Guerrero, Mora among newcomers on Hall of Fame ballot

Ten former Orioles are included on the latest Hall of Fame ballot released today by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

The most prestigious newcomers are Vladimir Guerrero, Manny Ramirez and Ivan Rodriguez. Guerrero concluded his 16-year career with the Orioles in 2011, batting .290/.317/.416 with 30 doubles, 13 home runs and 63 RBIs in 145 games. The 13 home runs were his lowest total since he hit 11 in 90 games with the Expos in 1997.

vlad_guerrero-sidebar_close-up.jpgOther former Orioles include first-timers Melvin Mora, Arthur Rhodes, Derrek Lee and Casey Blake. They join Mike Mussina, Tim Raines, Lee Smith, Sammy Sosa and Curt Schilling.

Candidates must be named on 75 percent of ballots cast by selected BBWAA members with 10 or more consecutive years of major league baseball coverage to gain election. Players may remain on the ballot provided they receive at least five percent of the vote for up to 10 years.

Results will be announced on Jan. 18, 2017 on MLB Network.

Raines and Smith are on the ballot for the last time. I've voted for them in the past.

There are 15 holdovers after Ken Griffey Jr. and Mike Piazza were inducted last year. Jeff Bagwell (71.6 percent) fell 15 votes shy of joining them. The only other players to be named on more than half the ballots were Raines (69.8 percent), Schilling (52.3) and Trevor Hoffman (67.3).

Here's the complete list of candidates:

Jeff Bagwell
Casey Blake
Barry Bonds
Pat Burrell
Orlando Cabrera
Mike Cameron
Roger Clemens
J.D. Drew
Carlos Guillén
Vladimir Guerrero
Trevor Hoffman
Jeff Kent
Derrek Lee
Edgar Martínez
Fred McGriff
Melvin Mora
Mike Mussina
Magglio Ordóñez
Jorge Posada
Tim Raines
Manny Ramírez
Edgar Rentería
Arthur Rhodes
Iván Rodríguez
Freddy Sánchez
Curt Schilling
Gary Sheffield
Lee Smith
Sammy Sosa
Matt Stairs
Jason Varitek
Billy Wagner
Tim Wakefield
Larry Walker

Orioles sign David Washington to minor league deal
OriolesREACH to host seventh annual Birdland Golf ...

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to