Nationals name William Howard Taft fifth Racing President

The Washington Nationals announced today that William Howard Taft, the 27th President of the United States, has been named the fifth participant in the GEICO Presidents Race. “Bill” is scheduled to be introduced to the public today at a press conference during NatsFest at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Fans will also have the opportunity to meet and take photos with the newest Racing President following his introductory press conference.

Bill will join George, Tom, Abe and Teddy as the first addition to the race since it became a gameday tradition in 2006. Chosen for his competitive streak and the indelible mark he left on the national pastime, Taft holds the distinction of throwing out the first Presidential Ceremonial First Pitch on April 14, 1910 at Griffith Stadium in D.C. Legend has it he also accidentally inspired the seventh-inning stretch.

A law expert, historian and staunch follower of the Constitution, Taft was hand-selected by President Theodore Roosevelt to serve as his successor. After his presidency, Taft became the 10th Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court and is the only person to have served both as U.S. President and Chief Justice.

Known as the “Big Chief,” Bill will no doubt use his mighty stature to strike fear in his racing opponents. Beginning today, Nationals fans can follow Bill on Twitter at @NatsBigChief27.

The Racing Presidents are 12-foot oversized mascots who race during the fourth inning of every Nationals home game. The popular figures can be seen promoting the team and its community efforts at Nationals Park and around the Washington region. For more information on the Racing Presidents, visit presidents.