living in some alternate universe because all this time I thought that bloody jersey was the result of his fight with Robin Ventura.
That was a fear years before the Ventura fight.
Mayo in the outfield could work in 2027 and beyond with Ward being a one year rental. We could have a future outfield of Mayo and Colton and Beavers. There is still the NoNeil problem though.
I think if O'Neill stinks it up in 2026, they'll get rid of him. Eating one year of salary is a much easier pill to swallow, especially if a lockdown could take the Orioles off the hook completely.
And if NoNeil hits 30 homers this season, we would have our DH for 2027
Right, would be a nice bonus.
If he hits 30 HRs he’ll be easier to trade.
Seems worth trying. Why not try this last year though? Elias seems slow to anticipate the needs for these adjustments
Maybe it’s just the excuse they will use for optioning him.
If this is the mindset, I see Mounty staying and Mayo in Norfolk. Elias should have had Mayo in the outfield last season in a lost season for sure.
Right. MtC staying and Mayo getting sent down seems very likely to me. Beavers would be another option I guess, but we do know Beavers can play OF
Beavers has to play so I see him in right for 4 out of 6 games per week with NoNeil covering the other two and NoNeil and big Sam will cover the DH position.
MtC too
Good catch. With my six games per week assumption, I see big Sam catching two games per week and being DH for two games per week. I see NoNeil being DH for two games per week and in right for two games per week. Polar Bear will be DH for two games per week while Mounty is at first for two games per week. Plenty of counting here😂
Awkward position players as constructed right now
a lot of redundant parts
A little awkward yes. Blaze made it a lot better
Not sure we actually have a CF aside from Tavares
Pretend like O'Neill doesn't exist. He will play in less than 50 games, hit under .200, and make outs against LHP ( with guys on base). I just hope they can make the most of Ward, Cowser/ Yavares, and Beavers.
2025 is over. O'Neill is not a problem in 2026 until he is. he could just as easily repeat 2024 stats the next two years. we won't know until they play the games.
That was an entertaining mixed curling final, congrats to the Swedes on winning the gold & the US on their first medal in that event.
I do believe Rogers gets Opening Day because of his superb performance to end last year. Bradish gets game 2. Then Baz, Wells and Kremer to round it out.
Povich and Young back to AAA. Eflin on the DL, but he can fight for the 4-5 spot when he returns, too. And there is always help needed in the bullpen
I don’t think this offseason was a failure. I think it was a solid B.
But the reason it ain’t an A is the fact we are still considering Tyler Wells as a possible rotation candidate.
Sort of agree except for the stated opinions of FO needing a top SP
He’s gotten hurt every time he’s taken on a starter workload.
I don't think Wells is a rotation candidate, assuming Eflin is fully healthy.
But I think the Orioles won't need a 5th starter until something like the third week of the season, considering the days off in between.
Good, he shouldn’t be.
Depending on what happens with the rotation, bullpen, and 1B logjams, it could wind up a B-.
Valid. Anything in the B range makes sense. Just a matter of whether it’s enough.
C or below tbh
Yeah, I disagree.
Ok
No depth
Defense will be worse
No depth … where? Pitching? I don’t doubt that. They could use more. Every team could use more.
The lineup is absolutely deeper and better, though.
LOL
Yeah, it would be hard for me to put him below B- after their biggest FA signing in 20 years.
They stabilized the lineup – which leaned left-handed already – with two durable, right-handed power bats.
They solidified the back-end of the bullpen with Kittredge and Helsley.
They brought two starters: one with controllability/high upside in Baz and another veteran in Eflin that, if nothing else, acts as depth.
They acquired a controllable – and actual – utility player in Blaze.
Could they add more pitching? Absolutely. I think they will. But listing all of that out – and I’m likely missing a move – and coming to the conclusion this is at best a C just doesn’t compute.
IMO.
Pretty spot on, I’d say.
I would say a C+ because of the current rotation. If we at least got Giolito, Gallen, Littell, or Bassitt, it would be a B.
Nah, though you can argue it isn’t enough, the controllability/upside with Baz is a pretty good rotation upgrade. Better than any of the moves last year.
B.
Last year was a "0." This year is a 75%.Regarding Baz, until proven otherwise, he is a 4.25 to 4.50 ERA pitcher.
Post his ERA
4.87 from 2025 and 4.25 lifetime.
In less than 300 career innings, with last year being his first full-time season.
I’ll do that if you post the park he played in half the time.
I think he was better there or not much difference
5.90 ERA at home in 82.1 innings.
3.86 ERA on the road in 84.0 innings.
That’s a big difference.
So not really a needle moving type of move
That isn’t what you said.
Solid #3. with potential to be much better according to baseball professionals. Pretty good move in my book. We don't know how it's all going to work out. You have to play the games.
B+
Low for you
must really have been a poor off season:)
Like I said…some are just angry & jealous
I would not sleep on Wells. I know the O's have written him off in the rotation, but the last 40+ years has shown that they know nothing about baseball.
I'm not sure how much you can count of a 30 year old whose never pitched more than 119 innings in a season.
He will be fine as long as he doesn’t follow the Tyler O’Neill training program
He misses about as much time as O’Neill.
Also Bradish hoodie day on the 28th
Barring injury, I'd be very surprised to see anyone but Bradish take the ball on OD.
I like Rogers too. To
Me they need to baby Bradish a little bit year. He is so important for our team – I don’t particularly want him throwing 180 innings this year especially regular season innings. Rogers they can ride hard
If Bradish is the opening day starter and he is capped at 180 innings, that gives him 5.45 innings per start which is not a recipe for success. The bats are not good enough to cover 3.5+ innings of the bullpen.
Well I agree. I would like to see himMake 25-26 starts. That would be 160-170 IP at 6+ / start
If Bradish misses 7-8 starts, the O’s are going to struggle.
If they pick up a # 4/5 guy like what is left they will need to go to a six man rotation and keep Bradish, Rogers and Eflin fresh for the playoffs. Possibly use the same strategy if they get a TOR guy.
They may flip flop Wells with Kremer because of his injury history, plus there usually isn't a need for a fifth starter early in the season. And Wells can do long relief until they have to start him. I like the rotation, though
5.1 mil for a batting practice pitcher? Good move, Rockies. Maybe Tomo can throw BP to Lorenzen, who needs to get his power stroke back, and they can get naming rights for a baseball humidor from the top Japanese cigar manufacturers.
Sugano is being paid solid dough to throw innings for a team that is not contending and one that is okay with him surrendering 60 homers this season; he has a cushy position!
I know we’re all mad about last year (or just mad in general, some of you) but the O’s are 350-298 since 2022. They have an AL East title and consecutive playoff appearances for the first time since 96-97, all despite some crippling injuries to key players. I think they’ve built a solid young core who probably still hasn’t played its best baseball. They’ve added some key veteran bats this offseason, the lingering issues facing left handed pitching SHOULD be over. The rotation is thin, but whose isn’t? I hope they add another and think they will
Now post the playoff record which is what actually counts
I don’t hold that against the FO, young players need to be better in the moment. They were good enough to win playoff spots they are good enough to win games if they do their jobs.
??
Maybe the FO could have made better deadline moves?
This is a huge year for the core. So far, Gunnar is the only one who looks like a real star. Jury's still out on most of them. I'm hoping the additions of Alonso and Ward help.
Yeah I just don’t care about what happened in 23 and 24 anymore. It’s not relevant to what’s happening now
Well you're a numbers guy, these are the results the FO & most of the same guys still on the team produced…hopefully it's a trend
I’m not saying they can’t produce, but having a couple nice years in a row without doing anything in the playoffs isn’t something where I will just have endless confidence. Lots of teams have a couple good years
Most can do it without losing intentionally for 4 years. That’s around 1/10th of the WS drought – 4 full years with a zero % chance. Any small chance we had in 2022 Elias killed at the deadline
Well, they only lost intentionally for three years. But otherwise yes
They chose not
To compete in the playoffs in 2022. Thus no chance of a WS
I guess that’s somewhat true
What was the alternative after 2018? They had no talent pipeline, nothing that moves the dial on the farm
I guess whatever bad teams do that don’t tank?
It’s a pretty big cost to
Toss 3-4 seasons
I think every small-mid market has tanked to a degree at some point
Not like we did. Come on now
They haven't ?? Many have, the Nats have got a good one going. Many haven't recovered as the O's have, didn't we set a record for most wins jumping from 52 to 83?
The point is that if you’re going to lose to that extent, intentionally, fans should expect that it, you know, result in something
Oh yeah…the story is ongoing
Maybe so, but there’s a reason we’re edgy and it’s because, so far, we’ve gotten a division title and then decline and that’s it
2023 and 2024 were fun, but the division now is much stronger than it was then.
No one remembers division titles. Play in a World Series, people will remember.
I guess I'd have to forget my entire fandom.
I do, there are flags up in the stadium with the years they won the AL East, it's something franchises do for a reason. It's not easy, great years IMO
Well I think Elias is being too picky again…then again Verlander wanted to go home…Verlander could be on a pretty good staff with the Tigers!!!
and the Tigers 🐅 could be pretty good overall this upcoming season
also the Orioles should sign Zac Gallen….as far as I can tell…he is the closest thing to Mike Boddicker out there and that is what the Orioles need!
I prefer Giolito
Well it is debatable Mr Postal 📫 Service….but I would rather have Gallen because he is healthier…or he has stayed healthy
No one wants to go to Michigan cities. He got paid.
I thought the world would collapse if the O's did not get a TOR starter, and now you're saying that we need Mike Boddicker?
Someone that is like Mike Boddicker…… A Mike Boddicker type!! Zac Gallen fits the description
Today would be a very good day to wrap up the trade for a TOR starter and a LH BP arm. The whining is getting far too loud. Could be a lot of pity parties going on this weekend otherwise.
Who can they trade for? All mentions of Ryan or Lopez of Twins say they will not trade them. Marlins already moved their starter they had to trade, so did the Brewers. Would the Rays trade another starter or the Padres move Pivetta?
Cole Ragans
He would be the dream addition
We could even just bring in Gallen at this point, if we also found 2 really good relievers, including a lefty. I don’t love giving up the draft pick for him but in the end, it’s just an mlb draft pick.
That is essentially another Jud Fabien so the cost is nothing
Why would KC trade him? The Central is wide open for the taking, and they're a whole lot closer to winning than rebuilding all over again.
The AL central is not wide open. It should be Detroit’s or Cleveland’s.
Do you really think one or both of those teams is head and shoulders above KC? I sure don't.
Me neither. KC has the pitching, just comes down to whether they get enough offense. I think that's true of the Guardians and Tigers too.
Pivetta is probably a realistic trade target
There are always trades to be made. Privetta and Estrada for Mayo and Povich is one I've heard suggested. Padres dump the salaries and pick up a LHP and 5 years of Mayo. Could work for both teams. I am sure there are others no one has thought of. Hard to speculate on trades not having any knowledge as what teams may be talking about with other teams.
Tigers rotation goes Skubal, Framber, Verlander, Flaherty. This can shut down our bats in the postseason, as we are used to.
OR the team could do just enough to beat them as they did against Verlander, Scherzer and Price years ago.
Yeah, it's not like the Orioles have ever beaten a rotation that had 2 former Cy Young winners in it.
Come into the now. I am talking about our current players, the core ones who got shut down by KC.
Let's get there first. But, I do recall a Detroit series in the past where they throw 3 Cy Young winners at us and came away winless.
None of those orioles are still on the team.
We didn’t beat their starters. We beat their bullpen
We did beat Scherzer and Price. Game 2, we chased Verlander and beat up the BP. Still a sweep though.
Norris was amazing in that game three and Nelson got it barely fair but we got to Schrezer though.
Tillman outdueled Scherzer in Game 1. Granted, we did blow it open again the BP.
And Buddy outdueled Price.
Possibly the most overlooked player on that 2014 team.
Detroit has had a big week. They needed it. If there was a team that needed scrutiny for not doing enough while in possession of arguably the best pitcher in the game, it was them.
But they had their time with Miguel Cabrera. They won their titles. We have been starving for over 40 years!
The way we hit in the playoffs they could find a guy who plays Skeeball instead of Skubal and he would still shut us down
Cionel Perez, lol
There is no way there are trading Skubal now
Not unless their season goes completely sideways like the Orioles did last year.
Skubal is great, the rest,,,meh
Remember when the Tigers had three former Cy Young winners against us in the postseason?
Remember when you said "good luck with Sam Darnold in the playoffs"?
Oh my god, let it go
Nah, people that talked smack gonna get clapped back. You'd do it to me. Oh, and Shanny still hasn't scored a TD in 2 games.
Shut up
Can Darnold pitch? I’m not opposed.
I thought you were trading Darnold for Purdy earlier 😂😂
Yes. He decent but the D won it. Great that he had no turnovers though.
Probably close to a dozen current NFL QBs win it with that team.
That was cool but messing with Joba was even better. I’ll never forget game 2 sitting in CY that day.
In 34 years, no other game comes close to this at Camden Yards. Kind of sad really.
Brad Ausmus was an awful manager. Although they didn't pitch great, if you have Scherzer, Verlander and Price, you do not use the bullpen at all unless someone gets hurt.
if Verlander is even still pitching by fall
With the amount of K’s that could be racked up on this constructed team
Any team could shut them down
August 15, 2025
Orioles at Houston
B. Young vs F. Valdez
Orioles 7, Astros 0.
Mayo homer off a Framber 90.7 mph change-up.
www youtube com/watch?v=IuyHlR4PaEc
August 15, 2025
Orioles at Houston
B. Young vs F. Valdez
Orioles 7, Astros 0.
Mayo homer off a Framber 90.7 mph change-up.
www*youtube*com/watch?v=IuyHlR4PaEc
As a baseball fan I'm glad Verlander signed where he did. That's where he should be pitching.
Kinda like when Griffey went back to Seattle at the tail end.
Who's eager to read Roch's post about today's Zoom call with Elias? <raises hand> Should be up sometime soon.
Verlander signed with the Tigers. The sky continues to fall.
Are people just forgetting that we signed Eflin or something? We already got our 1 year $10-$15M pitcher.
Doesn’t matter. For many people here, this is a last place team until we acquire a TOR starter no matter who else we sign. I am just passive-aggressively venting my frustration at all the pessimism on here.
Its okay
but keep your head in the sand.
you can join Elias whose head is already there.
Sugano off the board too….wtf
He was signed?
Rockies, $6 mill
LOL, gets hot there in the summer.
Guy is going to be dripping in sweat sucking on an oxygen machine in the dugout
Koji in Arlington and Miami was painful to watch 🙁
It's a dry heat
That’s a match made in heaven… for Ohtani.
LOL I still can't believe that. I might go to every one of his home starts just to see the fireworks
I wish him well, he did what they paid him to be…stable BOR, fell off towards the end
Bring him a soft shell
But but Mike is playing 8D chess, underwater. Reeeeelaxxxx
It is
RELAX old man
How are you 100 percent free?
Your wife leave you?
From the 💯 guy. He blocked me (again)
JD Martinez and Victor Martinez and Miguel Cabrera have decided to return from retirement and rejoin Verlander in Detroit; Phillies have also traded Castellanos back to Detroit😂
Durbin seems like a nice pickup for Saux
I think he's a competent player, will handle it defensively, but massive offense downgrade from Bregman.
Agreed , and he didn't come free either
Dang Milwaukee doesn't even wait til your last year of arbitration to trade you anymore. What is that franchise doing?
More than likely moving sooner rather than later
In The Mix like you wouldn't believe
do you remember him tipping his cap when he got the fake cheer?
Wells had four starts last year, 2.91 ERA coming back from injury, and today Elias doesn't even mention him in rotation depth chart that includes Povich and B. Young….
“I think we have a very good rotation,” Elias said. “A talented group of guys. Some external additions. I mean Eflin was a re-sign but brought him in from free agency. Shane Baz, we made a major trade. We have Bradish back for a full season. Trevor Rogers coming off a big campaign. Dean Kremer. All of the depth, a lot of which that we saw last year. Brandon Young, Cade Povich. So I think it’s a really strong group.
“We are staying plugged in with both the trade and free agent markets. As all teams are here as we ease into camp. So there is still a possibility for external additions. But I think that our rotation is very strong.”
He lost me at the depth. "All the depth, a lot of which we saw last year". Yeah Mike that's the concern, we watched last year.
Young and Povich😂
I can only assume he's trying to assassinate OOF. This quote alone is going to keep him up all night for at least a week
Oh it’s a direct attack
Someone please alert his wife and children!
Guy probably still has nightmares about Terry Mathews.
The best way to handle a narcissist is to walk away.
I am not leaving my Country
I don't know why so many don't give Povich more love and believe Young can't improve. Weird.
I am okay with Povich and want to see more of Young before making a judgement
I'd love to see a really strong analysis of what Young was doing right when he threw those 7 perfect innings at Houston last August.
He lost the perfect game on weak contact, too.
Not sure what exactly in his repertoire was working so well that night that no one could square him up — and why repeating it is so difficult.
There's a reason of course, I just wish I knew.
Exactly
They are gambling on health in the rotation. That's really the end of the story. The depth is the same as last year. You can post B. Young's 1 good start all you want but if he is pitching significant innings again this year expect another 75 win season.
No team knows what health issues players will have when they are healthy to start the season . All the O's pitchers are healthy. Eflin has said he is pain free and hasn't felt this good in years. he had a bone spur shaved down to relieve pressure on a nerve. It's not like he has spine issues or muscular issues with his back.
Wells will evolve into the primary setup for Helsley when the rotation settles into place. Maybe we see a few spot starts from Wells but he will not be featured in the rotation unless something goes completely off-script.
Wells and Suarez could start a few games to give Rogers, Eflin and Bradish a game off here and there to keep their arms fresh for the playoffs. Nothing has to go wrong to do that. Just good common sense.
Mike brilliantly driving the price down for FA and trades. Brilliant. look for a trade soon.
"The principle of least interest in negotiation holds that the party with the lowest investment in closing a deal possesses the most power, often due to a stronger walk-away position."
I have a cute new picture for an avatar. The new set up is not letting me change. I’ll try again in a few days
I see a picture.
I tried to change it to Baltimore Orioles pic, but the SAVE functionality aborts and the new image disappears altogether on the edit screen
I do think most teams are gambling on health, to be fair. No one's 7th starter is good.
Dodgers probably have like the #10 prospect in MLb as their #7 haha
I'm all feathered up because we didn't need to worry about Brandon Young being our 8th starter. Moving him 1 more down the depth chart was theoretically doable. Elias talked about it all offseason being a priority. They are either targeting Baz as the TOR acquisition and always were, or they are frustrated that they missed out on one of the proven arms in FA and now here we are.
There's a new Roch article on the Elias call, but comments are closed. Yay, MASN IT.
If you go over there you can probably do GIFs and post in those 1990s style comments if you time it right
I saw some of that yesterday afternoon before it got shut down. Probably for the best, several of the GIFs were of the last two Presidents.
I was wondering why people were happy they were removed now I know why
Some folks were also sticks in the mud about the whole concept. I do think they could lighten things up around here, but since there's no way to shut down political ones, it would be quite a task for Roch to police it.
Open now.
Thank you
So I find the new post and go to comment and the comments are closed.
The inner workings of the new system is in the same cement MIXture of late impactful Orioles moves
Open now
TWSS
The MASN upgrade does not allow you to change your avatar. I went over to the Capitals Disqus site and it updated right away.
Thanks, Roch.
Hey MASN, 2 of the premier website hosting companies were started by local Baltimore guys.
Go Daddy by Bob Parsons, Patterson High.
Squarespace by Anthony Casalena, Hereford High.
Give the local guys a chance.
Didn't know GoDaddy was a Patterson guy. Cool
Didn’t graduate. Got his GED after serving in the Marines in Vietnam, then accounting degree from U of Baltimore.
Casalena started Squarespace from his dorm room at U of Maryland.
I wonder if he's an old Eastwood Little League man like myself???
So Mike basically said we are done, I like what we have right now.
Since he nets 25 percent of the payroll savings. I don’t blame him
Apparently the soft cap for that is 150m team payroll.
Not super surprising is it?
Nope. I just watched the zoom call on masn yt and this guy has zero enthusiasm for what hes selling, which makes it worse.
Well at least the class has something new to complain about. I am guilty but at least I think we are somewhat justified.
Just Fix it MASN.
Start the chant opening day
We want a pitcher!
Not a belly itcher!
Are you having problems with it freezing up when you drop down to comments part of this, take your pick of what to call it? Go Birds 26!
I had the same issue as my phone thought each comment was a pop up ad . Thanks to Coach I now log on through Facebook and no longer have any issues.
After looking at posters grades etc
Whether a B minus or C plus
(Cereal obviously has an A plus)
It truly is an incomplete. The stated goal has not been achieved
Elias is grading himself on a curve.
Sugano
AS For NL.
USA leading Canada, 3-0, 2nd period
Do we get Toronto if they win?
Alert, Nunavut
Nunavut is among the few places on Earth which has essentially been returned to the Native population that has lived there for thousands of years.
Yep.
The giant emojis are back.
Comments in the new post are closed again and have the previous ancient format as before with the giant emoji
https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/f2d432c2364d72854c17c7cc10067841a1f128b4cd4c4b71c4f167c55e60ff68.png
didn’t work
Yup
Is this going to happen every time Roch has a new post!?
Perhaps. I had to get creative to change my avatar
You should have gone with a picture of Mateo in Braves uni
Super easy:)
Will get old very quick
Its working again
Is there a new post about nothing?
😂😂😂😂
Can't find the comment button on Elias story. Please help if you know how. Thanks
I came back for you all, I better be able to find my way again 😂😂>>>>>>>>>>>
Thanks! No problemo.
The Ravens dodged a bullet by not drafting James Pearce. he was on their radar.
Why is a 22 year old driving a Lamborghini SUV? Then driving it into another car on purpose. That’s how NFL players end up broke at 30.
Here’s a thought Mr. Pearce, get your financial advice from Shaq, Magic, and MJ. Not the local car dealer.
II remember before the draft saying this guy was a ticking time bomb.
Lifetime ban from NFL is in order.
Gets Atlanta out from under his contract.
I know being young and rich leads to temptation but the NFL spends a lot on resources to offer counseling to these young players in every aspect of life, from gambling to drugs. But some are too hard headed.
Hopefully Minter can unlock that pass rush, 10.5 sacks by Pearce nothing to sneeze at. Need more than 3.5 from Mike Green. Nnamdi Madubuike sent a hopeful message on X, not sure of his status anymore.
Bashing sports talk down below here but I should say I like Rob Long's show (on MASN?) much better atmosphere on that program. Sounds like a real info show not angry crosstalk and who can have the most violent opinion on something.
I've been a fan of his from his time at 1570 AM. He does the morning show on 105.7 with Ed Norris and Jeremy Conn. I really enjoy their show as they talk sports with some humor injected into the conversation. Roch's been on with them many times.
Maybe that's the clips I'm getting on YouTube. I'll have to pay attention to the source next time
Jeremy Conn is the guy who helped make Mo Gaba a beloved sports figure in this town. Jeremy used to do the 2p – 6p shift with Scott Garceau, and Mo would call in.
Interesting. Thanks!
The morning show is on YouTube so you can catch it there just search 105.7 the fan
Rob does okay. It is the rest of their air talent that is bad
Much better than LaConfora and company in the 2-6 slot on 105.7.
Yes yes
Hey they moved the latest news post to the top of the landing page, thats progress. I really wanna see this zoom conference will it be live somewhere?
Who is our Ace? In no particular order: Rogers, Kremer, Eflin, Wells, Bradish, Baz, Povich, Brandon Young.
Bradish is a top 20 SP
Bradish, all he did was finish 4th in the CY voting after his first full season. He was really good in his starts last season too.
Povich and Young do not belong in this conversation.
On paper, it's Bradish. Rogers is second and I think Baz will surprise us with a Rogers-esque season.
Wells, ideally, is in the bullpen, for me.
Those are all the pitchers the O's have. They certainly don't belong in the convo, but they will take the mound this year. 😊
I don't understand any faith in Povich or Young to save Mankind.
I doubt they'll be tasked to do that, but a spot start in July? Sure.
Bradish, no question.
He pitched well in his 6 starts last year. 2.53 ERA, 1.031 WHIP
And about 2.5 in his last full year.
2.83, to be exact
We just need to get him back to 30 starts. He had 14bthe last 2 seasons
We could have 3 aces, or none at all. That's how the Os roll into OD
I'll take 2 out of three and a very good 3/4/5. A strong BP and some great hitting with 200 plus HR's. Not asking much, right.
Right, just a winning formula is all you need
Bradish and Rogers both have Ace stuff.
I like it!