Hyde chosen as The Sporting News AL Manager of the Year

Awards season already is upon us.

The Sporting News has named Brandon Hyde as it’s 2022 American League Manager of the Year. The winner is chosen in a survey of players, managers and executives.

Hyde led an historic turnaround this season, with the Orioles improving by 31 games and posting its first winning record since 2016.

Seven Orioles managers have received the award. Hank Bauer won it in 1966, Hall of Famer Earl Weaver in 1977 and 1979, Frank Robinson in 1989, Johnny Oates in 1993, Davey Johnson in 1997, and Buck Showater in 2012.

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America reveals its winners next month, and Hyde is a favorite to be honored again. He received 50 percent of The Sporting News votes to outdistance Houston’s Dusty Baker and Cleveland’s Terry Francona.

We also learned today that catcher Adley Rutschman and outfielder Anthony Santander are Silver Slugger Award finalists.

Toronto’s Alejandro Kirk, Oakland’s Sean Murphy and Seattle’s Cal Raleigh are the other finalists among catchers.

The other outfielders are New York’s Aaron Judge, Seattle’s Julio Rodriguez, Los Angeles’ Mike Trout and Taylor Ward, Toronto’s Teoscar Hernández and George Springer, Tampa Bay’s Randy Arozarena, Houston’s Kyle Tucker and Texas’ Adolis Garcia.

Managers and coaches vote on the award, with the winners announced on Nov. 10.

Cedric Mullins won a Silver Slugger in 2021 after registering the first 30/30 season in Orioles history. He was the first Oriole honored since Mark Trumbo in 2016.

Rutschman, who was baseball’s No. 1 prospect, batted .254/.362/.445 with 35 doubles, one triple, 13 home runs and 42 RBIs in 113 games.

Santander appeared in 152 games and batted .240/.318/.455 with 24 doubles, 33 home runs and 89 RBIs.

Rutschman, Rodriguez and Kansas City’s Bobby Witt Jr. are the three finalists for American League Outstanding Rookie in the annual Players Choice Awards, which are voted on by major league players.

Ryan Mountcastle won it last year.

Hall of Famer Brooks Robinson is a finalist for the Curt Flood Award, which recognizes a former player who “demonstrated a selfless, longtime devotion to the Players Association and advancement of players' rights.”

Robinson was cited for his support of the MLBPA and union chief Marvin Miller in the union’s formative years, and he’s credited with helping found the MLB Players Alumni Association in 1982

Buck Martinez and Steve Rogers also are the other finalists.

The Players Choice awards will be announced on Nov. 3 at 6 p.m. on ESPN.

Mateo gets glove love with Fielding Bible award
A look at the remarkable 2022 season for lefty Cio...

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://www.masnsports.com/